We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveler rating
580
411
92
24
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
411
92
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st marks square great location san marco square hear the bells mark's basilica clock tower water taxi the hotel staff central location doge's palace murano glass excellent hotel light sleeper breakfast was included breakfast room three nights superior room
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

the hotel is very nice abit of a strange smell in our room (210) wether down to the kitchens below or the fabric walls. bathroom was big and modern. Very handy for St marks square and resturants. It did say that they had a rooftop terrace for breakfast but it is for one of the suites so you can not use it. Breakfast was nice buffet not loads of choice but enough

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortable_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is a great little hotel, not the tourist trap I thought it would be considering the location of it. The rooms were small but quite charming I thought and we had a excellent view from our window of the main sights in the square, we had a great view of the fireworks display. The entrance hall was quite nice with its white marble and you really did breathe a sigh of relief when you got in there because of the crowds and heat. The staff were trying to push a special dining event but as we were not there for that long we decided against and it was no problem. There was a breakfast included in our option and all I will say is it was possibly the best cappucino I have ever had.

Basically its a nice little old fashioned hotel with charm and a small elevator and you could not be in a better location in Venice

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel was in the middle of san marc square. Superbly located. The hotel is an average hotel with tight rooms and ordinary service. It is clean and functional but does not offer any of the charm of venice. The roms with a view had a small window through which you could barely see the square.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Hotel was nice, difficult to find with small entrance. Nice restaurant, room was nice and overlooked the square. Went with advice of hotel staff to a restaurant that they must have been receiving comissions from as it was very expensive and the food quality was no better than other just as intimate restaurants that we found on our own for a fraction of the cost. Although there are some "chinese" dealers in St Marks selling unauthenic venetian glass- the hotel leads you to believe you can not purchase anything authenic in the square which simple isnt the case. The hotel offers free tours to the venetian glass company that they must be receiving comission from so I would price compare with the authenic dealers in the square prior to doing the free tour so you can compare for yourself as well. We were suprised that a hotel of this quality did not even offer stamps for purchase to mail postcards.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill63texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and found the rooms to be small but well decorated. At first they put us in a room with no view whatsoever so we complained as they were not filled up at all. They moved us to a 3rd floor room overlooking the commercial street in front of hotel and this was much nicer. Even though we were on a busy walkway, it was quiet as they had windows and shutters that kept the sound out. Don;t plan on being in a room overlooking St. Mark's Square as there are only 3 of these and they are expensive!!.

The staff was friendly and helpful, in most part. They let me check my e-mail on the hotel computer one night when the internet cafe was closed. We experienced some pressure by one of the dinner hosts to eat at their restaurant in the evening. We did not plan on eating there as there are many places to experience in Venice and this person became a bit annoying.

My wife became sick one day and we had to stay in the hotel. I watched TV and found that they only had one English language channel (BBC) so this made for a really long day. They claimed to have CNN but it was not available.

All in all, a very nice hotel very near St. Mark's Square so it is very convenient to most tourist places (especially the gelato).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews