We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #168 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel and we had an excellent stay. The rooms were comfortable, clean and furnished well. The view of the canal was amazing. The hotel staff were very helpful with information on city events. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    845
    373
    156
    119
See reviews for
360
1,087
70
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Above average in general. Nice room but little, good breakfast (didn't have to pay extra for english breakfast), clean and super central to all the main atractions and transports. Staff could be friendlier.
All and all it's okay for a couple of days visiting Venezia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first night stay at Italy. We were robbed of our bag with passport and few valuables at the Venice Airport. Once we reached the hotel, the hotel was only interested in getting our passport in spite of telling them about the incident. Finally we submitted the police complaint copy and went to the room.
The room was like a match box. The price they charged for this was exorbitant. There was hardly any space to move around. They had combined two twin beds, when we had clearly asked for a queen size bed.
The bathroom was right under a staircase, I could barely stand while taking a shower!!!

The consolation about the hotel is that it's close to railway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bharath_Satyaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed twice at this lovely hotel. Love it's charm! Yes, the rooms are small as one expects in Europe but one spends so little time there anyway. It is close to a vaporetto stop and walking to anywhere in Venice is quite possible from this hotel if you are in reasonable shape. Stayed here with my husband. We ate breakfast at the hotel as I believe it was part of our package. Thought the food choices of the small buffet were very nice. Also must say we preferred to travel especially to Europe during low season as it is less crowded. We have been here during the months of October and November, approximately 5 and 7 years ago. We were here even during Acqua Alta and had a blast! Bring water proof boots! Hint: ride vaporetto and get off on a random stop and walk until you are far away from the tourista restaurants. I guarantee you will have the best dinner of your life! (the menus will only be in Italian!!!) if you don't speak Italian just point!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lovely hotel - second time we have stayed there - good service from very polite staff and we were given a canal view without even requesting one. Excellent restaurant although our room was a bit small. Beware however that Venice is now outpricing itself - eat in the hotel - the surrounding restaurants charge you for sitting down - even for just a coffee!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraWashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I loved this hotel - it is old, could probably do with some updating - but it has old world elegance and character. The best part is that it is right on the Grande Canal. Fabulously central on foot or water taxi. Close to a bridge to quick access on foot to other side of canal.
What was provided:
Hairdryer
Safe
Free Wi-Fi in room

Negatives:
Very hard beds
Old building, so floors aren't level (did not worry me)
No tea/coffee facilities in room
No fridge
No iron

Breakfast adequate, but not great - limited choices.

Room Tip: For a relatively quieter room - ask for canal facing. Venice never sleeps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

According to the manager, this hotel has 6 superior rooms with balcony (grand canal views). These superior rooms are on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors (2 on each floor). After our travel agent booked two classic rooms without view for four of us, we paid extra 40 euros per room per night to upgrade from ordinary classic rooms to superior rooms with balcony (i.e., room 316 and 318). Please see uploaded photos for floor plan and views from balcony. Fantastic views!
Opposite to the hotel (50 meters west) is Quanto Basta where you can buy delicious pizza, kebab (chicken and turkey meat combo), Italian pastries and gelato (ice cream) from Mama Adriana and her lovely daughter Marta at very reasonable price. They open until midnight. If you want inexpensive pasta, try 1615 Times Cafe, which is just 400 meters east of the hotel.
If you run out of euros, the friendly front desk can exchange with you. I am glad that we ate at these less expensive nearby restaurants, putting the savings from meals to pay for the better views at the hotel.

Room Tip: pay extra to enjoy the views. rooms 316, 318 have balcony for grand canal view. similar superior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#108 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#167 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#185 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#76 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Property: Hotel Principe
Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing