We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from the Bosolo dei Dogi in the lovely Dell'orto area of Venice. It was a great experience all round. The hotel is an old palazzo and has an amazing garden stretching to the lagoon at the rear. It has two waterside points of entry for their bookable shuttle boat to and from San Marco. The summer restaurant is in a tented area just into the garden area. It's all very nicely done. The staff are professional, attentive and friendly. The reception is very welcoming and helpful. We had an upgraded room which was enormous, if a little elaborately furnished, but that goes with the territory. If you like high ceilings, spectacular chandeliers, marble bathrooms and terrazzo floors you will love this!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaaaanicesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
There are newer reviews for Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May's trip to Venice. When we try to book hotels, many hotel rooms are already filled up. So we bought this hotel room through hotwire. It turns out just fine. The hotel is part of Autograph collection, and is part of Marriott. It is converted into a luxury hotel from an a former palace. It is on the island of Venice. There isn't much luxury hotels on the island of Venice. This one is off the beaten path, so really quiet. But Venice is very walkable. It turns out to be a good location away from the crowed, but within walking distance to may sites, like St. Marcos square. Hotel room is moderate, has venecian styled decoration. They sponsor a private shuttle to/from St. Marcos square with limited time and space. and need reservation. We found walking is much more fun. But we took the water shuttle to Murano Island, which is famous for its glass factory. We saw some of the top notch glassware, glass chandeliers, glass art works. But prepare for the pressured sales pitch. We almost bought a Glass Art deco of Salvador Dali's works. Hotel is nice, but show its tireness.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravellerEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a charming traditional hotel located in a quiet corner of Venice. The staff and service was excellent as was the food. What the rooms lacked in size, they made up in charm. The staff made several excellent restaurant recommendations and dinner at the hotel was wonderful as well. While the neighborhood is quiet, it is convenient to the train station and there is a vaporetto (water bus) station behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just returned from a lovely trip to Italy, which began in Venice at the Boscolo Venezia. This lovely hotel is well off the beaten path and as a result you get peace and quiet away from the crowds.

We found the hotel to be comfortable and the staff was amazing. The concierge helped track down my lost luggage so we wouldn't have to lose time from our stay making calls. Walking to the highlights of Venice was not a bad walk, and being able to sit on the back dock of the hotel and see Murano was relaxing.

We personally loved the opportunity being away from the crowds afforded us to "get lost in Venice" by wandering back paths and alleys. Some of the best food was found this way and we really got a sense of the local culture.

I would highly recommend the hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bren4770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Boscolo Venezia is well off the tourist track, which is part of its great charm. Another is that it is the first stop on the Linea Arancio boat from the airport. A third is that it is by the Madonna dell"Orto, the church of Tintoretto, which also has a sublime Cima. It is also part of the Autograph Collection by Marriott - but you would never know you were in a chain hotel, though all the staff of course are immaculately trained and helpful, as it feels distinctly one off.

The grand, chandeliered lobby sets the tone. We stayed here twice at both ends of a trip and enjoyed a room in each of the buildings. Reception is welcoming and you are escorted to your room. Unusually for Venice the hotel has a large garden and some of the rooms are at the end of that, directly on the Lagoon - the front entrance is of course on a canal. The rooms are gloriously furnished, red damask upholstery, velvet beg hangings, marble floors, Etro toiletries in the luxurious bathroom which is entirely marble. Even the upper vestibules enjoy Murano chandeliers.

Breakfast is taken in a tented arbor in the garden - where do they find so many smart, elegant staff - and is a grand collation of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, pastries, even Prosecco, with a choice of hot dishes too. Enjoying a peaceful al fresco meal is a real plus in Venice.

Canareggio where the hotel is situated is a residential area of Venice and so does not suffer the sheer volume of visitors you find elsewhere. It is very pleasant to wander along the local canals and across the bridges, perhaps to enjoy the nearby tourist-free bars. And did I mention that the hotel has its own private launch to take you to St Mark's Square (and bring you back) several times a day? Thoroughly recommended. Shirts €13.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A number of years ago, we signed up for two weeks of Marriott timeshares--and got, besides some good vacations in their timeshares, a boatload of Marriott points. A whole new world opened up for us, with points from stays and points from credit card purchases. We use points to pay for some fabulous vacations in Europe and Asia. Marriott has some elegant properties but really upped its game in the past few years, with the JW properties and the Autograph Collection, both of which avoid the rather boring and predictable regular Marriott offerings.

All of this leads us to our recent stay at this hotel, the Boscolo Grand Hotel Dei Dogi, part of Marriott's Autograph Collection. It is elegant, in a quiet way. We had a huge room overlooking the canal, with a large bathroom and spacious closets. The garden is breathtaking and I loved sitting on one of the chaises near the lagoon for an hour one afternoon. The breakfast was delicious; you could order from the menu or have whatever you wanted from the extensive buffet. The service was super but we must particularly commend the Concierge, Ivan--he was good at his job and took it seriously, all with a great manner and a big smile.

Much has been said about this hotel's location. We loved it. Cannaregio is, to us, by far the nicest of the district's in Venice--quiet and not too many tourists. It's almost as if we lived here. We avoided St. Mark's Square but probably because this was our third visit to Venice. This trip, we explored all the quieter areas and this neighborhood was wonderful. Each evening, we walked over to the Fondamenta Misericordia to one of the good little trattorias there.

Some minor issues that keep the hotel from being the best it should be:

-Pidgeons pecking the buffet offerings and staff not terribly concerned with stopping it.
-The front desk cannot provide change for large bills (€50 in our case). Seriously??!!
-The spa advertised a 50-minute massage, that I was told was deep tissue (in addition to lymphatic drainage), with an extra 15 minutes free. Not only did it start late and only last 45 minutes but also the treatment itself was merely rubbing on oil. A waste of money.

All in all, however, we loved the hotel, loved it's location (and it's right by the Orto vaparetto stop, for those--not us!!--who cannot or don't wish to walk), loved Cannaregio and loved Venice!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalisburyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice and we chose this hotel because of the Venetian architecture inside and out and because it was said to be in a quiet neighbourhood. We were not disappointed on either of these points. The location is certainly off the beaten path which is no bad thing being well away from the tourists but be aware that it is quite a long way from St Marks Square which is where everything either happens or starts from. You can walk but probably need 45 minutes or longer first time you do it as it is easy to get lost. The tours and boat trips all seem to leave from St Marks square and so we found ourselves there at least twice every day!
This is much less of a problem than it could be, as the hotel has a free shuttle service which it operates on a frequent schedule between 10:45 am and 7:15 pm. The shuttle boats are beautiful fast and quite opulent.
An equivalent water taxi service will cost in the region of €70 each way so the shuttle really is a godsend and offsets the hotel costs.
All the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly as you would expect from a 5 star hotel and you receive all the niceties like superb white linen changed daily and a turn-down service where you get little biscuits left on your pillow. Not essential but very nice nonetheless.
The food and drink is fantastic ... if pricey. €25 for breakfast (if pre booked) is a little steep but you do get your pick from cooked to order hot food and the buffet, as much as you can eat. If you use this service, eat well to fill up for the day and then you can avoid some of the overpriced eateries around St Marks. Drinks at the bar can be pricey too. Two spirits cost almost €30!!
Quality and service in the Boscolo is second to none so you do feel like you are getting value.
The rooms are ornately decorated and can be quite small, especially with such an enormous bed but they are comfortable and spotlessly clean. I'm very fussy about accommodation but immediately felt at home at the Boscolo.
The technology is spot on with FAST and FREE WiFi in all the rooms plus a large flat screen TV.
If you need to print your boarding passes for your return trip there is a PC in the foyer which you can print from, free of charge.
The garden at the rear of the hotel really is a gem and very unusual in Venice where real estate is hugely expensive. The hotel and garden stretch between the canal and the lido so are a complete block in length. The garden and lawns are well tendered and very pleasant to stroll in and enjoy the sunshine or shade if you prefer. There are lots of hidden treasures there to explore.
The fitness centre / spa quality is again in keeping with the rest of the hotel but is modern and well appointed.
One last thing on location... while there is nothing much in the immediate vicinity being mainly residential, just a few minutes walk will bring you to canals lined with reasonably priced but high quality restaurants, where you can dine alfresco by the edge of the canal or indoors if the weather isn't conducive to outdoor eating.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice but would point out the location issues.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the Boscolo has left us with some very pleasant memories.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but expect small but very nice bathrooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GizmoStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#45 of 385 in Venice
1,185 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#75 of 385 in Venice
657 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,620 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $218 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing