We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious hotel on waterfront” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #46 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel on waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Arriving in the cold and foggy night of Venice, we managed to get a special price from the tourist office next to Piazzale Roma. She was most helpful in directing us to this beautiful hotel and worth the 7 euro booking fee. The special included breakfast. Without the special the breakfast would have added an extra 30 euro ( 45.00 Aud) each per day and far too expensive for the average traveller. However, we took advantage of the special and were greeted by a most luxurious room complete with bath!!!
The venue was close to all the attractions and in particular Piazza San Marco and the doge palace.
Breakfast was opulent and we did not require lunch!!! The room was beautiful. The whole hotel oozed a wonderful ambience from the time you entered the foyer for the first time to the last.
For the couple who want something special and prepared to pay for it, this would be the choice. However, try to get a special with breakfast.
Definitely a luxurious stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndellandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    289
    81
    31
    23
See reviews for
229
632
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The positives are substantial -position just along from San Marco, wonderful Venetian ambience aided by stunning antiques and collections, reasonable room size, brilliant breakfast. The service is hit and miss - some genuinely friendly helpful, some off hand and dis interested. The latter comes with the territory in Venice. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is Venice so any hotel on the grand canal has some noise, however we were surprised at the lack of noise and our room had three windows overlooking the canal! We were in the Damasco Suite and it was truly worth the money. The furnishings throughout the hotel are lovely and the atmosphere was a relaxing gift after the frenzy of Venice.
Bruno the bartender is truly amazing! The BEST martini we have ever had…thank you Bruno.
We found the staff engaging, the food exceptional and the hotel a respite of delight.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it treat yourself to one of the suites. They are truly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOSALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Metropol over a few wet days in November. First the good: the service was polite and unobtrusive and the restaurant earned its Michelin star; the room was charming and the bed comfortable. But now the bad: the room they gave us (an expensive suite) was one floor above the bar, and having returned to our room from the bar the music and even conversation from the bar actually seemed louder in the room than in the bar itself---and this went on well past midnight. We asked to change rooms and were told only one other was available (similarly noisy) although the hotel did not seem full in the off season. It is a very basic requirement of any hotel that the room be quiet enough to get some sleep (there seemed to be no sound proofing at all---the acoustics almost seemed designed to carry the music and conversation upwards), and at this price it is really not on to rent out a room that noisy to a paying guest.

Room Tip: Nowhere near the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel was on The Grand Canal. Expensive for what you got. Once inside the room, had to walk up stairs to arrive at the bathroom and bed area, making it difficult with the lights and awkward for movement and closet location.

Room Tip: Ask about the layout of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

For us this was an expensive hotel, but we were only there for three nights and got a deal on last minute so went for it. So glad we did, from the moment we arrived it lived up to its pretensions of luxury. The staff were courteous and helpful and also friendly but not too much. The location is of course wonderful, we didnt have a view of the lagoon, but you could see it by sticking your head out of the window and we didnt have a bath because we were in a standard room, but the shower was excellent. Very comfortable and very big bed, lovely towels bath robes etc. Bar grand and comfortable and lounge/relaxing area fabulous, slightly kitch but none the worse for that and all smelling lovely with masses of pot pouri. We didnt eat there so cant say anything about the food and breakfast looked very expensive so we saved money by going out for that and spent it on a taxi from the hotels landing stage back to the bus station, 65 euros well spent! If i was forced to make a complaint...one small arm of the Murano glass chandelier in our room was broken and we werent terribly keen on the quiet ambient music in the corridors and bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenprinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location. Particularly if you arrive at night. It is right on the front of the lagoon. Only 5 minutes from San Marco Square and other attractions. Because of this it is a very busy part of Venice.

The hotel is lovely and the rooms are nicely furnished with really comfortable beds. We didn't go for a lagoon view room (if there are any) which would have been nice. The service was just right. Attentive enough but not too "in your face". The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was very good with a nice selection of pastries, bread, fruit and cooked food. Tea and coffee were included in the price but many other things such as cappuchino were extra.

We had dinner in the bar one night and it was the best pasta I have ever eaten.

Food and drink in this hotel are expensive but everything in Venice is.

I fell in love with Venice and if I go back I will certainly stay at the Metropole again.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for a lagoon view room if there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#41 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#42 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#51 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing