We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #34 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location was excellent for pre and post cruise one night stay. One bridge from Piazzale Roma and people mover and that is about as good as it gets for the main island in Venice. This would be difficult for someone who could not carry their luggage this short distance and climb.
No complaints about room and breakfast and thought the hotel gave good value. Thought the reception staff particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    679
    88
    20
    12
See reviews for
494
1,184
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prilly
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor primarily for the location. It is true the location was great for us as we were traveling with family arriving by train and then boarding a cruise ship the next day. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Santa Lucia train station and also close to the People Mover, although we took a water taxi to the cruise ship (for the experience). We ordered the water taxi to the cruise ship for next afternoon through the reception and the receptionist (Richard -I believe) was very kind and helpful. We had a family room, although clean and comfortable, rather small. The same for the bathroom, very small. At breakfast, we arrived with almost all guests and of course could not have a table of 4, so we ate separately. Breakfast was average; however the coffee was less than average especially for Italy. This hotel should be chosen for the location only. Only two bridges (one big and one small) from the main train station and one bridge (small one) from the Piazzale Roma (important consideration for carrying luggage).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prilly1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for our mini break exploring venice for the first time. The location was perfect, we got the shuttle bus from the air port to Piazzale Roma and it couldn't have been easier. We could see the hotel from the bus stop, and soon had deposited our luggage and were off to explore with the helpful directions and map given to us by the hotel receptionist. The hotel is in easy walking distance of everywhere and is situated off a quite canal with lots of restaurants close by. The room was just what we needed, decorated in a venician style, it was clean, warm and welcoming. The bathroom shower was really great after a full day exploring venice. The room was just nextdoor to the main hotel and overlooked a garden, we had our own key to get in to the building aswell as the room. We also had room service and fresh towels every day. Breakfast was great, a large selection of fruits, cereals, pastries and continental aswell as cooked breakfast was provided by friendly staff. We would definatly use this hotel again and would recomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not only is this hotel in a lovely location by a canal, it is very close to the main train station, the main bus station, and the people mover which takes you to the port with the cruise ships.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms well maintained and beautifully decorated, and
an excellent breakfast and working wifi available. The surrounding restaurants are generally good and there is easy and economical water transport available to take you to St Marks square. The friendly staff are always willing to answer questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slook_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have just returned from a short break in Venice, we chose the Olimpia because the reviews on Trip Advisor where so good, and how right they were!!
Just a few minutes from the airport bus stop and a major vaporetto stop the hotel is in a perfect position to get around this wonderful City. Reception staff were welcoming and offered information without having to ask, our rooms were small, but beautifully furnished in typical Venetian style, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was a delight, buffet style with an enormous choice of hot and cold, platters of cheeses, hams, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, juice, yoghurts etc etc, wonderful!
I would not hesitate to return to the Hotel and would highly recommend it for excellant value, position and service.
Top tip for eating out avoid the 'tourist routes' far better value to visit the Cannergio area and Doursa Dora area where local family restaurants offer authentic Italian cuisine at really good prices, house wine is fine, even by the litre! Beware the Italians tend to eat early and bars tend to close around 10.30 so please don't expect late nights out, mind you with the amount of sight seeing to be done an early night is a good option.
We did experience an 'Aqua Alto' where the city floods, owing to high tides, if you can take wellies they do come in handy, plastic bags over the shoes not a good look and it doesn't work!!

Room Tip: Room 502, right at the top of the hotel, marvelous view over the roof tops, room 205 has a balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Didn't have a hard time finding the hotel. Took the bus from Marco Polo and got to P. Roma, once we got off the bus and started to walk towards the bridge(s) it's to your right side. Staff were helpful, there was free wifi (although on the 4th floor where we were, the signal was very weak). Downstairs they have free pc with printer which is handy for when you need to print anything (like boarding cards for next flight). Breakfast was excellent and there were a lot of choices. The only minor issue we found is that the walls were a bit too thin and you can hear the next room (like when they were running the bath, flushing the toilet, etc). But overall, it was a very good choice. Very close to Campo Margherita which we found had a very good local vibe. Close to the hotels were a few places to eat, but I suggest you go walk to Campo Margherita as there are more choices (and better, to be honest). Not to be missed, which is near the hotel (once you come out of the hotel you turn right) is Majer bakery which sells yummy sweets. The bar / pub two doors down from the hotel offers very cheap alcohol, too. One tip: when reserving your room, ask if you can have the canal view - we did, and we had a really good time just people watching from our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anusenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice hotel in great location in Venice. Very good breakfast included. Close to train, vaporetto and cruise port. Does require moving suitcases over bridge (about 12 steps up and down) to get over canal from Piazzale Roma. Good restaurants close by and a fantastic gelato store that is actually around the corner under the Arlecchino Hotel facing the canal.

Hotel Olimpia has very good free wifi. Rooms are vry nice, especially overlooking the outdoor patio in the gardes in back where you can have breakfast and pre-dinner beer and wine.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leavingocalaagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 385 in Venice
1,041 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,681 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#28 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,909 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Property: HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Venice
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing