We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Our Italy Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #46 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best of Our Italy Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in Rome, Florence, and Venice in hotels of the samer rating an the Metropole was BY FAR the best of the bunch. We weren't enamoured with Venice as a whole, but the hotel was great and the staff was incredible. I was overwhelmed by tourists all over Venice, but the staff at Metropole was the friendliest in Italy and they made us totally comfortable. The room was great and the food and drink excellent.

Room Tip: I would recommend a higher floor, as you must keep the windows open to stay cool and it can get quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGREENW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    289
    81
    31
    23
See reviews for
229
632
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at the Metropole for three nights in October 2011. Since our flight arrived in the evening we organised a pickup from the hotel, which was a great experience arriving at the Metropole's own little jetty in a canal off the grand canal. The room was nice, with a great bathroom. We had a balcony with views across the grand canal, which made our stay there unforgetable. The staff at the reception desk are very friendly and helpful. The complemtary water taxi to Murano islan was great.
Highly recommended hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aus_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband spent the week there to celebrate my birthday. It was our first visit, we usually stay at the Danielli. This hotel was perfect. The staff kind and helpful, and not grumpy and suffering from tourism burnout, as they do at the Danielli. Everyone was cheerful, service spot on and the breakfast and bar wonderful. I was very surprised to see we got such a large and well appointed room without having upgraded. This place is a class act among a lot of others that really make a tourist feel exploited. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born2Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just fantastic, Really nice looking, very very cool!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bentonville, ar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8zUo7-lmHQ&feature=related

A jewel.
The Metropole is one of the jewels in the crown of five star Venetian Hotels. It is visually stunning with a location that is prime. Staff is courteous, helpful and well informed. The Metropole is expensive but worth every euro; balcony and terrace rooms are worth the extra. My Youtube video of the common rooms is attached to the top of this review.

Room Tip: Balcony and terrace rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milesfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel is very well-located, three bridges from St Mark's Square. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The buffette breakfast can be taken in their lovely garden and transport to the airport by water taxi is convenient, if very expensive at 110 euros. The staff are helpful but our room was not ready till 2 p.m.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank InesitaNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

My son and I just returned from a three week trip to Europe (England, Paris, Berlin, Venice & Barcelona). Of all the places we stayed, the Hotel Metropole and Venice were the most magical! The hotel is EVERYTHING that I expected a hotel in Venice to be. The lounge area is sumptuous AND relaxing. The garden terrace was an oasis to enjoy coffee in the AM or drinks in the PM. Our room was comfortable and had a lovely view of the lagoon. Located right around the corner from St. Mark's Square, the hotel was in the center of the action. My favorite spot to relax was the vaporetto stop on the side canal. The staff couldn't have been MORE accommodating-arranging water taxis to Murano or suggesting dinner spots (be sure to try Osteria Oliva Nera-one of the BEST meals of my life!). I CAN"T wait to return to Venice and the Hotel Metropole!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#41 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#42 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#51 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing