We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer perfection”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #53 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is everything that a first class hotel should be. Everything is perfect; and they make you feel that they really care about what you need. Nowhere is as good as home but this is as good as it gets. The rooms are beautiful , the service is impeccable , the location is central. The restaurant is also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuentinYoknapatawpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear "QuentinYoknapatawpha",
it is with great pleasure that I read your comment and share it with all my staff.
Thank you so much for your time and for appreciating the passion with whcih we work everyday.

See you in Venice!

Kindest regards.

Gloria Beggiato
Hotel Metropole
Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

While the room itself looked a bit older, overall this was a great hotel. The bathroom was more modern than the bedroom itself. The staff was helpful and the feel was authentic. So fun to pull up via water taxi right to the hotel. Great location as well! Breakfast was nice with the outdoor option too. You don't see that often. Even though it was a 1 night, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMSReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear "GMSReview",
such a pity you stay with us just for one night!
Thank you anyway for your really nice comment, also from the part of all my staff.

I do hope you can have the chance to spend a longer time in Venice at the Metropole, there are so many things I would like to show you about this hotel!

Kindest regards.

Gloria Beggiato
Hotel Metropole
Venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Metropole in May. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. We had a suite with terrace that had a spectacular view of the Giudecca Canal. Rooms were comfortable and well serviced. We also enjoyed the lovely garden. The most enjoyable amenity was the bar. Strongly atmospheric, we could see ourselves cosily holed up there in bad weather. The bar staff was utterly superb. Real professionals, and also warm, intelligent and extremely helpful. Our daughter had her first bellini made with a fresh peach - she loved it. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fred c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Third visit to this hotel. Still the place to stay in this wonderful city. The garden is a unique facility which is a real attraction as it is a cool, peaceful place to relax after the intensity of the city. Very well run with some exceptionally helpful staff. Room 231 is large, comfortable with a separate seating area. Windows onto the Calle at the side but quiet. Nothing too much trouble for this 5 star establishment. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aypejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A proper Venetian experience should not be attempted on the cheap. The Hotel Metropole is expensive, but good value for cost. Arrive by water taxi to the private side entrance. Enter the elegant lobby and you are in the Venice of dreams and movies, surrounded by antiques with a view directly onto the lagoon. The front desk and other staff are calm and helpful. The environment is an oasis of serenity in a city prone to being overrun with tourists. It is well located, a pleasant, short walk along the lagoon to the gardens or St. Mark's square, and somewhat apart from the cruise ship masses. Rooms vary but ones we saw were lovely. Our regular room was clean, comfortable and elegant. We looked onto a cannel with a view of the lagoon to our right out the tall the window. Some rooms overlook the courtyard garden, where a nice breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sk_bk307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned after 5 nights at this lovely hotel. It isn't cheap, but then neither is Venice, however it is elegant and very convenient aswell as being clean, friendly and stylish. The array of whiskies are well worth trying and you can be sure of gentle, respectful service from the bar staff who really look after you and ensure your comfort. The restaurant serves beautiful food (but at a price). Try for one of the rooms in the older part of the hotel for additional elegance and size.

Room Tip: In the older part the rooms are larger and more elegant. Overlooking the garden tends to be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We travel to Venice each year to dine at the Metropoles restaurant. Usually we take freinds with us- once again we visited recently and were not let down. We love the food, the walled garden, the staff are unassuming and unintrusive but always helpful. We have always found this Hotel to be an oasis in a mecca of mayhem and people. We have stayed in the past and have been more than happy with our stay and service. The staff are always courtious and polite. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ask for the roof top rooms if you can afford them or stay on a special deal weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaujolaisbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,617 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#75 of 387 in Venice
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 387 in Venice
1,685 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $236 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing