We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveler rating
1,154
701
186
62
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,154
701
186
62
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon viewgrand canalperfect locationwater taxijunior suitebridge of sighsst marks squaresan zaccaria vaporetto stopdoge's palacethe main hotelrestaurant staffblue linestandard roomglass factoryour honeymoonsmall balconyincluded breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights for our wedding anniversary from 17-21 November. Like others comments there were good and bad points.

The good first. The room we paid €100 to move into was spacious and comfortable. The staff in the main were friendly and helpful, especially those on reception and working in the evenings in the restaurant and outside. The bottle of prosecco in the room when we arrived was also thoughtful and appreciated. The breakfast buffet was good with nice fresh produce and good quality food. Whilst we did not have dinner in the hotel, we had a drink most evenings, and the food looked delicious. As a guest you get 25% off also. The location is great. Near all the tourist areas to walk too, on the lagoon and right by the water bus station San Zachariah.

To the bad. We had advised the hotel it was our 20th wedding anniversary, and they put us in one of the smallest bed rooms possible, and we later found out one of the older and shabbier ones. The doors of the shower were broken, and there was barely room for even our suitcases to stand up. We phoned that night immediately to ask if we could pay to upgrade and were told no. We asked again the next morning at reception and a very helpful lady advised us for €100 we could move to a larger renovated room, which was lovely.

The rooms at the back of a hotel are a pain as you have to go outside the hotel and walk up a street into a completely separate building. It smells as you go in and it is in a poor state (though this because they are renovating). Three times during our stay our passes stopped working, so we had to go back to reception as we could not even get in the building, let alone up to our room.

With the breakfast buffet, for me there were limited options. I am vegetarian and do not eat cheese. For the savoury that left me bread and eggs. There were no cooked tomatoes, mushrooms, or other options. Lots of meat & cheese though. The first day they had salmon, and it was there everyday we came down but each time had just run out. Each time I asked if there was more and they refused. Though we came early twice and late twice and it had always just been there. On our last day we were early (7.45/7.50) and the same thing happened, they had run out. Clearly they had some more, as it was always also just missed at 8.45, 9.30 and 9.45. On the last day I was laughed at by the staff for asking, even though I explained I could not eat the meat or cheese. The told me to have mozzarella and tomato and then I heard them laughing and talking to each other about the salmon. A disappointing end to our stay and last impression to leave with.

On another morning people were waiting 10-15mins for coffee they had ordered when arriving and it was coming to them as they finished breakfast.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo R, Customer Experience Department at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear Nicola P,

We would like to thank you for reviewing our property following your recent stay with us to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary..

We really appreciate the feedbacks of all of our guests, especially one like yours that gives us a better insight with regards to our services. First of all, we are really happy that you appreciated the professionalism and friendliness of our staff, who always delivers the highest standard of service to offer you the most pleasant stay possible. Our hotel is divided in two wings and rooms can be in either parts depending on the category you previously booked. According to your reservation you booked a standard room that, as written in our website too, seizes 10-15 m2. As you rightly pointed out in your review, we are renovating our Jolanda wing to offer to all of guests a refined surrounding to make you enjoy the Venetian vibe to the fullest. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a limited options as being vegetarian and that we run out of salmon during your stay. We really would like to hear from you some suggestions with regards to some new vegetarian options to add to our rich buffet, so please be so kind to send us an email to customer.experience@hotelsavoiajolanda.com.

We all look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Sincerely,

Customer Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights and found it has a mixture of good and bad points. The good ; nice location, excellent maid service, spotless bed linen, free umbrellas, ( returnable or charged ) nice food and a good drink selection. There is a heated transparent enclosed outside area for eating, drinking and watching the world go by but many tables get dripped on if it rains.
The not so good ; we all agreed the staff were either very pleasant and helpful or rather surly making you feel like an inconvenience, there were pigeons flying around the outside enclosed eating area taking food off the tables and messing everywhere which was very off putting.
The breakfast seating area gets packed and then you have to either eat in a screened off part of the reception area or queue and wait for a table to become vacant. The few chairs in the tiny reception do not cater for people to relax as it is busy and breezy with only the odd local craft book to read. The better place to sit is in the breakfast/ bar area however there are no armchairs there only the seating used at breakfast time.
A nice enough place to use as a base to go out on a daily basis to visit the city but other than that I felt it was an over elaborate bed and breakfast establishment. I don’t want huge sport tv screens and noisy bars but I do expect warm comfortable surroundings to relax in when I’m at a hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Roamer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo R, Customer Experience Department at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Roamer1954,

We would like to thank for your post following your recent stay here at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda.

First of all, we are thrilled to hear your appreciation with regards to the cleanliness of our property: our housekeeping department does always deliver the highest standard of service and we are honored that you highlighted such aspect of your stay. We are also happy that you enjoyed the location as well as our food and drink selection. We very much value your feedback as this allows us to review all the services and facilities we provide and where necessary action may be required for the benefit of all of our guests. We can guarantee that we will take into consideration what you pointed out in your comment and we will do our best to offer our guests relaxing and comfortable surroundings. We are truly sorry to hear about the pigeons flying around the outside eating area, we are actually trying to figure out the best and efficient solution to finally keep the pigeons away from our terrace.

Should you desire to deepen your review please send an email to customer.experience@hotelsavoiajolanda.com.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in our property.

Sincerely,

Customer Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed at the Hotel Savoia & Jolanda while on vacation in Venice. The location is perfect, right next to San Marco square, lots of shopping and places to eat. I highly recommend that you splurge and get a room overlooking the lagoon, it’s worth the view. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. The restaurant is also very tasty and breakfast was excellent. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Venice!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo R, Customer Experience Department at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Dear Marie C,

We would like to thank you for your lovely feedback and for choosing to stay at our Hotel Savoia & Jolanda.

It is very satisfying to know that you loved our location facing the stunning Venetian lagoon. We are just a few steps away from Venice’s landmarks such as Bridge of Sighs, Doge’s Palace and St. Mark’s Square. Within 15 minutes’ walk you reach the area of Rialto Bridge where there are plenty of shops and restauarnts/bars. We are glad that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet as well as the food of our restaurant. We aim to offer to all of our guests the chance to enjoy the original Italian taste. We will delighted to share your review with our staff members, who always do their best to make you enjoy your vacation to the fullest.

Should you desire to deepen your review please send an email to customer.experience@hotelsavoiajolanda.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your best friend back in our hotel soon.

Best wishes,

Customer Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at this hotel , on this occasion we stayed for 6 nights and it still was not long enough ! You might wonder why we keep returning to Venice and the same hotel , we are Mother and Daughter travelling alone (because i am a golf widow ) and the location of this hotel make it a excellent place to stay for all major sight seeing and also Venice is a very safe place to visit with very little crime if any !! We now love doing our own thing and not all the tourist things as we have been to Venice so many times now and this hotel never fails for us so why would we want to stay anywhere else . We still get excited like we did the first time when our water taxi stopped in front of the hotel and my Daughter still gets upset when we have to leave but thats what happens when you stay in such a beautiful city and such a fabulous hotel , cannot wait for our 2018 trips !!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank maureendavies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo R, Customer Experience Department at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear maureendavies55,

It is truly an honor for all us hearing such nice words with regards to our property and we cannot thank you enough for choosing us after so many years.

We can say for sure that we really care about you and your beautiful daughter, both of you are now part of our extended family and we look forward to welcoming you two back for your 2018 trips. We are thrilled to hear that we have become your home away from home and we always love spoiling you like the first day.

A presto.

Customer Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

The location is the best: close to one vaporetto station and many other city attractions.
The room is good, not so big as we expected, but very comfy and with a good bathroom.
We had an issue during the breakfast and the manager of the restaurant was not proactive to help us. But, the manager apologize next day and was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunoMS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteo R, Customer Experience Department at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Dear BrunoMS87,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at our Hotel Savoia & Jolanda.

We are very pleased to hear that your appreciation for our exclusive location, as a matter of fact we are very lucky to be in the heart of the city where you can breathe the real Venetian vibe. We are glad that you loved the comfort of the room as well as its bathroom. We are also happy that everything worked out fine at the end and we will be delighted to share your kind words with our staff, who always delivers the highest standard of service.

Should you desire to deepen your review please send an email to customer.experience@hotelsavoiajolanda.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel soon.

Best wishes,

Customer Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews