We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #50 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I booked three nights at the Metropole in Venice to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our stay could not have been better. The staff at the Metropole from the lady who changed our sheets to the front desk staff to the restaurant and bar managers were extremely professional, helpful and friendly. We celebrated my husband's birthday in the Met Restaurant, and enjoyed great service, great food and great wine. We were surprised before dinner with Prosecco and after with a plate of petit fours and candle to celebrate the birthday. We could not recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lagoon side have a wonderful view morning noon and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear "Jan G",
I am really proud that your stay and your husband'sd birthday made you happy!
We do believe that special occasions must be celebrated with care and great attention, good memories depend from this as well!!
I will share your nice comment with the staff of the restaurant, they are really attentive and well-instructed, and put everyday great passion in their job.

Thank you so much for writing your comment.

With warm regards.

Gloria Beggiato
Metropole Hotel
Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    295
    84
    31
    23
See reviews for
231
652
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a lovely stay in Venice. The hotel was excellent I found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel had lots of charm and character and was situated in a great location . Just a few minutes from st. marks square and bars and restaurants. We also enjoyed a complementary trip to the murano glass company which we really enjoyed. The room was lovely decorated and had everything we needed. We would love to return to Venice and would definitely stay at the metropole perfect !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a great location . The food in the restaurant was fantastic although a little pricey if your on a budget but I guess thats just Venice. The bar was very Cozy and over looking the grand canal but had a pub feel with a good menu for day time food. Our room was small but Ok for 2/3 day visit, the hotel was very clean and all of the staff were very helpful, in particular the concierge who organised a trip to Murenno to see a glass factory.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week in late September-early October. All the really good things the other contributors have said are true. This is a great hotel in a great location. It has terrific charm and its decor fits perfectly with the notions of almost indulgent opulence that are associated with this historic city. The collections of artefacts on display around the hotel are fascinating and add to the special atmosphere. This is certainly not the place to come if your preference is for the minimalist modern boutique hotel! But there are plenty of those places around nowadays; the Metropole, though, is a one-off.

The Riva degli Schiavoni, upon which the hotel stands, is often very busy with day visitors. As soon as you pass through the hotel doors, however, it feels like walking into a oasis of calm and order. This impression is largely given by the hotel staff who seem to have effortless control over all the functions of the hotel. No one needs to run or shout here. The service we received was very efficient and immediate. For example, there was no waiting for the receptionist to finish with another guest. If we wanted attention when this was happening someone else appeared. At the same time the staff were not so proud of their establishement that they had the sort of imposing presence that stifles the atmosphere of many grand hotels. Instead, it felt like they were in the background allowing us to enjoy the freedom of the place. I suppose this is the essence of what luxury hotels like the Metropole aim for in terms of service but don't always manage to deliver.

We had a suite on the third floor overlooking the Bacino St Marco. Of course the view is amazing and you clearly pay a premium for this. The suite is decorated in middle eastern style with luxury Fortuny furnishings and light fittings. There is a turkish bath (surely unique?) from which you can watch TV or listen to music. The bed is large and comfortable, as was a sitting area. The bathroom was scrupulously clean and beautifully tiled. It has a walk-in shower with seating and it doubles as a sauna. Everything in this place is set up for relaxation and we took the opportunity fully!

The breakfast was a highlight, served in the courtyard or an adjacent room. The breakfast staff were particularly charming. So often hotel breakfasts are functional affairs served with little care and attention. At the Metropole, the opposite is true. We also enjoyed the hotel bar, where we sometimes dined. It is as wonderfully eclectic as the rest of the hotel. The bar manager Bruno is friendly and chatty and the menu is good. I have one criticism (about the only thing that I found to criticise about the hotel), and that is the music in the bar can feel too moody and overbearing. I think this maybe results from trying to be just a bit too cool. Something a little more upbeat and uplifting would create a far better atmosphere.

Not about the hotel but a Venice tip: the shops in Murano all sell awful tourist rubbish. You ask yourself 'is this really the world famous Murano glass?' The answer is no. They keep the stuff that they made their name with in private showrooms upstairs or around the back. Amazing stuff in fact. If you are interested in the real Murano glass, go to a good maker and ask to see the showroom that is not open to the public. And make sure you look like you might spend a lot of money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKIsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I booked our stay with the hotel direct, and had many questions regarding various aspects of our stay, all emails were responded to promptly.
We arrived at the hotel via private water taxi which was the first of many Venetian treats! We were welcomed by Nicola whose customer service skills were nothing short of perfect!
We had a junior suite overlooking the lagoon (Room 119) It was perfect with windows on two sides of the room, the view was amazing! The room was plush and sumptuously decorated. There were lots of extras including shoe shine kits, toothbrushes and toothpaste, a shaving kit, slippers, bathrobes a vanity kit, cotton wool and toiletries.
I had informed the hotel that it was our tenth wedding anniversary and we were given complimentary prosecco, olives and crisps!
After a great nights sleep in our huge bed, we went down to breakfast, which was also amazing! We were welcomed by a very smiley Simona, shown to our table and offered tea or coffee. There was so much choice that we had a four course breakfast!
We stayed for three nights and have been treated like royalty!
The bar is not cheap but the staff are amazing!
The only down sides are that the walls are fairly thin and we had noisy neighbours, and the hairdryer is heavy, so fairly difficult to use.
The location of the hotel is perfect, 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square.
In short, book this hotel, it's well worth every penny. We loved every second, and will always remember enjoying our special occasion in a special place in a wonderful hotel.
Thank you Hotel Metropole! xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaybee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Enter and you are in another world...a magical world filled with enchanting collections and decor... a place you haven't been before. But the real magic is performed by the hotel staff. The front desk is at once welcoming and eager to help in every way. The service at breakfast puts sunshine even in a rainy day. The hotel's MET restaurant is Michelin starred not just for the food but also for the gracious staff. Located in the main tourist area is a plus as we were able to maximize our time and easily discover the magic of Venice. We stayed in a junior suite with garden view - it was comfortable, very nice amenities and quiet. Some rooms require walking up 6 or 7 steps even after the lift ride to the floor...if steps are a problem be sure to mention it when you reserve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nannort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Excellent location, tho in the heart of the tourist area, but the rooms are quiet, and ammenities excellent. The best feature of the hotel is the front desk staff who are very helpful and accommodating - and the bartender, who makes the best martinis with the right amount of flair that I have had anywhere in my travels - and that is saying a great deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#21 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing