We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Before leaving on a Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #36 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Before leaving on a Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here before leaving on our cruise. It was so convieant we were able to take a land taxi from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is in walking distance from all the restaurants and shops. The room was very charming. It looked out onto the garden through french doors all you heard were the birds singing. The bathroom was very up-dated with modern designer fixtures. Breakfast was very good and served in a room facing the canal. When leaving for the cruise terminal all you do is walk with your bags and take the people mover (1 Euro) and it drops you off on the first stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    660
    86
    20
    12
See reviews for
454
1,116
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

the breakfast is great, garden is beautiful, some of the staff are fantastic - especially the lovely lady who came out to a public phone to show me how to use it. the main hotel sways so if motion sick don't choose here. still have to cross the main bridge so beware with luggage. the annex is lovely but stinks like sewerage - and you and your luggage smell like it also - good way to have a train compartment in paris to yourself!

beware when buying water bus tickets - we, like many others, got caught out because they don't tell you that one ticket covers two adults return trip - very expensive and when ticket booth closes you have to walk back n the dark. also you have to pay to use all toilets but they close at 7 pm!!! most of venice is closed by then anyway - its a retirement village, pretty but smelly. Majer was the best place we found for coffee and food. found the best chocolate icecream and chocolate shop at Viziovirtu, the gentleman was patient and lovely. Also excellent pasticeria Tonola? dont buy anything at rialto unless you want to pay 10 to 20 euros more for it.

Room Tip: annex great but really stinks like sewerage; also no elevator but many stairs. the main hotel top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoreeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was located very near the bus station. The shuttle bus from the airport took less than 30 minutes and we were at the hotel in less than 10 minutes. It is next to the brightly yellow coloured Hotel Arlecchino. We were given a room in an annex next to the hotel which has a separate entrance. The room was traditionally decorated. The bathroom has got a bidet which is very useful.

Our room faced the garden of another building. It was quite quiet apart from the shouts by workers from the building next door. The room was warm. We had to open the windows to be comfortable to sleep. Although there was a plug-in mosquito repellent for use, there were one or two mosquitoes per night during our 4 nights' stay.

The breakfast was good. There was some hot food and cakes as well as the other usual items. Guests could choose to breakfast in the garden. However, the breakfast room could be crowded when there was a school party, especially if it was raining.

Wifi was free. There was one PC in the public area. The TV channels were all in Italian. The local hotel tax cost us 20 euro for 4 nights.

The Coop, a big supermarket which was made up from 3 connecting buildings was 5-10 minutes' walk away. There was a good selection of cheese, cured meat, veg, fruit as well as hot roast chicken, lamb shank and roast potatoes. The roast lamb shank was tender and tasty.

It was at this supermarket that my husband's wallet was stolen. The supermarket was not crowded when we were there. Not long after we had entered the store and while we were looking at the packets of cured meat, two or three customers suddenly crowded round us. I noticed there were a heavily pregnant woman and a small old lady with a shopping trolley. My husband politely moved a little out of their ways. I remembered the pregnant woman was looking at me. We didn't take any notice until it was time to pay when my husband found that the wallet in one of his trousers zipped pockets had gone. Luckily, it was only cash and no credit cards.

When were in Lisbon in December some years ago, my husband was surrounded by a gang of four or five men in a crowded bus. He was then wearing layers of clothes and was able to hold on to his wallet at that time. The gang left the next bus stop when they found they could get nothing from him. On this occasion, the weather was warm in Venice. There was no need for thick layers of clothes. It must be easier to pickpocket and, especially by vulnerable looking people.

We were upset for a while but carried on enjoying ourselves. The tourist information was useful. We paid 16 euro each to visit St. Mark's Square Museums. We enjoyed our whole day trip to the Grand Canal, the Murano, Burano and other islands using the one day water bus ticket which cost 18 euro each. There were tours to Murano and Burano which would last 4 hours but you would have to start from St. Mark's Square and they cost 20 euro each.

We found one or two wine shops which sold a range of wine (mostly red) from huge glass containers. You take your own bottle but as we didn't have one, they gave us one. It cost just over 2 euro per litre and was very good. If only we could find these shops in Milan which was our next destination.

Travelers with mobility problems may experience considerable difficulties in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esigui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We choose this hotel for it's close distance from the bus station as we arrived late at night. I forgot to mention this but we were expected and warmly welcomed by the very attending receptionist Roberto. He was really friendly & funny and this was especially nice for my girlfriend and her daughter who did not travel in Europe before. The hotel even arranged that the girls could stay in the same room the next day as I had to leave one day earlier. This was such a good beginning as I worried about checking in and out after one night. Really good service! Nice setting with a garden and at the canal too. Room was comfortable and clean. Good beds. Some rooms at the canal side can be a little noisy because when the windows are open as the sound of the busses can be heared at night/morning. But for sleeping this was no problem at all. I would sure come back to his hotel if I return.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the canal side can be a little noisy because when the windows are open as the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Venice, too much for staying in Venice only but we used it as a base for other excursions nearby.

Location: the hotel is located about 700m from the station which was quite helpful as we arrived by train and we didn't have to carry our luggage much. It has some restaurants nearby and it's clear from where to start walking to Piazza San Marco.

Room: we were given a triple room with a big bed and a small one. We didn't need the other bed but anyway. The ceiling was quite low and the room was located in the first floor looking out to a courtyard. The towel heater in the bathroom didn't seem to work so we couldn't dry our clothes. Two of the days, the elevator was out of service so we had to take the stairs, and also the day we checked out, carrying our luggage down the stairs.

Service: The front desk people were very nice but the ladies in the breakfast (which was included) seemed careless. We waited a lot for them to clean up the table and bring our tea/coffee. Always in a bad mood and never a smile. The place is really small to have breakfast and when full is a bit uncomfortable.

Would have to think about staying again here, maybe only for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brackley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at the hotel Olimpia. We travelled with a very disabled passenger and he managed around the hotel and the staff were helpful. Our room had a lovely view over the canal. The hotel is in such a great location for the city, cruise terminal and bus station, for us the position could not have been better. The hotel was very clean, lovely breakfast and the staff were very helpful. Would recommend to anyone travelling to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsrBrackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOlimpia, Public Relations Manager at HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very for your review!
YOU were a fantastic guest..
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was close to the cruise line tram. My husband and me were traveling with are four children age 10 to 16. It was nice to not have far to walk after we got off the bus from the airport, considering we had eight suitcases with us. There are two bridges you most cross, so plan on this,it took a lot of team work to get the suitcases across. The locals were very kind and helped my children with there luggage.We had two rooms, a canal view and a garden view. Both were nice, however, the canal view was much larger. Breakfast was OK, not kid friendly but was not a problem due to we were getting on the cruise ship that day. Price was very expensive for the rooms, probably due to the cruise ship was in port. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are taking a cruise due its location. Closest hotel to the tram that takes you to port. We would return to hotel.

Room Tip: Canal view is the best. In a seperate bldg with no elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank my2birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Property: HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Venice
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing