We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, great place to stay”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights for our honeymoon. What a wonderful hotel! The building is simple great with all the old feel but new functionality. Staff was helpful in every way we asked and the breakfast was delicious and comprehensive.

Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Recently came back from a 4 day stay here. What a wonderful place. Didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast in the garden & drinks in the bar were delightful. Having looked at some of the other hotels in this class whilst there felt that the Metropole was the best. Really can't recommend this place highly enough, would certainly book to go again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at the Metropole in 21 years and it is even better with time. Senior Bon, the manager, is incredibly helpful and kind. The rooms are all different and gorgeous, some with balconies, some with garden views. Staff is so helpful, multi-lingual. Be sure to take a water taxi to their private canal dock. Two lovely places to eat. Location is outstanding- near St. Marks square without being too crazy and close to vaporetto stands. We absolutely loved it and would recommend it again. Check out packages on various travel sites.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal are noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Metropole Hotel is well situated in Venice. It is close to the main square, St. Marks, as well as shopping and great restaurants, but far enough away from the crowds so that you don't feel overwhelmed. The desk staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was very comfortable and the bar and restaurant were outstanding. I'd highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101 overlooking the canal to the side of the hotel. It was very comfortable and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was the highlight of my europe trip. The staff, the facilities the locaion all perfect. The dining room at the rear of the hotel in the garden was gorgeous as was the luxurious bar in the front of the hotel. The cocktails were made perfectly by delightful staff. In fact all the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived until we left three days later.........I could have stayed a month. Just book it and go you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I did not expect that I can get such a service for that price in Venice. Very clean, excellent location, spectacular view of the lagoon. I am recommending it to every one traveling alone or with family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzaimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Went for my wife's birthday and wedding anniversary combined.
Booked through travel republic but I contacted the hotel direct to ask for a room with a view to celebrate our anniversary.
Received prompt email from Aurelio Bon room division manager confirming they had received the booking and said that a lovely deluxe canal view room had been allocated and also gave advice for water taxi transfer from the airport direct to the hotel private jetty.
Great welcome on arrival, welcome pack with maps etc, shown to a stunning enormous room with 2 king size beds furnished with antiques with a nice view over the canal to the side of the hotel. A great touch was a complementary bottle of prosecco delivered to the room and a happy anniversary message from the staff.
The four night stay was superb the staff were very friendly and helpfull, everybody the reception staff, the bar staff, the cleaners, the breakfast staff all were cheerie, welcoming and a pleasure to talk to.
The breakfast was a treat, high quality produce both hot and cold.
So after days tossing as to which hotel to stay in and trawling review sites etc etc and changing my mind several times I came up trumps, this hotel could not be beaten, so save yourself some time and just book it, if we return to Venice I will just book this Hotel without considering any others.
Thank you Aurelio Bon and the staff of the Metropole

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,600 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#62 of 385 in Venice
1,663 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $219 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing