We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even better service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Ranked #81 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Savoia and Jolanda for two nights in March 2013. Everything about this hotel was perfect. The rooms were cozy, but with enough space, and well appointed. It was quite romantic.

The location was excellent. It was a dozen yards to the Vaportto and only two canals over from Saint Marks, less than 5 minute walk.

The hotels service was excellent. They let us barrow an umbrella when it was raining. They had an extra power adapter for us to borrow as well. The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am so glad that we stayed at the Savoia & Jolanda Hotel in Venice. We both had a really lovely stay and couldn't have asked for better service.
Upon arriving into Venice's Marco Polo airport and finding our way to the 'Alilaguna' ferry port we spent an hour and a bit enjoying the view from the ferry before arriving at San Zaccaria ferry stop. The hotel is literally right in front of this stop so getting to the reception desk with suitcases couldn't have been any easier.
We were welcomed by the staff immediately and shown up to our room. Check-in was very efficient!
The only reason I have knocked off a couple of marks is because there was a mix up with the hotel room. We'd asked for two twin beds and we'd be given a double. I shouldn't really knock marks off as when I mentioned it to the gentleman at the desk on our way out, he looked horrified that there had been a mistake and assured us it would be taken care of immediately. Sure enough when we returned later it was all sorted out. Felt bad for mentioning it!
The room was lovely, well-appointed and fairly spacious. We had a great balcony with a beautiful view out over the lagoon. The beds were comfy, extra pillows were available and the we were provided with extras such as slippers, dressing gowns and toiletries.
We also had free Wi-Fi which was a little slow but still a nice surprise as I didn't know we were getting it for free.
There were a few hints of wear and tear in our room, but overall it was very nice indeed.
Breakfast was also included in our package and despite missing it one morning due to a sore head from too much Italian wine, we made it down to be treated to a continental breakfast. Cereals, fruit, bacon and eggs, croissants, yoghurt, there was something for everyone.
Location-wise, Savoia & Jolanda was very well positioned. St Mark's Square, Basilica and Bell Tower were less than a five minute walk away. The lagoon is right there in front of you with ferry stops making other parts of the island easily accessible. There were also gondolas available all along the water front should you want to go through the canals (which you should definitely do whilst in Venice!!)
Check-out was as easy as check-in was. Someone had written on here 'beware of hidden extra charges' but we came up with none. We did not use the mini-bar or phone in the room so had no charges. All hotels in Venice impose a tax (ours was €4 per night per visitor) which is intended to help fund projects to save the city from its flooding woes. I think this is a great idea and if it helps to save this fascinating city from a watery grave then I don't mind paying it at all.
Thank you to all the staff at the Savoia & Jolanda for everything during our stay, two very happy customers indeed!

Room Tip: If possible, request a lagoon view on floor 3 or 4. The view is lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited Savoia & Jolanda in February 2013. The hotel location is brilliant - right opposite the ferry stop and within a few minutes walk of St Marks Square and all that Venice has to offer. The staff were lovely and helpful but our room was a bit of a walk and several flights of stairs from reception and my partner had to bend to get into the bathroom! The room was clean but the bed itself was VERY hard. The breakfast was ok and we did eat in the restaurant one evening, the food was quite nice but there was not much atmosphere. The Hotel does have its own boat to take you to Murano which is well worth a visit. Venice is a lovely place to visit but eating out is VERY expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - they looked lovely!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandRTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted a hotel that was close to St Marks Square and easy to get to with public transport, this hotel fit the bill perfect.
The service at this hotel was very good with most of the staff helping you were ever possible; the rooms were comfortable although lacking a little in wardrobe/drawer facilities.
It is in a great position to easily walk to most of the main attractions in Venice.
If you are going for the Masquerade Ball and are on a budget, then make sure you get your costume back home before you go as hire charges in Venice are astonomical, starting at E250.00 up to any amount of money you wish to pay; you can however get masks at very reasonable prices, cheaper than back home.
The public water bus stops right outside the hotel, but a word to the wise, the public water buses take an absolute age to get anywhere so if you can afford the difference then get a water taxi which also stops right outside the hotel, try to double-up with somebody as the costs are excessive: E70.00 FOR 15min journey.
If you are going for Valentines mack sure you book before you go as the best restaurants get booked-up quickly, we saw a number of people being turned away.
Venice is a fantastic city to visit, my advise is to just set off walking down all the little back streets off the beaten path you will be amazed at what you might find.

Room Tip: This hotel does have some great speciality rooms; make sure if you want one to book early.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a nice hotel. the location is perfect, 5min walk from san marco square and in front of a vaporetto stations. the room was too hot and we could not turn the heating off so we just opened the windows. The room was very clean and it was comfortable (except there were two beds together to make a double bed....I'd prefer to have just one mattress)
the breakfast is also good, lots of choices of cakes, fruit, juices, bread, eggs and bacon. the coffee is not good: its instant coffee. so make sure you specifically ask for an espresso our double espresso and not black coffee.
I would go back to this hotel but the things I mentioned above coule be improved. don't forget there is a 4€ per person per night . that goes directly to the venice town hall pockets...what a rip off.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After an extremely enjoyable 3-night stay at Hotel Savoia & Jolanda’s sister hotel Villa Igea in January (also reviewed) I booked another 4-night stay there for the following month as soon as I got back home. However, when we checked in for our second stay a couple of weeks later we were upgraded to a room at the Savoia & Jolanda hotel.

The location of the Savoia & Jolanda hotel is fabulous, very near to San Marco on the Riva Degli Schiavoni overlooking the Grand Canal and just a few steps (one bridge) from the Vaporetto line 1 San Marco San Zaccharia stop.

We received a very warm welcome by Hans, the receptionist, who truly made us feel like king and queen during our stay.

As said and much to our surprise we were upgraded to a room at the Savoia & Jolanda hotel. The room we were allocated had a quite large balcony with two chairs and looked out onto an alley off the Riva Degli Schiavoni, and so had a partial view of the Grand Canal.

The room was smaller than the room we previously had at Hotel Villa Igea, but standard for what you can expect in Venice. It was more modern though, especially the bathroom (which was bigger and had a fabulous rainshower). Both room and bathroom were immaculately clean, and t he bed very comfortable. There were spare pillows in the wardrobe (in most hotels in Italy double beds only have two rather thin pillows as a standard).

We already knew the Savoia and Jolanda hotel has the best breakfast with biggest choice and best cappucino we've been served in any hotel in Venice (or elsewhere in Italy), as guests of the hotel Villa Igea have breakfast in the same restaurant which overlooks the Riva Degli Schiavoni at the Grand Canal.

Every member of staff at the hotel is - without exception - very friendly and helpful. Our special thanks goes out to Hans though, he made our stay, which was already wonderful, extra special.

I will be book soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have reviewed this Hotel many times and it gets better with each visit,i travel to venice 3 to 4 times a year and this hotel is my no.1 choice due to the excellant location and wonderful caring staff.On this occasion i travelled with my husband and we stayed 5 nights (which is never long enough for me).I cannot say much more about this Hotel as i have already said it all before in my other reviews,but if good old fashioned customer care and friendliness is what you require then this is the Hotel for you! i am returning to venice in 3 weeks time with my Daughter and i am already excited about going back (and i,ve only been home 1day) but this will be my 1,st visit at Easter so i know it will be more special this time!

Room Tip: If you require a Lagoon view specify this at time of booking (it,s worth paying extra for) you get s...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maureendavies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#18 of 384 in Venice
1,568 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#102 of 384 in Venice
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 384 in Venice
1,014 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 384 in Venice
2,158 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia & Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia & Jolanda

Address: Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4187, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#95 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $124 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoia & Jolanda 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Venice Hotel Savoia & Jolanda is located in the historical center of Venice, a few minutes away from St. Mark Square, in a splendid position along Riva degli Schiavoni, in front of the Venice lagoon, from there it enjoys the unforgettable view of Saint Mark's Basin and the St. George Island. Its position allows one to reach easily the Mercerie and Via XXII Marzo with some of the world's finest shopping and to visit the Venice palaces, museums and the art galleries, lesser-known Venice like the more fascinating and secluded as the Sestiere Castello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoia & Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia And Jolanda Hotel
Savoia Jolanda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing