We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nearby the main train station, excellent rooms and staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #30 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Located near Santa Lucia station, the city's main railway station, what allows you to go walking to the hotel (if you don´t have too much luggage because there are many bridges to cross, amongst which the big Calatrava´s Construction Bridge) - huge advantage as water taxis are very expensive in the city! Besides the good location, the hotel is relatively close to the Piazza San Marco and at the same time away from the main touristic areas what allows nice walks through the city avoiding the very crowded places. The accommodations are good and in great condition and very clean. Staff is very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the internal garden (instead of facing the cannal).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOSEMPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a very nice hotel and excellent location for those who want to explore Venice. You can easily get there with a normal bus from the airport. The staff at the reception desk is really friendly and they have a good map showing 3 main routes to walk from the hotel to Piazza San Marco so you can do a lot of sightseeing on the way. It's also easy to take the water taxi back if you don't want to walk your way back. The rooms are clean and
comfortable and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarleenTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Location is a bit of a hike from most of the sights in Venice, but if you don't mind walking (40 min to San Marco square) then this is a nice hotel. Porters (esp Marco) were the nicest we encountered. Front desk staff especially in the evenings could really use additional training. First night we asked for a restaurant recommendation--directions hopeless & front desk guy just shrugged when we reported that we couldn't find the place. Second night I needed help making an urgent call to my bank in the US (they had a number to call them collect when traveling out if the country.) Front desk lady acted like I was interrupting her personal call & directed me to go across the street to try the pay phones. It was a particularly miserable, rainy night. Maybe the front desk personnel should realize that customer service does not end with handing guests a key to the room?

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Smallworldpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOlimpia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your positive and nice feedback! Your suggestions have been highly appreciated and surely implemented.
We only have the big regret of not having completely fulfilled your expectations about the front desk service.
Our staff is normally customer oriented and friendly.
To try to solve our guests problems ( especially emergency issues ), or to satisfy their needs, is a must and our main goal.
We are heartily sorry, for the inconvenience occurred during your stay. Please be so kind as to accept our truly apologies.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I returned to this lovely small hotel for my 75 birthday having been at the same time last year .Once again we were made to feel most welcome by the lovely reception staff .We were given a lovely quiet room in the small annex and were surprised to find a bottle of Prosecco and a box of chocolates as a birthday gift .We enjoyed breakfast each morning with a very good choice of food and very friendly staff .

The hotel is ideally located for trains and buses , but away from the crowded main attractions .We found a major square called Margaretta which is close to the University with lots of small bars and restaraunts which were very cheap .

Many thanks to all at The Olimpia for a lovely five days and we will certainly be returning .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyheights8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We purchased a tour package that included three nights in Venice at this hotel. The hotel is really close to the train station (walking distance) and close to a water taxi stop. It's not in the heart of Venice, but that was actually a good choice for us; as its in less crowded area and very close to transportation. Hotel rooms are small (typical) but nice and clean. Free Internet and the best part was their breakfast! Not your typical hotel package (room + breakfast). If you book direct, add on the breakfast - by far the best I've had in a tour package! Staff was friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichol91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Olimpia for 6 nights and highly recommend it as your base for exploring venice. It is well located, close to the bus station and train station and easy to reach on the shuttle bus from Treviso airport. It is only a short walk to all the main attractions of Venice and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants close by.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicous and set us up for the day.
Our room was spacious and clean, well equipped and had a great view of the canal just below our window. Beds were comfortable and the hotel was in a quiet location so we always had a good night's sleep.
Our room had a separate seating area ajoining the bedroom which was a perfect area for our toddler to sleep in his cot and for those travelling with a baby/toddler, we found the staff here very child friendly and they were happy to provide a cot and high chair for us during our stay.
Would definitely stay here again when visiting Venice.

Room Tip: Definitely worth requesting a room with a view of the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is situated few steps away from Piazzale Roma - ideal if you're carrying a luggage. You can get to Piazza San Marco by walk and whilst doing so you'll get a good view of San Polo.

The hotel offers a delicious continental & english breakfast - very unlikely for a hotel in Italy.

Staff are all very helpful, especially Roberto the night receptionist, and they all speak very good English. They even have a porter!

I suggest you book directly with the hotel - its cheaper!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina_Grech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,115 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,916 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 387 in Venice
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $118 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing