We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropole Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$438
$405
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$277
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$330
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$394
$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
$294
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
$332
$303
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$494
$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
$360
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveler rating
863
322
90
35
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
322
90
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmet restaurantwater taxigrand canalbeautiful hotellagoon viewriva degli schiavonimark's squarejunior suiteshort walk to stold worldturn down servicemarble bathroomthe location is perfectbreakfast was excellentbreakfast staffmini bardoge's palace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel has a great location and management that takes great interest in making your stay in Venice comfortable. Our room had a terrace with a beautiful view of the grand canal. St. Mark"s Square is right out the front door.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear "Frank E",
thank you very very much for taking time to write your comment and for sharing it with the Tripadvisor community.
Next time you come to Venice I really hope you will choose the Metropole again.

Yours sincerely.

Gloria Beggiato
General Manager & Chief Administrator
Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Hotel Metropole is perfectly located in Venice. It's just a few minutes from San Marco Square, but far enough away that you're not inundated by all the tourists. We took the Allilaguna water "bus" from the airport and had only a short walk from the San Marco stop to reach the hotel. Our room was certainly very nice, if not overly large (it is Europe after all!) with a very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom.

Service was excellent. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing directions to the Rialto Bridge, suggesting restaurants and telling us about their hourly (and complimentary) water taxi to Murano which leaves right from their dock.

A very generous buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and served in a lovely garden. We'd definitely stay here again.

We stayed at hotels in Venice, Florence and Positano. All were very different, but the Metropole was our favorite!

Room Tip: The window in our room 109 opened to the canal on the side of the hotel so we were able to stick out our heads and see boats on the canal and people walking nearby. Because we didn't face the front of the hotel, our room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidgrNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear "DavidgrNY",
I am so glad after reading your comment! Thank you so very much.
Being mentioned as your favourite hotel among all the cities you visited is a really great satisfaction: the effort we make everyday to keep up with the high-level standards is a hard work!
I do hope to welcome you to the Metropole again.
My warmest regards.

Gloria Beggiato
General Manager & Chief Administrator
Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we stayed here to enjoy the" real " venice, we were not disappointed.This family owned hotel was a short walk from the tourist areas of St. Marks,but also convenient to wander the less well known areas. We had a generous breakfast at the hotel in the private gardens, which were calm and peaceful, ready for a days exploration. The hotel has various eccentric collections on display, from corkscrews to ladies fans. The bar lounge provided views over the lagoon and on the side was the landing stage replete with the decorated poles.Antiques are everywhere, if you like modern decor this hotel is not for you. The restaurant was a bit pricey. so we enjoyed the nightly quest to discover a good eatery, we were spoilt for choice.Our tip would be go to the fish market Saturday lunch time, fresh grilled fish,calamari,glass of wine12 euros delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear "Ian115",
I wish to thank you for your nice comment. I am glad you appreciated the position of our Hotel and our antiques collections. Feel free to contact us again in the future, I would be more than glad to welcome you personally next time you come to Venice.

Kindest regards.

Gloria Beggiato
General Manager & Chief Administrator
Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The title of my review says it all. If you are coming to Venice for the first time it's the perfect place to explore from. The rooms are nice, staff attentive and you felt looked after. The place itself has a lot of quirky character and charm. The breakfast courtyard was great, easily the best quality breakfast selection we had in Italy on our tour and the breakfast staff were lovely. I can't stress how good the location is.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear "Dan P.",
I have just shown your nice comment to my staff, in particular to the breakfast department, so from us all please accept our most sincere thanks for what you wrote.
I wait for you at the Metropole next time you come back to Venice so that I will have the chance to personally meet and thank you.

Yours sincerely.

Gloria Beggiato
General Manager & Chief Administrator
Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Metropole is a first class, luxurious Venice experience. Service is outstanding with great attention to detail. We stayed 2 nights in a junior suite and enjoyed the size of the room and bathroom and the lovely extra touches - the turn down service, lovely bathroom amenities, welcome letter and surprise bottle of champagne for our wedding anniversary, complementary transport to Murano and the gorgeous breakfast. The hotel is perfectly located on the grand canal with water taxi access in the small canal on the side of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cola125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleVeniceItaly, Proprietario at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear "Cola125",
it is thanks to comments like yours that we find always new enthusiasm in our job!
Thank you so much for your kindness.
Beyond a high-quality service that we want to maintain every day in every aspect of the Hotel, we think that even the smallest attention towards a guest can be relevant for the overall perception and to enhance even a short stay.
Moreover, we are extremely lucky because we also benefit from a most favourable position and spectacular views of the lagoon, so we have the chance to offer to our guests the magic of this city, where I really hope to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you again.

Gloria Beggiato
General Manager & Chief Administrator
Metropole Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews