We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #64 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, poor staff”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Most of the staff are "nice" – they smile, greet you, etc, no complaints about their friendliness, they are just not very competent. The staff delivered the wrong room service items, errors on the room bill, and they are still learning the Marriott reservation system (it has been over a year).

The property is beautiful – the common areas are very well maintained and the lobby has a beautiful Murano Glass Chandelier. The rooms are a little worn and some of the beds are actually "cruise ship style" where they are two mattresses side-by-side rather than one large mattress.

If you never use the on-site services (other than the water taxi) and prefer the location (distance from Piazza San Marco) then this is a great property to consider. If you actually expect any service from the staff, then you may want to check other venues.

Here is the schedule for the hotel's water-taxi (reservations recommended)
Hotel>San Marco | San Marco>Hotel
10:45 | 11:15
11:45 | 12:30
14:00 | 14:40
15:20 | 16:00
Also note that there is a Vaporetto stop a little northeast of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd floor or higher (the lobby is floor 0 with rooms starting on floor 1)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    364
    136
    67
    65
See reviews for
266
949
29
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just returned to the UK from Venice where we were lucky enough to stay at this fantastic hotel.

The decor is grande and the staff are very helpful. We also ended up going to the carnival ball that was held at the hotel. We were glad and pleasantly surprised that the hotel had their own artelier who fitted us with perfect costumes for the ball.

The only down side was that we were not given the correct time for the ball so we turned up at 8.30 pm as suggested on the invitation but by then we had missed the welcome and games at the start. The cage for my costume was not brought to my room as requested which meant that I had to go all the way to reception half dressed looking for the cage. (They were quick at fixing this as someone quickly found it and brought it over for me).

I also felt that for the amount of money we paid to attend the ball, the food was not very good. In fact food at their restaurant on a regular day tasted much better and looked more the part of quality food. I don't understand why the entire menu focused on fish when there were several courses. The staff did not care that I don't eat pork so I wasn't warned about it in my food and ended up eating it by mistake. My partner is allergic to prawns and again I had to walk all the way to reception to find out if there were any prawns in the food as the restaurant staff didn't seem to have an idea. The dessert was completely lacking in imagination and quality!. It looked like something someone would prepare at a BAD dinner party at home.

Other than that the hotel was lovely, as mentioned before food at the restaurant on regular times was good especially the desserts (Chocolate fondant cake with berry coulis).

I found the front of house staff very helpful and enthusiastic. I would definitely return to the hotel as it is beautiful. It is also away from the noise but still within walking distance of St Marks Sq etc. :)

Room Tip: Stay here if you want to enjoy the best of both worlds. I would recommend for a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you don't want to be in the center of it all. However, you can walk to the Grand Canal in approximately 20 minutes. Also, there were plenty of the less touristy restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We were updated to a suite (used points) and the room was huge! The breakfast was included (for Marriot Platinum Members) and it was in a gazebo. There was plenty to choose from as this was a full breakfast. My only regret was that we did not ask for a room in the rear section of the hotel which is truly on the water.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the rear of the hotel overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 4 glorious nights in January 2013 at this gem of a hotel located on a canal within walking distance of all the main attractions but far enough from central area to enjoy a private oasis in a quiet neighborhood. Front desk staff were terrific from check in to daily chats and help. Excellent breakfast included with great cheese and smoked salmon and prosecco etc. We used the charming small restaurant one rainy night and had a well Cooked meal with one on one service. We had booked two rooms and the hotel provided us adjoining rooms with a private front door. Both rooms were large and luxurious. Hotel provides a free water taxi to San Marco and Murano. A one hour free spa option is provided. Be aware that transfers to and from the airport are by water taxi and are very expensive. From the airport we took a land taxi for 46 euros followed by a water taxi for 60 euros. The hotel booked us a taxi to the airport prepaid for 130 euros, then you either do a long walk with bags or take the porter service and hop into a van for another 30 euros. But they do take the bags direct to check in desk.

Room Tip: Loved the 4 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice, and not only were we amazed at the moment we steps off the train , it just kept getting better as we checked in to the Boscolo. The front desk team is world class.. the rooms are a step back in time and we had a canal view which just made our stay. The private boats for the hotel were amazing, Nickolas , thank you again we cannot wait to come back, and we hope you are still there for a few more evening cruises!!
The bar is amazing in that it is small and all class... Make sure and do dinner , you will be more than impressed with the food and the service .. was a wonderful last evening
Once again , thanks to everyone who made this trip magical.. Stella and I are already planning our return.
All the best, Tom and Stella McDermott

Room Tip: Canal and Lagoon rooms are wonderful.. not a bad room in the Boscolo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this luxurious Hotel only a few days after the terrible floods in November 2012, the Hotel had been flooded but you would never have known. We took our Wellington Boots but fortunately they were not required! There was an extensive garden with plenty of private leafy areas. In summer months this must be a lovely retreat and a very rare facility in a Venetian Hotel! This Hotel is only a short walk from the ‘Orto’ wharf and with no bridges to negotiate; it was much easier to reach than some Hotels we have had to drag our cases to! A magnificent building, formerly a Palace, beautiful marble floors, lovely decorative features and spacious grand salons. In a quiet area in the northern part of the Island, it was still easy to reach all the tourist attractions. Our comfortable room was immaculate. Gorgeous quality ‘Etro’ toiletries were provided (and replaced) in the marble walled bathroom. Once, we interrupted our cleaning lady and were surprised and impressed at the extent of the detailed cleaning she carried out. The crisp sheets were changed every day. The fixed price buffet breakfast, (with one freshly cooked hot dish of your choice) was not included in our booking. We tried it, but did not feel hungry enough to justify the rather high cost when there appeared to be no alternative for maybe just a simple coffee and croissant or pastry. We didn’t have dinner at the Hotel, but the menu looked very interesting and was reasonably priced. We used the free services of the Hotel’s motor boat several times, travelling to and from St. Mark’s Square. There was no hanging about, it was always on time, so make sure you know where the ‘pick up’ will be for the return journey as there can be several boats coming in and out of that busy area. The staff were friendly, charming and attentive. We are really looking forward to returning to this wonderful Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Tons of character and charm located in the residential neighborhoods out of the tourist mob. It's rooms are updated, clean and very charming. The staff is fantastic. A great place for couples traveling together or a romantic get away alone. Even a family stay utilizing the 4th floor suites that share a close-able lockable shut of securing the two separate suits together. Kids in one , mon and dad in the other and a main door that locks the two rooms away from others.

Plenty of great restaurants but do not take the front desks recommendations. Not good. That is My only complaint.


Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brettly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,249 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
931 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing