We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Libreria Acqua Alta

Libreria Acqua Alta
Book In Advance
More Info
$428.62*
and up
Private Tour: Beyond Saint Mark's Square Hidden Venice Walking Tour
Ranked #23 of 586 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Can not believe that we stumbled across this beauty while winding our way through town!
This book shop has an overwhelming amount of books stacked through out the building. There is a fabulous outside area as well.
The gentleman that runs the book shop is very friendly and chatted away to us.
Fantastic place to see!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KarynBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    374
    79
    20
    26
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A rare find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My kinda bookshop. Books are piled high on creaking shelves, kept in canoes (strange, but it works) and even form a staircase out the back.

A perfect place for folk who like to rummage for a good find. A big place, with friendly staff and nice cat.

Fantastic shop. Well worth a visit. Just be prepared to take your time.

Helpful?
2 Thank GingerMedievalist
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eccentric and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Found this bookshop by accident, could have spent hours in there. The owner is very friendly, very Italian, very eccentric and so is the shop. It gets flooded regularly but the books don't often get damaged as he has them just high enough off the floor - on shelves, gondalas and boats. At the back there are steps made of books - what else- that you can climb to look over the wall into the canal behind the shop. And the book collection - there is everything !! Didn't see any cats though, which was a bonus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank linpinGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bookshop?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Don't go there expecting to see a regular bookshop, but it's a must for those who like weird libraries and cats.

Helpful?
3 Thank ferra42
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have visited twice, sorry it was so good I went back twice on a previous trip. So three times! The owner is charming, the cats drowsy and the bookshop itself as intriguing and interesting as some museums I have visited. I never fail to buy something in English or Italian. The whole place is quirky, eccentric and I have to say exciting. The place brings a smile to my place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thosthetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libreria Acqua Alta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Libreria Acqua Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing