We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a quite part of Venice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I only stayed in Venice one night and chose this hotel due to its high ratings and reasonable rate when compared to others in the area with similar ratings. I'm so glad we chose this hotel, very classy and really quite. My only complaint would be that it was a tad warm and when we tried to turn the AC down, I don't think it worked but it wasn't a big issue due to the nice windows that we could open for fresh air :) it was everything we would have expected for a romantic weekend in Venice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caw937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel due to our Marriott Platinum Status. We arrived to Venice by train. Coming from the Train or Bus Station, take vaperetto #4.2 or #5.2 to the Orto Stop (Madonna dell’Orto). The water ride from the train station took almost 20 mins, but the views from the ride are great especially when as you get closer to the hotel, you will have the full lagoon view. You will see the hotel’s pier marked by “B” as you get closer to the Orto stop.

This hotel is situated in a residential neighborhood, Cannaregio away from the tourist areas. Check-in and service from the staff was very attentive. Our room was a large room with king bed and big bathroom with a window. The décor is very classy and it felt very much you were staying in a palace during the old days of Venice. Our view was the overlooking the residential homes and Madonna dell’Orto Church. Wi-fi connection and breakfast buffet was included due to our status. Buffet included bread, jams, fruits, cured meats, cheese, juices, and sweets. Also a hot entrée of your choice (eggs, bacon, waffles, etc) from their menu was included.

We did take advantage of the free water taxi to Saint Mark’s square. There are set times for departure and you have to leave your name at the desk to reserve a seat. It is a fun ride and the views are spectacular. We bought a vaperetto pass to travel to and from our hotel.
We loved our location even though it is the quiet side of Venice. Around here, we had a delicious dinner of seafood at Bentigodi di Chef Domenico, a bar and restaurant frequented by locals. Also, we visited the church, Madonna dell’Orto which is just a few steps away along the same canal of the hotel. The church is a peaceful place to pay visit and admire the art. We would stay here at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jb645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful (but old) hotel in a relatively quiet part of Venice. The room was clean, large with a very comfortable bed as can be expected from Marriott owned hotels. The breakfast was excellent but expensive (EUR 30 p.p). Only minor points were that the hotel bar is poorly attended too by staff (we had to wait 15 min to be served) and that hotel doesn't have a fitness room and pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It's away from the busy part of Venice, but is an easy walk/ water bus ride to both. Rooms are clean, comfortable. We would certianly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked the hotel on spec through Expedia and whilst we had read a review or two we had little idea of its qualities. In the event the four of us (our kids are 11 and 13) had a wonderful stay. Our room was clean, stately and had a lovely view over a small canal. The breakfasts were heroically good - as good as I've had and I've had a few!

The hotel is 30 mins or so away from st Marks Square and has some lovely restaurents close by - Bentigodi and Colimbina - and the concierge was excellent at directing us.

So far as location is concerned Venice is all about ambling along, crossing canals and sucking up the scenery, so even with two (relatively young) kids, the walk was fine.

So in summary, the stay was excellent. Genuinely, surprisingly good and very Italian. Staff delightful, room brill and great stay. As our daughter said Miranda would say "totes amazeballs"!

A

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marchwood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Superb building.
They have a free water taxi service which in theory is great. We were harassed into taking a trip to Murano by the staff (think they have some form of commercial deal here, the hotel has the glass everywhere) to arrive at a factory which wasn't in use. Greeted by quite an intimidating man who says he will show us around 'no obligation'. He said 'no obligation' so many times it was clear there was an unspoken obligation to buy something. He followed us around the showroom and seemed to be more and more aggressive up to the point he just asked if we wanted to buy something. After I said we didn't really like the stuff he started getting personal towards me. Awful experience. Don't go unless you are with lots of people. A very intimidating experience which the Hotel should not put people through. My fiancee and I were genuinely a little scared.

Back to the Hotel, we used the taxi service another day to S.Marco, on dismount of the boat we asked what time the taxi was going to collect again, the guy said 14.40 and told us where to find him. at 15.00 I thought i'd call the hotel to find out where he was. They said he wasn't coming and that we were booked on another time slot??? Later that night after getting back they had put out some scrap looking paper on a post saying that 'guests must pre book their returns'. Immensely petty behaviour from a Hotel of such standing.


Staff were not welcoming or warm apart from one guy called Bane, he was very warm and welcoming... well done Bane!

Every time I asked to use the Spa it was clearly an issue too.

We walked in and out of the Hotel throughout our stay a lot as we used it as a base making our experience with the staff so surprising. There were so many opportunities for them to be friendly but they failed at every step.

Also, their plumbing was in disrepair and the general upkeep of the place has been neglected a little. Carpets have worn, beds are out dated, and the shower was never able to hold a consistent temperature.

Luckily the charm of Venice prevailed!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

A really good hotel off the beaten track and away from the tourist path. However you can get the Alilaguna boat from the airport to a pier no more 3 minutes walk to the hotel. St Marks square is about a 25 minute stroll or there's a free motorboat from the hotel. The rooms are majestical Italian splendour with the hotel being decorated with incredible style. Staff were excellent all round. It's not cheap but what is in Venice?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charisma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#41 of 385 in Venice
1,212 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 385 in Venice
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $247 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing