We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and much better than expected”
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #162 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location and much better than expected”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise. Great location, a short walk from the bus terminal and train station. We had room 316 with a fantastic balcony and views of the canal. The decor and comfort of the room (& bed) was all great and room was of a good size. Breakfast was fine if a bit of a free for all! Great location to explore the city and much preferred than the overrun St Marks area. If we come back to Venice we would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    854
    379
    156
    119
See reviews for
363
1,105
71
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

For some reason I wasn't expecting much from this hotel and my expectations were not raised. The lobby and front desk are all very nice but the staff at the desk could be friendlier and a little more helpful. The room was small (as expected) but the bathroom size was okay except for the really strange tub. It was small by American standards and had a raised seat in the back. It made it almost impossible to stand in the front of the tub and was very precarious if you stood on the raised portion. It's an accident waiting to happen. The room was hot as there was no air conditioning. We opened the windows to try for a breeze but at night, the room was lit up like a Christmas tree from the hall windows that faced the room. Everyday the maid would close the windows making the room very hot and stuffy by the time we came back from sightseeing in the afternoon. Our view from the window was two ugly walls, the windows from an adjacent room and the hall windows. I could have lived with that but it was just so hot in there. The breakfast was okay - certainly adequate. It did get crowded especially around the two coffee machines and the food was not always restocked right away. The location was good - close to the train station and water taxi stands. I think the worse thing though about the hotel was the beds. It was like sleeping on a concrete slab with another concrete slab for a pillow.

Room Tip: I don't know where the good rooms might have been so ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBeachLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having arrived at the hotel by water taxi we had a pretty fair of a walk from the stop so first advice would be to pay for a private water taxi this costs around 110 euros this will take you straight to the Jetty of the hotel . On arrival we saw that it was in traditional Venetian style decor with bits of modern furniture about large reception and meeting area and friendly staff our check in was fast and we had no problems we paid for a canal view room which we had it was large and in the old Venetian style we had room 315 it can get rather noisy on the canal through the night it was clean and tidy but could do with a refurbishment as the bath was a little worn but apart from that it was fine with tv and internet but no English channels but as you don't go to spend your days in the room it's not an issue
There was a breakfast buffet every morning which included bacon and eggs and continental too

Which was good to fill up with to start your day

Room Tip: Front view rooms are nice room 335 which is at the rear is slightly smaller but has has a patio tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliemay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Historic = Old with dis functional smelly plumbing
Cosy = small room with even smaller bathrooms, I had to open the shower door to bend down to was feet and legs
Central = Noisy street party noise was terrible
This was our first time in this hotel next time we will be staying elsewhere, there are much nicer hotels on the other side of the Grand Hotel which provide much easier walking access to the important Venice landmarks

Room Tip: The fifth floor is only accessible via stairs from the forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJA_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Although lacking some 4 star amenities, this hotel is fantastic. Great location, very close to train station and water bus terminal, also not very far from bus station. I agree that the room especially felt old, but that's the charm. If it will be renovated, then I'll recommend to keep the room style, i.e. not changing it into modern minimalist style.
We were very lucky to find this hotel. Considering our budget, at first we were looking for a 2 or 3 star hotel near the train station, unfortunately nothings are match. Choosing this hotel, we thought we will ended up in their smallest room, since the price is not too different from some 3 star hotel nearby. But what a surprise, it was a spacious room, the baby cot was ready, it also has a big sofa that could be transformed into a bed. The bathroom was also very big, with a bathtub! Our room only has one window that faced the inner yard, no canal view, but still this is such a wonderful place to stay.
Breakfast was complete and adequate (a 4 star elsewhere would be having more option), they also provide baby chair. Travelling with a baby, we ask for hot water from the restaurant and they provided it anytime, no problem. The restaurant has a patio that connect to canal grande, a nice place to enjoy the view.
The wifi is good, even though you need to log in again every time you're back to the hotel. We can store our luggage for some time after checkout.
Definitely will stay at this hotel again if we're back to Venice.

Room Tip: Our room was 215, very recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajenkneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were allocated this Hotel as part of our 4 day guided tour of Venice.

Great location for train station, water taxis and eateries, and within reasonable walking distance of St Mark's Square.

Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were fine. We had no problems, but room allocation may be a lottery,as some of our fellow travellers had small rooms.

Room Tip: As this Hotel appears to have many rooms. It may be worth asking staff if you want particular requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip in Italy. We were very excited when we arrived and saw the beautiful lobby and the restaurant over looking the grand canal. When we got to our room (136) we were very disappointed to find that it was no bigger than a closet. The rooms are very old. I appreciate the Venice charm but the gold bedspreads and VERY small shower were unappealing at best. My husband hardly fit in the shower! I opened the window (which over looked an alley) for less than 5 minutes and quickly shut it when I realized the ceiling was covered with mosquitos. I will say that the front desk was very helpful when I contacted them. They sent someone to "take care" of the bugs and they were gone when we returned from lunch. I learned my lesson and didn't open the window again but the rooms were VERY hot and we were told we couldn't use the air conditioning until May 1st. This wasn't very helpful since we were there in April. We made the best out of it since we weren't in the room very much. On the bright side the hotel is an excellent location but I wish we would have spent the extra money so we were more comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Missyal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#165 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#166 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#191 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#80 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Property: Hotel Principe
Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing