We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Nearby Hotels
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mercurio Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$287
$260
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,614
$1,291
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$822
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,189 results
Traveler rating
964
1,415
531
175
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
1,415
531
175
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgrand canalrooftop barwater busacross the bridgepiazzale romalovely hotelarriving by trainrooms are smallvenetian stylemarco polo airportpeople movergondola rideideal locationst marks squaresuperior roomhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 3,189 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel looks impressive as you approach and it is in a great location. Overall the hotel is perfectly acceptable for your stay in Venice, after all you are not going to spend much time in it. The rooms are typically Italian, reasonable size, dated and poor bathrooms that are well past there sell by date, however the hotel was clean and all of the staff that we encountered spoke English and were helpfull. Another reviewer mentioned the sky bar had erratic opening hours, well it was never open during the four days that we were there which I found disappointing as it was one of the reaons for booking the hotel!! Having said that it looked alright when we went up there and looked through the window. The hotel is in an excellent location, the walk through the alley waays to Rialto and St marks Square is fantastic and this area has more locals and less crowds in it. The local restaurants are also excellent and significantly cheaper than those closer to St Marks and Rialto. All in all I recommend this hotel which trys hard and by and large succeeds, just remember that the building is old and the amenities are not modern,.

Room Tip: A courtroom view is perfectly adequate and much quiter and cheaper than overlooking the Grand Canal
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for a night before going on a cruise. It is a great location, easy access to Piazza Roma (Bus station inc. airport transfers, People Mover to port & water buses to St. Marks Square) Room was a good size, clean and nicely decorated in a Venetian style, only criticism was our bathroom had no shower, just a bath. Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice and the service was very good. Teh Reception staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is very near to the train and bus stations. The hotel staffs were helpful. The cleanness and breakfast was OK. The rooms were little small and not suitable for two persons and families. I uses to stay in the other hotels in Venice and to be sure that the standard size might be different. But, our our overall experience was good, as the hotel staffs were nice and hotel located in a very live area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyrusdgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located as it's just across from the station. The building is typically Venetian and in good overall condition. The roof terrace is really very good and worth a visit. We chose the standard rooms which were more than adequate for our purposes. They were a decent size, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was great to find that a safe was provided in the room which wasn't charged extra for! Breakfast was great with plenty of choice though understandably very busy if you arrived at the wrong time! Most of the staff were really very friendly, helpful and appeared to be interested in making our stay a pleasant one. However, I've read some comments about hotel staff and the only exception was one of the reception staff (bald head with no name badge!) who was rude and ignorant to us on a couple of occasions so if we wanted anything we simply waited until he wasn't there! Overall, a really nice hotel with many good points and we would definitely stay there again providing we could avoid 'that receptionist'!

Room Tip: The standard rooms seem to offer good value.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient position, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and across the road from the boat bus and railway station. Our room was large and nicely furnished though the bathroom could certainly do with some updating, the towels and bed linen were changed every day.However the breakfast was very disappointing, cold scambled egg, poor choice of cold cuts and fruit, I certainly would have expected higher quality and more choice. The staff were very friendly which unfortunately is more than can be said for most of the waiters in the restaurants in Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews