We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$277
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$438
$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$330
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$394
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
$294
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
$332
$303
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$494
$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
$360
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,011)
Filter reviews
2,011 results
Traveler rating
1,048
670
176
58
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,048
670
176
58
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon viewgrand canaljunior suiteperfect locationwater taxibridge of sighsst marks squaresan zaccaria vaporetto stoprestaurant staffthe main hoteldoge's palaceblue linejacuzzi bathstandard roombuffet breakfastour honeymoonglass factory
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
925 - 930 of 2,011 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned after a 3 night break at this hotel and found everything great. Arriving from Venice airport we caught the Aliguna water bus (by far cheapest way to travel). The journey about 1 hour but on arrival in Venice we walked on the water bus straight into the hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming. When we were taken to our room we were more than impressed, especially because a basic room had been booked. It was luxuriously furnished in red and gold with a bathroom of gold mosaic tiles. The room overlooked the main lagoon. The breakfast is basic but substantial.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Don't be wary of booking a basic room as they are large, beautifully furnished and very substantial.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_normasutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The reason to stay at this hotel is the location. It is minutes from San Marco and the S. Zaccharia vaporetto stop is right in front of the hotel entrance. It's an $100+ private water taxi ride from the airport (highly recommended, pricey, but you can relax on your way in). I found the front desk service to be a little curt, but whatever. Our room was a good size, and clean. We were facing an alley, but we weren't really in the room much to care. The breakfast in the morning was good, nothing special, so I recommend you grab your eggs and toast, then hit up a local cafe for an unreal Venetian cappuccino and donut. You can have two breakfasts--you are on vacation!
Overall, a clean and easily accessible hotel.
And one thing to note about Venice--there are street signs everywhere pointing you in the direction to the major touristy sites, so you're never really "lost." Feel free to wander around and soak it all in, because once you decided you've had enough and want to get back to the hotel, it will be relatively easy, just follow the signs.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a really good location - right opposite the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop - which is one of the best connected hubs for transport anywhere in Venice, And its only a very short walk to the Bridge of Sighs and San Marco. BUT it is right on the water front - and when Venice floods the hotel ground floor gets under water. Like the previous reviewer, we were very disappointed that the hotel did not manage the situation better. We had floods on two of our three days - breakfast was cancelled once, and next day people had to splash around in the dining room ( and also, I agree the smell was of foul drainage). We had to paddle to get from the hotel to the public walkways with our shoes in plastic bags to try and keep dry. ( Street vendors were selling plastic over-shoes at 15 euros a pair).

Now, you might say that I am being unfair - and this was a natural disaster so what do I expect? Sadly, though, Venice floods about 60 times a year - so I would have expected a four star hotel on the waterfront to be better prepared. and ready to look after its guests better.

Apart from how it handled the floods, what about the hotel itself? Well, again as has been commented - the front desk staff are very good - Hans and Peter particularly. We eat in the Hotel restaurant one night - the food was fine, but the service was very average. And for as for room service - well, an example - we ordered breakfast in our room because we had to get to the airport. At the time we had asked for it to be delivered, we got a phone call asking if we wanted Tea or Coffee. We asked for Tea, but even after a "hurry up" phone call, the breakfast ( with Coffee) arrived 25 minutes late. We just grabbed a roll, and ran for the boat.

One final point - there are many comments about rooms with views. But, the majority of the rooms do not overlook the lagoon, but a side alley. Ours was a large room and comfortable - but very noisy. The windows were firmly shut, but from very early morning ( like 5am) we were wakened by shutters banging and rattling from local traders as they got ready for the day.

Venice is a wonderful city - but our stay at this hotel certainly gave us some unexpected memories!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The floods were real, the lobby was soggy when we arrived and same each morning, but it's what you get for having a location right on the water, and the staff managed very well. We got a triple room and I confirm some other reviews noting that these seem to be on the side of the building and without a view, plus the wifi was much weaker at the end of the hallway (we sat on the floor by the door to get two bars). Room was clean and bathroom was big and nice enough. Breakfast was fine if nothing spectacular.

But the location really was excellent and given that nothing else was really negative I would recommend to other visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent four nights here. Superb location by San Zaccaria water bus stop. Nice room with partial view of Grand Canal. Had dinner on first night and found service and food very average.
We had floods on two of the days we were there. The staff responded very well, but we were disappointed that the situation was not better managed. We had to paddle in to breakfast on two mornings, sit on chairs in two or three inches of water, and breakfast to the smell of the drains. We would have expected a greater show of concern, or apology, or constuctive suggestions by the management. It would have helped if the duckboards from the hotel had joined up with those in the street. And could not a large hotel have a supply of wellington boots for sale or loan, for example?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgio88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews