We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, away from the hustle and bustle of tourist areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #66 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Overall, we liked this property. It is in a quiet neighborhood but not far from one of the main thoroughfares that will take you to the train station or to the main tourist areas. We found everything was pretty much within a 20 minute walk (once we mastered the twists and turns). They offered us a breakfast special for 25 euro's a person, but you can avoid that expense by simply doing what the Italians do and have a coffee and croissant at any of the many bakeries along the way. We enjoyed sitting in the garden area at the end of the day. We took one of the water buses from the main train station to the dock near the hotel and that worked out well. On leaving, we walked to the main train station and other than crossing four bridges it is a simple 15-20 minute walk. Skip the glass blowing trip to Marrano which is offered free by the hotel. It is light on glass blowing and heavy on selling. If you want to go, put some time aside and travel by the water buses on your own. Our only downside at this hotel was that we had been saving Euro coins to use the restrooms. In my haste one morning I left 11 Euro's worth of coins on the desk and they were gone on our return. Traveler be warned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimpat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Anyone going to Venice should be prepared to become part of the huge mob of tourists. It's inevitable, which is why we really enjoyed staying at the Boscolo Venezia. Situated in a quiet corner of the Cannaregio quarter, this hotel provides the perfect escape at the end of the day from the crowds and madness around the major tourist sites.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome, and the receptionist was meticulous in explaining all of the hotel's features to us, and kindly showed us how everything in our room worked.

After unpacking, and with a complimentary drink in hand, we explored the gardens, which are extensive. I can imagine them being extremely pleasant in the summer.

The hotel provides it's own shuttle boat to the quay at St Mark's Square, and this is a wonderful way to see Venice from the canals, and a very exciting way to approach St Mark's. To walk from the hotel to St Mark's takes about half an hour, and despite Venice's labyrinthine street network, is relatively easy.

Once you have fought your way through the streets around St Mark's, you will appreciate this hotel's location all the more. Within a five minute walk of the hotel, towards the Strada Nuova, are abundant restaurants and cafés, which unlike those in the centre of town, attract a local clientele and serve authentic Venetian food - no pizza here!

The room was clean, and was serviced twice daily to a high standard. The water pressure was good, and the black out curtains were very effective. My only two quibbles are these:

The hotel does not have enough umbrellas for when it rains (and when it rains in Venice, it rains hard). I'm sure that this could easily be rectified.

Secondly, the charge for breakfast is €35 per person, or €25 if booked in advance at reception. I realise that hotel breakfasts are typically not inexpensive, but we were loathe to pay this for what seemed a very average continental buffet. Within a short walk were several patisseries where it is possible to buy delicious a delicious breakfast, with croissants and tarts fresh from the oven, for around €5.

Having said that, whenever we do revisit Venice, I shall be very happy to stay here again, for its location, service and charm.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a canal or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT-says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We hoped the location of the hotel would make us to enjoy a short walk from the centre which turned not to be true. The hotel was too far for walking several times per day and later in the night it was difficult to get taxi boat. They provide with their own boat transportation but you need to book the seats early enough. Also to get to and from hotel by a public boat was tiresome and not flexible. The hotel has beautiful design and fine style but the staff was not as good, somehow slow and not professional. Although it was not a high season when we were there and hotel was not booked out, I missed a friendly atmosphere or enthusiastic spirit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeneziaManager, Front Office Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Jana,
thank you for taking the time to provide us the details of your experience.

You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. First of all we would like to apologize, unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We are deeply sorry to heard that our Staff was unprofessional and gave you so a bad feeling. That is exactly the opposite of what we usually do because our purpose is to create in the hotel a family atmosphere. We would like to inform you that your comments will be use to remember to our Team that the mission is to satisfy all our Guest.

We regret to understand that you did not appreciate the location of our property, that is exactly the reason for what the major part of our client decide to stay with us.

We really hope to welcome back in a near future,
Best Regards

Martina Malusa
Front Office Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

It was very warm for April and this so called "5 star" hotel didn't turn on the A/C. Our room was also tiny and not luxury. Not in the best area if you want to see the sights. This is more like a 3-4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chirasko1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeneziaManager, Front Office Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Boscolo Venezia.
Every remarks, positive or negative, is important for us to understand our strength and our weakness.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay, in particular with the air conditioning that has been turned on at the beginning of the second week of April.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you didn't like the room, I would like to inform you that our hotel has five different rooms categories that varied accordingly to the size of it.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. I hope to have the opportunity to apologize once more at you next visit in Venice.

Best Regards,

Martina Malusa
Front Office Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent 5 fantastic nights here in April. I didn't do much research because I was using Marriott rewards and this was the best choice for staying in Venice but now that I've been here I would absolutely stay here again even if it wasn't a reward redemption. The staff was extremely polite and attentive throughout beginning with some pre-stay email questions. The rooms are beautifully done with lovely furnishings and real Murano glass fixtures. As others have mentioned, it is a little removed from the main tourist area but that turned out to be a huge plus. The tourist crowds in Venice can be overwhelming so it is nice to have a little distance from the craziness.

Here's a tip - don't shy away from having dinner at the hotel restaurant. This is a very, very good place for dinner to get dishes that are a little different from the other hundreds of restaurants and at a very competitive price.

A real test of any hotel is how they handle problems and they did it exactly right. Our room had some issues with the air condition leaking and they immediately moved us up to an even nicer room with no hesitation.

Room Tip: The canal side is a bit noisier but it's really not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacorulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the moment we walked in and saw the exquisite décor in the lobby we were thrilled! The gorgeous Murano Crystal chandeliers adorning the ceiling added a touch of daintiness and from there on the whole experience was just great! I particularly enjoyed the fruit flavored iced water they always offer in the lobby, even though we were there in March and the weather was delightful, after coming back from a long walk to the Rialto Bridge or the Jewish Ghetto it was so welcoming to enjoy a cold glass of fruit flavored water! The staff was very accommodating and courteous. Taking a very short walk through the beautiful garden we followed Valentino our driver, who was also very pleasant and kind even if he didn't speak fluent English, and embarked on a complementary "Limousine type boat shuttle" with destination to San Marco Square, it was a very enjoyable voyage admiring Venice's beautiful sights. We didn't get a chance to dine at the hotel's restaurant, however it looked very cozy and inviting. Our room was overlooking a street with a building where the locals live, there were a couple of pretty flower trimmed windows facing ours, making the view very romantic. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and well equipped, the shower excellent. Something else we liked is that the Orto station for water transportation to other sites such as the train station or to Leonardo DaVinci Airport is very close, between Madonna dell Orto Basilica and the Boscolo Hotel. There was nothing we didn't like about this hotel. I sincerely would recommend it and would love to stay there again in future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid March. I read all the reviews and knew where the hotel was located and we were very glad to not be in the thick of St. Marks. All the sights are a 20 minute walk with much more local experiences available right in that neighborhood. The Boscolo offers a wonderful historic hotel fully updated. The rooms are HUGE even by USA standards, bathrooms beautifully arranged. The staff is really top notch. Take some time at the beginning of your stay to understand all the offered perks. Particularly, the Boscolo speed boat and the schedule back and forth to St. Marks. We used it several times and it was always easy. The trip to Murano is a 70 euro ride if you hire your own water taxi so be smart and use their wooden runabout! AC is always an interesting situation in Italy and if you think your room is going to get too hot ask to move. There will be something on a shady side that will remain cool. We had wonderful weather (in March!) and had a room overlooking the church. The breakfast is wonderful and varied. I am so sorry I didn't get to the spa.
The staff at the desk and Claudio in particular did everything within their power to make our stay perfect. They took messages from our tour guide and delivered them to her as well. My cell phone decided to not work at all so they saved the day.
I can imagine in warmer weather that the garden is a divine place to be and such an unusual feature in Venice.
If you are a Marriott Rewards member you will not be disappointed in any way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tootbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 387 in Venice
1,238 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 387 in Venice
1,315 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 387 in Venice
1,702 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#68 of 387 in Venice
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $137 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing