We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Nearby Hotels
$336
$260
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mercurio Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
$122
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$270
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
$206
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$286
$271
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$301
$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Savoia & Jolanda(Venice)
$256
$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,614
$1,291
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$822
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,189 results
Traveler rating
964
1,415
531
175
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
1,415
531
175
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgrand canalrooftop barwater busacross the bridgepiazzale romalovely hotelarriving by trainrooms are smallvenetian stylemarco polo airportpeople movergondola rideideal locationst marks squaresuperior roomhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 3,189 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our first time in Venice, A surprise journey for my girlfriend. I had planned to propose her during our stay and had asked hotel's staff to help me organise the surprise proposal and they were absolutely brilliant and made that day very special for us.
Hotel itself is located very conveniently on the grand canal, near main bus stop, train station and water taxi stand ( all few minutes walk ), Someone here at tripadviser said that grand canal is like M25 and its absolutely right so if u want peaceful roon then dont ask for canal view.
Hotel is kept very clean and staff are helpful and friendly ( few more then the others).. Downside of this hotel? well, breakfast is bit disappointing and no tea and coffe making facilty in the room, while hotel's cup of coffees are tiny and expensive but then again in Venice everything is very very expansive, but beautiful city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kopitSouthend_on_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A handy location if arriving at the Piazzale Roma or the main train station, the Carlton is a quaint hotel with high standards.

Check-in was effortless and staff very attentive and helpful. Breakfast is a simple buffet affair but good quality and lots of choice.Rooms are comfortable if a little dated. The furnishings are perfectly fine but not the most up to date.

The location is a good 15-20 minutes walk to the Rialto bridge and a little further for Piazza San Marco but as half of the fun of Venice is exploring the streets and alleyways, this was not a problem for us!

Room Tip: A view of the Grand Canal would be nice but
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our honeymoon trip started with Venice, we were hoping to find a nice hotel (Overpriced hotels) with a good view. The hotel is ok, the rooms are fairly small and given the price not true value as made out to be by other review.

Our stay was pleasant though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kabirsahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived in Venice the day before our cruise boarded so that we could get a feel for the city and gauge how many days to spend on a return trip. Because we had only one night, we booked a room at Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal, just a 5-minute walk from the Pizzale Roma bus station where the People Mover is located to whisk you to the cruise terminal. The Hotel Carlton is located 2 hotels east of the bus station, directly across the footbridge to the train station. I cannot imagine a more convenient location for cruisers. The cost was $300 USD per night, but, hey, we are in VENICE for crying out loud, how can you NOT stay on the Grand Canal?

AIRPORT TO THE HOTEL CARLTON: We booked a shared water taxi on-line for 27 Euros each (54 euros for two). http://www.venicelink.com/ A wonderful experience! They whisked us right to the DOCK of the Hotel Carlton What a ride!

We have read TripAdvisor reviews on the Hotel Carlton complaining that the rooms were too small and the views out the windows unsatisfactory. We booked the least expensive room via TripAdvisor price-comparison service (Hotels.com or Bookings.com or some-such) and found our room more than adequate (and we own a Bed and Breakfast in San Diego and are very fussy).

The check-in process at Hotel Carlton was efficient, warm and cordial. The lobby and breakfast area was elegantly decorated and furnished. Our quiet room on the side of the hotel was spacious enough for 4 suitcases and a queen bed with room to spare. The walls soundproofed covered by a rich fabric brocade giving it an old world elegance. The windows actually opened so that we could bring the sounds and smells of Venice into the room. The Murano Glass Chandelier was feature typical of the tasteful décor. The spotless all-marble bathroom was beautiful with new modern fixtures, great bath and shower.

The free, full breakfast was far more than we expected with a big buffet of hot and cold food;, particularly unexpected (and delicious) was the rich coffee with steamed milk (cappuccino) brought to our table by a warm and accommodating staff. The 4 cups of coffee alone would have cost $20 anywhere else in Venice! As Siskel and Ebert used to say, Two Thumbs Up!

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner next door at Ristorante Da Nino, right on the Grand Canal. The waiters don't speak much English, but, hey, that's half the fun! The food is genuine Venetian. Ann's Shrimp was awesome, and Terry's olive oil and garlic spaghetti was to die for.

The Hotel Carlton will check your baggage for you until you decide to embark. Check out time was, I think, noon, so we spent the morning walking walking walking and came back to the hotel at 11 a.m. to pack and check out. We walked our bags over two bridges to the Pizzale Roma and the People Mover, then pulled them from the People Move to the NCL Spirit and we were off on a 12 day adventure cruise after a wonderful beginning at the Hotel Carlton.

Room Tip: The room was clean and modern. Who cares about the view? We were in VENICE! All we did was walk and walk and look and look until we fell into bed! The hotel location is phenomenal.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

As with most things in Venice, the hotels aren't particularly cheap, however we managed to pick up a late deal with flights and 4 night at the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal in Venice.

We'd done some reading up on the hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. Not all the rooms have canal or courtyard views and we hand a 'double' room which only had a small window that opened onto an internal area (not a courtyard) but did allow fresh air and some light, but being an older building not everything is to modern expectations.

The bathroom was clean and tidy, although what prompted the choice of tiling I'll never quite understand! In contrast the room was decorated to a high standard, with fabric wall coverings and Murano style light and period furniture. The bed was two singles, but made up as a double, which is fairly typical of European destinations. They do apparently have double matresses in the hotel, but as both beds were the same height (believe it or not, we've stayed in some European hotels where they can't even get that right!) we were happy with the room.

While we were there Venice experienced its biannual high tide, which coupled with a heavy rain storm meant that when we awoke on Sunday morning and went down for breakfast we were met with a surprise! As we sat and ate breakfast the rising tide joined us.... The staff were fantastic, keeping disruption to a minimum, assisting guests who had flights to catch in getting out the the hotel via a makeshift gangway onto the canal and awaiting river taxis, while others simply donned wellington boots and carried on serving breakfast. By the time we had finished breakfast the water was about a foot deep outside the hotel front door, and a couple of inches deep inside.

We retired to our room and waited for the tide to go out. By lunchtime it was OK to leave the hotel, without the need for boots or boats and by the time we returned in the evening you'd never have known that anything had happened. All the furniture was back where it belonged, the floors were dried and and it was business as usual.

Breakfast was a continental style buffet, with bacon, scrambled eggs as well.

As far as location goes, we felt it was perfectly placed for exploring Venice. We arrived by bus from the airport (€13 return) which drops you in the main plaza a short walk (3-5 mins) from the hotel. Note, you do need to cross a couple of bridges to get to the hotel, but then in Venice, getting anywhere involves crossing several bridges, several times. Keeps you fit! Opposite the hotel was the train station. We took a train to Verona (2 hours 15 mins - €7 each way) You can get a faster train, but it costs 3 times as much and doesn't save a great deal of time on the journey. Outside the station are the water boat stations. A 72 hour pass cost €35 - a single trip €7 - if you're going to make several journeys then getting multi-day pass makes good sense.

The boats run the full length of the Grand Canal and beyond. A must do if you have time is to visit the islands of Murano (famous for its glass) Burano (biscuits and lace) and Torcello. Each has a unique character, but for pure charm and beauty I found Burano hard to beat, with it's quaint coloured houses lining the canals and varied gift shots.

All in all a great stay at a nice hotel. I'd definitely stay again, although I think I'd look to book a room with a view next time around.

Note, there is now a Tourist Tax (€4 per person per night) payable on checkout which has just been introduced.

Room Tip: Splash out - go for a room with a view of the canal
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smurf4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews