We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Marcos Square”
Review of Hotel Concordia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Concordia
Ranked #73 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“San Marcos Square”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Fantastic location for exploring.
Stayed for several nights during the summer - double with a view of the square. I found the hotel to be very nice, charming but dated (I don't think you can escape that feeling in Venice).
The staff was quite helpful in planning activities and tips for how best to see the island.

The property is surrounded by charming shops and trattoria's. I would consider this a romantic place to bring your loved one at a decent price (for Venice). As stated above and in all other reviews here, the location on SM Square is delightful and actually strategically convenient for walking. However, important to note, the hotel is not directly ON the water. This fact was not important to me but might be to some. Just a very short walk to the canal (50 yards).

Easy grabbing water taxis from this location.
I recommend a half day walking tour of Murano. Grab a water taxi.

I would stay here again but I'd want a good deal. If not a good deal, I'd be happy to explore other locations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clyons24542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear clyons24542001,

thank you very much for your nice review: it is lovely to know it that you had a good time in our hotel.

We really wish to welcome you again, so please do not hesitate to contact us directly or check our special offers in our website.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    366
    79
    19
    17
See reviews for
240
527
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I came to Venice for both a get away and business trip. This hotel is perfect for a get away, but was not ideal to a business trip.

Conveniently situated next to Saint Mark's Square the Hotel Concordia offers old world charm with a modern flare. Designer's spared no expense in the details. In fact we saw the Marano glass chandelier in out hotel room for sale in a local shop for 1500 Euros. We also appreciated the knowledgable staff. Their know-how made viewing the city a breeze. Our only regret was that we were not able to have a view of Paizza San Marco from our room.

As we were here for a business trip, we needed a reliable WIFI service. While the Concordia advertises high speed internet, visitors should be aware that this means spotty WIFI service. I do understand we are on an island but to have WIFI in one 2' x 2' corner of our room should not count. We unbelievably had better Concordia WIFI reception in the restaurant behind the hotel than in the lobby, lounge, bar, or restaurant of the Concordia. If we didn't need to check e-mail or communicate via internet the Concordia would be perfect. Unfortunately, that was not the case.

Room Tip: Request a view of the Piazza San Marco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travel in Europe quite a bit and this was by far the best four star hotel we have visited. Before our arrival, the hotel contacted us and offered to arrange transportation, or make any other reservations needed while in Venice. We asked them to reserve a spot for my son in the Kids Day Program at the Peggy Guggenheim Collection. They made the reservation and e-mailed me to confirm before our arrival, which was above and beyond what I expect from a hotel. On to the hotel...We booked the suite overlooking St. Mark's Square and absolutely loved the views! The suite was beautiful and looks like it has been renovated in the last 5 years or so. I was concerned that I would hear noises from the square during the night, but we didn't. The staff came in and closed the shutters as part of their turn down service. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful! Eggs and bacon, cereal, pastries, cheese, yogurt, fruit. Wonderful hotel, helpful staff, and the location can't be beat!

Room Tip: Definitely spring for the view! Request a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japanaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear japanaland,

first of all thank you very much for your review: we feel very glad that you went back home with bright memories.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you appreciated our location, our buffet breakfast, our service and our staff: our main aim is that our guests feel comfortable and pampered in our hotel.

Best regards from Venice,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Perfect!! The room was beautiful, we had the top floor with balcony over looking St. Marks square (free upgrade...thank you very much) this is the room you want....better views of Venice only exist from the bell tower. Sitting on the terrace, over looking Venice with a bottle of wine watching the sun set is a memory I will have forever. Hands down the location does not get better. We walked every where and not all of Venice is as beautiful as this area. Breakfast was great, we had fresh coffee and eggs cooked for us. The staff.....so helpful, just lovely and charming. They did recommend the boat ride to us once we initially said no but changed our minds. It was expensive but I'd do it again 100 times over. I loved Venice it was beautiful, my experience was perfect and a lot of that was thanks to hotel Concordia. Thank you. Tommy and Amy. Ps you do hear the bells but they didn't worry us, it all added to the charm and memory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Manager at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Dazzle_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that we met your expectations and we are glad that you appreciated our hotel, our buffet breakfast and our services.
Our staff aim to make our guests feel at home and ensure they have a comfortable and memorable experience: it is a pleasure for us to know it that you went back home with unforgettable memories.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Warm regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a superb stay at the Hotel Concordia. The location of the hotel was perferct - just a stones throw away from Piazza San Marco. We stayed in a double room with view of the Piazza. The room was warm, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delightful with a range of cereals, breads, pastries, eggs, bacon etc.. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice to be able to leave our luggage there before we headed off to the airport. The welcome drink was a nice touch too. Without a doubt I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WCuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Manager at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear WCuk,

first of all thank you very much for your lovely review: we feel more than glad that you appreciated our hotel, our buffet breakfast and our staff.

We do our best to make our guests feel comfortable, and it is great to know that you went back home with positive vibes.

We are looking forward welcoming you Venice again.

Best regards

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

A most wonderful hotel in the most central position, we had a spacious comfortable room looking over the San Marco Basilica and part of the Pjazza San Marco. The hotel is clean, nicely furnished and having spacious bathrooms. All staff is pleasant and efficient, always with a smile and ready to give advice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Back rooms had a good view of the Basilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear albonello,

first of all we thank you very much for your nice review and lovely words.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is a pleasure for us to know that you appreciated our hotel, our central location and our smiling staff.

We wish to welcome you soon again in Venice.

Best regards,

The Manager and the staff at the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel location was perfect, but they turn off the air conditioning in the winter (who would want that on right?) but it was really warm in the room at night. Without airco, we had to leave the window open, and though there is not much night life in Venice, there are still plenty of people walking about, talking, closing restaurants, picking up trash at 6am, etc. This was really distracting, we got maybe 5 hours of sleep a night if we were lucky. With air co, it would have been perfect. Beds were good, bfast included, shower was great.

Room Tip: Check that air co is running and if not, as to face the square where there is less night and early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,009 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,489 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concordia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concordia

Property: Hotel Concordia
Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 367, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concordia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concordia, in the heart of Venice, is the only Hotel overlooking Piazza San Marco. The Beggiato Family has been running the hotel for four generations as its own home, giving the place a warm atmosphere and distinguished elegance. The 51 rooms, all furnished with original antique furniture, Murano chandeliers, marble bathrooms or precious Venetian mosaic are all equipped with all the best modern technologies in order to satisfy the most demanding requirements. Most of the rooms offer a breathtaking view over the spires and the mosaics of the Basilica and over Piazza San Marco. As a Canaletto painting the San Marco Basilica is the background of the exclusive Restaurant “La Piazzetta”, the ideal setting to experience the delights of local cuisine and enjoy a drink in the charming elegant bar lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Concordia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing