We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!!”
Review of Hotel Concordia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Concordia
Ranked #73 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Charming little boutique style hotel with lots of little quirks, friendly & professional staff that go above & beyond to make you happy, reasonably sized rooms with all the necessities ~ but really... the location of this little gem is EVERYTHING! This is the ONLY hotel that is on the square (St. Mark's, Piazza San Marco) ~ you know, "the drawing room of Europe" per Napoleon.

We booked a deluxe room with a view of the square (hey, it's Venice!!) and we loved opening up our windows a feeling like we could almost reach out and touch the Basilica across the way. A pinch yourself kind of moment. Our friends booked a Jr. Suite with a view and I truly felt like we got the better value. We felt like we were close to everything and because we were staying right on the square, we were always able to find our way back to our "home base", though we did try to get lost a couple of times just because that is the quintessential Venice experience right?! Make sure you have plenty of time to wander the streets, getting off the beaten path of tourists between the square & the Rialto bridge, though you will want to spend a bit of time at both.

Yes, there are bells and you will hear them some times. I honestly enjoyed it and again, felt it added to my delight for this one of a kind magical place. I've heard it is quieter on the street side if you're sensitive to the sounds of the square. The bed was comfortable, not crazy lush and I definitely made use of the extra pillows in the large closet. I don't recommend doing a lot of sleeping when in this city ~ there's too much to see and do!

The Jamaican Bellman/Doorman was absolutely adorable and he recommended a "local eats" restaurant to us that was an easy stroll away from the hub bub. Very enjoyable and authentic. We also ate breakfast at the Concordia each morning and it was lovely. On our last night we had dinner at the restaurant inside the hotel. The food and the service were exceptional, even though at first glance the menu seemed somewhat limited. Everything is made to order on the spot and they are thrilled to make you happy in any way they can. We enjoyed our own bottle of wine after asking about corkage ~ there is none. The tiny little bar is just completely wonderful and again people eager to help & please.

OK, so a slight word of caution. I always find it best to manage my expectations in advance. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with perfect amenities ~ this is not it. The carpet is just a little worn, the furniture is the same, etc. Not in a terrible offensive way, but in a charming European boutique hotel kind of way. The lobby is lovely, the lounge & restaurant are the same. There is great value at this hotel and I think you'll find it so as well.

I booked this hotel on line well in advance (months) through the hotel's website. As we drew nearer to our trip, I checked the website and the rate had gone down quite a bit from when I had made my reservation. I emailed the hotel and they were incredibly responsive and helpful, and gave me the lower rate as well as letting me pay in full ahead of time (though you still have to pay the city use tax when you check out ~ which isn't much). We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canafornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear BloominDiva,

first of all we thank you very much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel.

We feel really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our location, our wine bar, our breakfast, our services and our staff.
We always do our very best to make our guests feel comfortable and cosy, and it is a real pleasure that you went back home with very bright memories about us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay: we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    365
    78
    19
    17
See reviews for
237
523
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location, just off st. Mark's square, lovely hotel, lovely staff, great breakfast!!!, nothing too much trouble, stayed for my big birthday, had bubbles, card and nibbles delivered to our room courtesy of the hotel, really nice touch, made the whole experience even more special.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a suite, well worth it, we had one over looking st. Marks square with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsEmmylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear MidlandsEmmylou,

thank you very much for your lovely words about our hotel (the only one overlooking St Mark's Square), our staff and our buffet breakfast.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your birthday and we really wish to welcome you soon again.

Best regads,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We found the hotel staff very helpful and always willing to assist ,they always had a smile no matter what time of day or night and were willing to give advise about day trips and restaurants, and unlike some reviews here we felt no pressure to take any trip .

The rooms were good lovely decor and clean,bathroom was full of nice little touches , slippers , bathrobes and the usual toiletries . Breakfast was very good with a wide choice and selection , again service here was excellent with staff on hand no waiting for a table or service .The only downside was that there was no teas-maid to make a coffee or cup of tea in our room , standard issue i would have thought these days , but not a show stopper.

Perfect location , 5 mins walk from boat to Hotel and right beside San Maco's Square and all the action , Venice is expensive and you should be prepared to pay more than your used to but even at 10-15 euro for a coffee sitting in the square listening to the orchestras playing it is well worth it just for the feeling of relaxation , but like everywhere else in the world if you shop around you can get a cheaper deal but without the band ? Venice is very easy to walk around and find your way as it is very well sign posted so you don't really need a map ,
This Hotel is well worth the visit and i would stay there again

Room Tip: Although we had a regular room and it was fine , i would be very tempted to have a suite or Junior s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Colin M.

thank you very much for taking your time to share your nice review in Tripadvisor.

We feel happy that you appreciated our hotel, the room, our buffet breakfast and our staff: our main aim is to make our guests feel comfortable and pampered and it is a pleasure for us to know that you would stay here again.

Best regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to Venice for our 10 year anniversary, wasn't cheap but this is Venice! We loved the location as we preferred to walk everywhere since the weather was lovely.
It was fun to check the water level from the breakfast room. I popped my head out the window to see if the water has reached the side of the basilica yet. On the last day when the whole square was flooded, we went out bare feet so didn't have to get caught in the traffic jam on the platform walkway. Walked a short distance back to the room to dry off... so much fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drama_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear drama_traveller,

we thank you very much for your nice review and we are glad to know it that you enjoyed the high water in Venice!

We wish to welcome you soon again,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just came back from our trip to Venice. We chose to stay in Hotel Concordia since it is perfectly located-just a few steps from San Marco Square. I booked our Junior Suite directly with the hotel. The room was tiny but perfect. Very neat, full of light. The most amazing thing was the view at San Marco square and domes of the Basilica.It was just breathtaking! The small balcony overlooking the square is ideal for romantic dinner. The staff was very helpful, careful and professional. We liked also the restaurant even though it had a small but good selection of dishes. The breakfast was good offering fresh fruit, pastry etc. I would also mention the background music. It was perfect. And the most important thing for us was that they accepted our small dog without any extra charges and they were very friendly. We are extremely satisfied with everything. I will surely recommend this warm hotel to my friends and if one day i am back to Venice, i surely gonna stay in Concordia.

Room Tip: Junior Suite 314 is small but very romantic with great view to San Marco Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sona89,

we thank you very much for your lovely review about our hotel and for taking your time to share it in Tripadvisor.

We feel glad that you appreciated our hotel, our staff, our breakfast and our wine bar (where our guests can enjoy fresh pastas, salads and delicious dishes).

We wish to welcome you soon again, so do not hesitate to contact us whenever you wish to come

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Do stay at the elegant and delightful Hotel Concordia if you want to enjoy a comfortable and pampered time in Venice. You are just steps away from St. Marks Square in the heart of all the must see sights of the city. Our very Venetian room with its painted furniture and Murano glass chandelier was very well prepared and spotlessly clean , with comfortable beds and pillows,plen ty of fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers,and lots of hot water, all that's required for recovery after much walking and sightseeing.The presentation of breakfast was perfect, from immaculately laid tables to a generous array of food,croissants, rolls, cakes, fruits, cold and hot selections including perfectly scrambled eggs, and superb coffee - all divine, plus you have a view of the Basilica, which was a Wow moment for me. My daughter and I found all the staff to be courteous, charming, and always helpful with anything we needed. Our stay at Hotel Concordia really enhanced our visit to the amazing and magical city of Venice. We are already planning our next trip. Thankyou so very much Hotel Concordia , Best regards from Anna and Eva.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Gravy D,

first of all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a lovely review about our hotel.

It is a big pleasure for us to know it that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our central location, our buffet breakfast and our staff.

Our aim is to make our guests feel comfortable and pampered, and we are glad to know it that you have already started planning your next trip.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly anything you may need or require: we are looking forward welcoming you again.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Meeting the Q-E in Venice (Oct 2012) enabled my good lady and myself to spend a 1 day first visit to Venice. Smitten by the Venice bug, made us return for 5 days this April 2013.
Easy Jet recomended amongst others the Concordia, I must say we were more than pleased.
Location 10/10 brilliant, staff very good, made you feel very welcome, Breakfast food again very good, as was the cleanliness of the facilties, chamber maid excelent. with helpful front desk & the porters.
Only 1 complaint as I was not very knowledeble with regard to traveling from the Polo airport to St Marco location I asked the hotel to arrange it, they did for 170 euro which I accepted.
Making our own arrangements for the return journey it cost me 30 euro.
I was not aware of the facillites at the Airport that you could book ,I.E. The Water Bus Service.which is excellent through out the Island.or a Luxury, Water Taxi, Expensive. Having said all that I would certainly recomend Hotel Concordia
Therefore for new travellers to Venice, Take note. Do your homework first.
I would certainly recomend the Hotel Concordia.
One other recomendation using the Waterbus buy a 18 or 24 hr ticket and visit Burano,& Murano,
Burano is beautiful. and Enjoy Venice.

Ken /Em

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view & I got one. thank you .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear zeus74,

first of all thank you very much for taking your time to write such a lovely review about our hotel.

We feel glad that you appreciated our central location, our staff, our buffet breakfast and our services.

The difference between the 30 euros and the 170 euros is that 170 euros included a private transfer from the airport to the hotel (there was someone waiting for you at the airport; you reached Venice car terminal by a luxury car, and then there was a private taxi till the closest canal; furthermore, our porter helped you with the luggage) ; on the other hand 30 euros is the cost of a public shuttle (a big boat for 80 people; it takes around 1 hour and 20 minutes to reach the airport, and then you have to walk around 850 metres to reach the airport main entrance).

We really wish to welcome you soon again, so please do not hesitate to contact us anything you may need or require.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,985 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concordia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concordia

Property: Hotel Concordia
Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 367, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concordia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concordia, in the heart of Venice, is the only Hotel overlooking Piazza San Marco. The Beggiato Family has been running the hotel for four generations as its own home, giving the place a warm atmosphere and distinguished elegance. The 51 rooms, all furnished with original antique furniture, Murano chandeliers, marble bathrooms or precious Venetian mosaic are all equipped with all the best modern technologies in order to satisfy the most demanding requirements. Most of the rooms offer a breathtaking view over the spires and the mosaics of the Basilica and over Piazza San Marco. As a Canaletto painting the San Marco Basilica is the background of the exclusive Restaurant “La Piazzetta”, the ideal setting to experience the delights of local cuisine and enjoy a drink in the charming elegant bar lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Concordia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing