We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Post Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #30 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Olimpia for one night post cruise Sept 29th. It was a bittersweet stay as this was my last night in Europe after 16 amazing days! The service given by the frontdesk erased any melancholy as it was EXCELLENT! THis hotel is VERY easy to get to after arriving from the cruise terminal via the People mover. You basically walk across the Piazzale Roma, across one small bridge and you are there!

The room itself was beautful, recently renovated and overlooked the canal. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was beautiful!

I sadly did not get to enjoy breakfast due to the ungodly hour of my flight but the bread was baking when I left and it smelled divine! My early departure was another area whereI was wowed! It was too early to take the bus and the front desk arranged for me to share a cab with 2 other people taking the same flight..this significantly reduced the price for all three of us! ( and the cab that was arranged arrived on time...came to the hotel to walk us to the cab and handled all the luggage. AWESOME)

My only regret was that I did not spend longer here...perhaps next time! Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwithNoRegrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We chose the hotel because we were arriving in Venice on a cruise ship with lots of luggage and wanted somewhere easy to walk to from Piazalle Roma from the People Mover. Also we had to catch the airport bus to Treviso from P. Roma for an early flight when we left Venice. The location was perfect for our needs.we like walking so enjoyed the 30 min walk to Rialto Bridge and a further 10 mins to San Marco. We upgraded to a superior double which was lovely with a beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was included and excellent. The first night we ate quite close to the hotel on their recommendation at Venetiana but we were very disappointed. The following day we did a tour with Venice Events which was brilliant and good value for money. We ate at Amfora where the pizza was excellent. Just a tip if you are arriving at the cruise terminal - your ship will probably provide a shuttle bus to the People Mover which costs €1 but be prepared to queue especially if there is more than one ship in port.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived at Hotel Olimpia after a harrowing day at sea in 50-60 mph winds. The cruise ship was supposed to dock in Venice, but due to bad weather had to sail south to Ravenna where all the passengers had to get on buses to take a 2-1/2 hr. ride back to Venice, only to be dumped out at the cruise ship terminal (which was closed due to the same bad weather) rather than Pz. Roma. After a mad scramble to find transportation to Pz. Roma, we arrived at Hotel Olimpia at 10:30 pm shivering, cold and wet to be met by a very welcoming man who said Room 108, the Garden Room, was waiting for us. It was a beautiful and very comfortable room overlooking a small patio and garden and we spent 2 nights there before returning home to Arizona. The staff was extremely helpful in arranging for Roberto to transport us to the airport for a very early morning flight and providing us with a "box breakfast" to take with us. We highly recommend Hotel Olimpia as it is near Pz. Roma and is a very comfortable and updated hotel with an extremely helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 108, the Garden Room, is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayTucson_ArizonaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I personally made reservations for 4 couples with this hotel about 6 months in advance. they were very accomodating and stayed in touch with me. The eight of us LOVED the service, the employees and the cleanliness of the hotel,. It is a short walk over two bridges near the Pizalle Roma if you need a location point. We were fine to use that plaza as a pickup/drop off point for our transporation needs. The hotel also set up all our transfer needs from the Cruise ship to the hotel and then to the airport. We had LOTS of luggage (21 days away from home on ship and cities) and we had three persons with special walking needs. They are FABULOUS!! thank you very much, the Strongs from Tacoma.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose this hotel for its convenience to everything and it was less expensive than others in central Venice. It is situated on a canal with Fondamenta Burchelli beside it which had several tables outside the several small restaurants. We were greeted warmly by those at the front desk and as we had arrived well before check in time (we had informed them prior to arrival) our room was ready. The hotel elevator was quite small, enough for 2 people or 1 person with 2 suitcases. The room was spacious with several windows overlooking the garden and terrace and with citrus and pomegranate trees laden with fruit. There was a large couch and all was nicely decorated and comfortable. Unfortunately the shower staff was incredibly small and the doors at an angle so it was a little difficult to get in. All was very clean and well maintained, except for a few threadbare carpets on the stairs. The included breakfast was excellent; plenty of excellent pastries; yogurt, scrambled eggs and Italian ham, bacon, and some other meats plus cheese slices, a variety of cereals, good bread and jams; excellent coffee, Good service too. The front desk was helpful in recommending local restaurants but we were too early on one night and it was closed and the other was a Sunday and it was closed then too but found others which were quite good. Unfortunately the small bar aat the hotel was closed and was being repaired probably due to heavy flooding, an occupational hazard in the city. Definitely worth recommending.

Room Tip: There is only one small bridge to negotiate from the Piazzale Roma where you can find buses, taxis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springbanktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location was excellent for pre and post cruise one night stay. One bridge from Piazzale Roma and people mover and that is about as good as it gets for the main island in Venice. This would be difficult for someone who could not carry their luggage this short distance and climb.
No complaints about room and breakfast and thought the hotel gave good value. Thought the reception staff particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor primarily for the location. It is true the location was great for us as we were traveling with family arriving by train and then boarding a cruise ship the next day. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Santa Lucia train station and also close to the People Mover, although we took a water taxi to the cruise ship (for the experience). We ordered the water taxi to the cruise ship for next afternoon through the reception and the receptionist (Richard -I believe) was very kind and helpful. We had a family room, although clean and comfortable, rather small. The same for the bathroom, very small. At breakfast, we arrived with almost all guests and of course could not have a table of 4, so we ate separately. Breakfast was average; however the coffee was less than average especially for Italy. This hotel should be chosen for the location only. Only two bridges (one big and one small) from the main train station and one bridge (small one) from the Piazzale Roma (important consideration for carrying luggage).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prilly1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#91 of 387 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,915 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 387 in Venice
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,934 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $118 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing