We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location near p. San Marco”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Concordia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Concordia
Ranked #74 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Fabulous location near p. San Marco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Expensive but has the location is very recommended especially during the winter carnival. From some of the rooms you can see the piazza. Not all of them. Entrance from calla larga. Huge rooms, very clean and elegant, fit for family of 4 persons. Good food and service, and mostly beautiful city!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Irit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Irit A,

we thank you very much for your nice review: we are glad to know it that you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    359
    77
    19
    17
See reviews for
235
509
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I first stayed at the Hotel Concordia for one night last July. We were impressed and wanted to return the next time we were in Venice. We were fortunate enough to do so for two nights in early December, this time also bringing my wife's mother with us for her first trip to this utterly unique city.

The location really is unrivalled, being three or four minutes level walk from the San Marco vaporetto stops - passing the Doge's Palace, the Campanile and the front of the San Marco Basilica on the way. The hotel's entrance is not in St Mark's Square itself, but many of the rooms have a view out onto the Basilica and the eastern end of the square.

One of the things that attracts me about this hotel is its family-run feel. It is not a chain-hotel or a soulless barn of a place, so you should expect some idiosyncrasies. Some may describe the decor as being a little tired, I'd counter that it fits right in with Venice itself in that respect and that the lived-in, comfortable ambience is a positive thing.

The staff we met were friendly and welcoming, and all took a genuine pride in their work. They treated all three of us as individuals, and nothing was too much trouble. For example, I'm learning Italian, and it was really refreshing that all of the staff put up with my efforts and replied in Italian rather than defaulting to English, which would have been much easier for them I'm sure.

Our rooms had views over the Basilica, and to be told the hour by the (slightly out of sync) chimes of both the Torre dell'Orologio and the Campanile itself was pure magic. The rooms themselves were charming and a good size, and both had beautiful antique mirrors and comfortable beds. There was a TV with satellite channels (which we didn't use) and an adequate minibar.

Step out of the hotel and into St Mark's Square, and you have the whole of Venice available to you - the cafes, museums and shops of the Square itself, and everything else either a walk or a vaporetto ride away. It really is a perfect location to stay. My only word of caution would be that many of the shops and restaurants in the area immediately around the hotel entrance are of poor quality. Walk a little further to get away from these - you can very quickly find better (with the exception of the excellent Neopolitan pizzas at Rossopomodoro).

Top marks to Hotel Concordia. I certainly hope we can return for our third visit before too long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 441Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear 441Danny,

we thank you very much for your wonderful review about Hotel Concordia.

We feel pleased and proud that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and it is really nice to know it that you appreciated our rooms, our staff and our service.

You are very right: this is a family-run hotel, as the Beggiato family has been running it over three generations, and it is important for us to pamper each of our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us next time you wish to come here: we would be more than happy to welcome you soon again.

Warm regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very helpful staff, exquisite room, gave helpful suggestions for things to do and see. We absolutely loved our stay here and would stay there again. Concordia is located near St Marks Square so was close to many great shops, restaurants and sites. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Sue M,

we thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel and our staff.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Best regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff, who were very attentive.we were very pleased with our room, we had been upgraded to a room that overlooked St marks square, which was lovely. We were shown to our room and also had a complimentary drink, with nibbles and little sandwiches. The hotel was clean and had a very warm and friendly feeling throughout our stay. The location was great, in walking distance of the Grand canal and excellent for the little bars and shops. We really enjoyed our first visit to venice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Tom406,

we thank you very much for your nice review.

It is a real pleasure for us to know it that you appreciated our hotel, its location and our staff.

We wish to welcome you again, so do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you plan to come Venice.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was our first time in Venice and we asked if possible if we could have a room with a large double bed and view of the square as we were celebrating a special event. The hotel happily met this request. The room was extremely clean, comfortable and had a view of the square. Even better on the first night we came home after dinner to a lovely complimentary chilled bottle of Prosecco and nibbles in our room. We had fresh bathrobes and towels provided on day two and were given a free complimentary drink in the hotel bar at the time of our choice. When we had this we were showered in nibbles and small sandwiches too. So we felt very pampered. The hotel staff were friendly and informative too. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family Lizzie

Room Tip: Ask for a room onto the square if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Lizzie P,

first of all thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are really glad that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our main aim is to pamper our guests so that they can go back home with bright memories about our hotel and Venice.

Please do not hesitate to contact us next time you wish to come: it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the S. marco square and sone of the rooms have view direct on it. It's clean and quite and we received a high level of service in different occasion. The building should need a refresh so expect a caracreristic furniture but quite used. All in all the room and the common spaces are vety clean and the people we met were very helpfull. Price level is quite high but considered where it is and the good experience we had it's maybe justified. We will come back.

Room Tip: 104 has decent dimension and VIEW ON S.MARCO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milberstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear milberstair,

first of all thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about us.

We are glad that you appreciated our location, our service and our hotel, and we really wish to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 12th - 16th November, 2013. The hotel was very comfortable and clean and a perfect location to explore Venice. What was most memorable was the staff, they were very helpful and courteous. We ate in the restaurant two of the nights we stayed there, they say it is only "light" food. The food was very good and the service by Faruk and his team was exceptional! As a guide we were recommended to go to Trattoria Do Forni for our Wedding Anniversary evening. The service at the Hotel Concordia was by far the better experience! We will certainly stay at the Hotel Concordia again, not just because of its location or comfort, but the treatment you get from a very well run hotel. Thank you to them!

Room Tip: Keep to the opposite side of St Marks Square - the bells ring a lot and very loudly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kathryn J,

we thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel and our staff.

It is a real pleasure for us to know it that you liked our location, our service and our wine bar, and we wish to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#65 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#45 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#66 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concordia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concordia

Property: Hotel Concordia
Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 367, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concordia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich, multicoloured marble and elegant lines of the St. Mark's Basilica brightened by the sunlight, reflecting on the windows of Hotel Concordia, the only hotel in the city of the Doges directly in St. Mark's Square, beside the Neo-classical See of the patriarch of Venice.A building that has been accommodating Italian and foreign visitors to Venice for more than three centuries. The Beggiato family has been expertly running the hotel over three generations, adding its own tradition since the start of the 20th century when Mr. Tiberio Beggiato turned what was a small guesthouse into a renowned hotel. Ever since, the women of the Beggiato family have kept the family tradition alive, proficiently merging customs and innovation, tending to the premises as they tend to their homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Concordia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing