We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Room was spacious in comparison to other hotels in Italy.
Furnishings were definately in style with Venice
WiFi was a hit and miss depending on where you were standing in our room.
Location was good for your stay in Venice
Breakfast was typical italian style
boiled eggs, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, bread etc
nothing flash but filled the tummy.
Friendly staff throughout
And everything was very clean although a bit dated.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank witchypooMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    1,177
    431
    145
    82
See reviews for
448
1,552
54
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the end of April for 3 nights. Lovely hotel and the staff are polite and extremely helpful.
The breakfast was good although a little limited. The rooftop bar is wonderful, relaxing with fab views.
Our room which was a triple was spacious and very comfortable.
Would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities.
Overall a lovely stay a really good location.
We booked the water taxi from the airport which dropped us at the door so great for arrival. We then got the bus back which is only a short walk and 2 bridges with steps to cross..

Room Tip: The triple room was more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Overall, the hotel was acceptable for the weekend I was there. I expected much more, however, for the price that we paid. I am aware that Venice is expensive, but this seemed ridiculous for what was offered.

Cons: *Website advertises air-conditioning. What they don't state is that air-conditioning is only offered in July and August. We stayed in May, which was a great time to tour the city in regards to weather, but in a small closed room with no windows, it was quite warm and uncomfortably warm in the bathroom. * Bed is not comfortable - very basic and somewhat hard. * No clock in the room *Breakfast looks nice at first glance, but the fruit was not ripe enough to eat and the bread was stale.

Pros: *Location was good, but not excellent. Was on the grand canal, but a 45 min walk to San Marco or a €7 water taxi fee 1 way per person. * Italian decor * Staff was friendly *Small safe in room.

If staying Venice again, I would stay in other locations next so I could make a better comparison.

Room Tip: If travelling during non-air-condition months, request a room with a window. Do not get a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyMarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel looks impressive as you approach and it is in a great location. Overall the hotel is perfectly acceptable for your stay in Venice, after all you are not going to spend much time in it. The rooms are typically Italian, reasonable size, dated and poor bathrooms that are well past there sell by date, however the hotel was clean and all of the staff that we encountered spoke English and were helpfull. Another reviewer mentioned the sky bar had erratic opening hours, well it was never open during the four days that we were there which I found disappointing as it was one of the reaons for booking the hotel!! Having said that it looked alright when we went up there and looked through the window. The hotel is in an excellent location, the walk through the alley waays to Rialto and St marks Square is fantastic and this area has more locals and less crowds in it. The local restaurants are also excellent and significantly cheaper than those closer to St Marks and Rialto. All in all I recommend this hotel which trys hard and by and large succeeds, just remember that the building is old and the amenities are not modern,.

Room Tip: A courtroom view is perfectly adequate and much quiter and cheaper than overlooking the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for a night before going on a cruise. It is a great location, easy access to Piazza Roma (Bus station inc. airport transfers, People Mover to port & water buses to St. Marks Square) Room was a good size, clean and nicely decorated in a Venetian style, only criticism was our bathroom had no shower, just a bath. Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice and the service was very good. Teh Reception staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is very near to the train and bus stations. The hotel staffs were helpful. The cleanness and breakfast was OK. The rooms were little small and not suitable for two persons and families. I uses to stay in the other hotels in Venice and to be sure that the standard size might be different. But, our our overall experience was good, as the hotel staffs were nice and hotel located in a very live area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrusdgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located as it's just across from the station. The building is typically Venetian and in good overall condition. The roof terrace is really very good and worth a visit. We chose the standard rooms which were more than adequate for our purposes. They were a decent size, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was great to find that a safe was provided in the room which wasn't charged extra for! Breakfast was great with plenty of choice though understandably very busy if you arrived at the wrong time! Most of the staff were really very friendly, helpful and appeared to be interested in making our stay a pleasant one. However, I've read some comments about hotel staff and the only exception was one of the reception staff (bald head with no name badge!) who was rude and ignorant to us on a couple of occasions so if we wanted anything we simply waited until he wasn't there! Overall, a really nice hotel with many good points and we would definitely stay there again providing we could avoid 'that receptionist'!

Room Tip: The standard rooms seem to offer good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,298 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#167 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#166 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing