We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Rooftop Bar on Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #139 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The best was the rooftop bar, a great view, modern and beautifully designed, good drinks. Had one of the rare large rooms for three as our daughter was with us. Very 'old Venice' feeling and decor yet clean, updated and convent. Loved it! Breakfast was great, staff was friendly and efficient. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank udannefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 3,076 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'll start by saying these days every company makes or has a great product. ( so they claim) However the way I separate companies that have a great product. Is how they react when there is a problem. There was a problem with the middleman between Delta Vacation and The Carlton. They simply did not pay the hotel for our stay( room) and because we were on a cruise the hotel couldn't get a hold of us. We were gone for 20 plus days. They had every right to give our room to someone else. We didn't know there was a problem until we walk thru the lobby. They didn't even act like there was a problem until after we checked in. They were very polite and discretely explained the problem at which point instead of arguing with them like some people would have, I gave them a c.c. and said no problem after all it wasn't their fault. We were even laughing and joking as I left the front desk area. What makes this so special is it wasn't management I was talking to. It was desk clerks. They could have said in front of everyone " We have a problem with you room payment, or Sorry we have NO room and couldn't get a hold of you.
As far as the hotel itself, very good breakfast buffet, very clean room and hotel. Hotel is virtually as soon as you get off the water taxi or gondola and not that far from the cruise ship. ( however it's better to take a water taxi to the ship. It's across the bridge from the train station. Overall great food, good location and Damn Good Customer Service. Why not a 5 because I couldn't get them to pay for our room. I contacted Delta Vacation right a way. They also stepped up contacted the hotel, took the charge of our c.c. and made up for the inconvenience. They to could've said "sorry Mr. Stewart we'll have to wait until you turn in your receipts to reimburse you"

Room Tip: We had the second floor facing the top of the church. It was nice and quiet comfortable and it was k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

we booked this package with BA as a late deal and was very pleasantly surprised after reading very mixed reviews we found the hotel very clean and staff were welcoming and friendly the room we had was very comfortable and adequate for what you need from a hotel room the beds were two single pushed together but they were comfortable the bathroom was clean a little dated
in areas. Breakfast tasted better than it looked scrambled eggs was a little runny but tasted good
plenty of cereal, toast, fresh fruit, cheese and meats, tea, coffee, fresh juice. The hotels location is brilliant it has its own jetty for water taxi so no walking with cases, The hotel is also in walking distance of all attractions it has a water bus stop very near if you don't want to walk the hotel reception was very helpful with tourist information and maps the food in the hotel restaurant was nice but expensive there are plenty of restaurants and café bars in the area especially if you walk over the bridge to the right over the canal we found a small family run restaurant called vattario food was excellent overall we had a fantastic time and will definitely return to this hotel and venice

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bladerunnerSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Really enjoyed our trip and loved the little courtyard that our room was located off offering privacy and away from any noise in the hotel. Room was clean and basic no special extras that you would expect from a 4 star hotel though.

Room Tip: if you are a smoker I ould recommend asking for a room off the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife booked this hotel for us for my 50th birthday. The location is brilliant, straight out of the train staion, over the bride and there you are. We had a room facing the grand canal with the Gondola's parked in front of our hotel. The room was small but adequate for what we needed. You do pay a premium for this hotel, but it was a special occasion and was worth the extra. If we returned to Venice we would look elsewhere, only because of the price.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HambledonHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel is supposed to be 4 star but I would rate it as 2,5. It's charming enough and the lobby area and the bar is beautifully furnished, old style, but the rooms are small and rather old. Bathroom was ok but taps and fixtures looked as if they were about 20 years old.... also the drain in the bath was not in very good condition - it took a while for the water to drain.

Cleanliness wasn't as would be expected of a 4 star hotel either. Hairs on the bathroom floor etc.

We had a room facing the canal which was quite noisy during the night and early morning.

The reception staff was not friendly or serviceminded when checking in, but other staff were friendly enough.

Price for a glass of wine in the bar was 7 € (compared to 2 € for a glass in a bar nearby, equally good).

No wifi in the rooms.

The best thing was the location, if what you want is to be close to the train station and to be able to walk to the bus or taxi station to get to the airport. (Getting a taxi boat to the airport is very expensive, €110).

It was ok, but definitely not 4-star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Disappointing!
In a four star hotel with „Carlton“ in it’s name, you would expect reliability in booking, a friendly and qualified staff and conveniences that make every stay a pleasure. Little of that did we find in the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal. The location - right opposite the train station - is one of the most trafficked places in the whole town. Our booked superior double room turned out to be an average twin room with a large gap between the two beds. The receptionist promised to find us an appropriate room but never really cared about it. In the bar one can enjoy flatscreen football while sipping carelessly mixed drinks. At high prices. All of this really brings into question the „four stars“.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toury_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,914 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,933 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 387 in Venice
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#149 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $94 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing