We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning apartment in Venice in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Bailo di Venezia
Ranked #52 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family of 4 including two teenagers (age 13 and 15) stayed in their family apartment with two bedrooms (one with King and the other twin beds) and two full bathrooms and we loved this apartment! The apartment was beautiful and very functional. We felt like we were in a luxury hotel (but there's no daily house cleaning). Unlike other apartments, there was someone at the reception (Guido) most of the time who could offer dinner suggestions and other recommendations. Reception doesn't stay open very late (only to 4pm) though but they had clear directions on how to get to the apartment and left a code and keys to get in so there were no issues. The location was not too far from St Mark's Square but far enough away to out of the main traffic in Venice that it did not feel busy. My husband and I enjoyed cappuccino and croissants every morning just around the corner at a local place and there were many lovely shops close by and an amaziing place for gelato. There are tons of restaurants within walking distance. There's nothing more I can except I would definitely recommend this apartment and would no stay anywhere else next time we're in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulyCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely apartment with a great location, close to St Marks and The Rialto bridge but a bit of the beaten track that it is quiet.
Guido was very nice and helpful. Would recommend especialy for a family.,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

i would definitely recommend this apartment. We were four girls;Two stayed in the master bedroom with a king bed (own bathroom) and the other two stayed in the living area (two comfortable single beds). there's a safe, and a complete kitchen with a dishwasher. it's a very spacious apartment and super clean, i would also try to get the ground apartment overlooking the water next to the reception desk. we use to open the big window and literally talk to the people outside.
The real Gem of this place is the manager Guido.. the friendliest most helpful guy out there. He has a ton of recommendations to spend a few minutes with him to come up with a plan. The apartment is in a quite area yet very very close to all the action. So you get the best of the two worlds. the walk to the square is only 10 minutes. and there are a couple of restaurants on the same street a couple of minutes away and a coffeehouse where you can get water, coffee on the go. one thing i didn't like was that the apartment didn't have an iron or an iron board. so get a small iron with you. Although i did see a small shop next to the apartment that sold mini irons.
The breakfast included is more of a snack really. (spacial toast packets or toasted biscuits with Nutella and jam).
you honestly don't need a taxi to get there but it is definitely worth it if you don't have the patience or time to get lost... prepare to get lost a lot in Venice but that's half the fun. if you get off at saint Zaccaria station. you will find a small underway (like a tunnel) across from the station between a corner restaurant and a gift shop (it's very small so pay attention)... then you'll be in an open courtyard.. you will have to turn left, then turn right at the coffee shop on the corner. continue straight and enjoy the small shops on the left and right until you reach the last bridge, where you'll have to turn left. (next to the coffee shop i mentioned). continue straight and it'll be the building next to the police station almost to the end of the street across from another white bridge. to sum up, if you are looking for a hotel experience with a lobby and breakfast area.. this is not the place, but if you are looking for a clean, roomy place to sleep and hangout together with a local feel this is the right place. P.S the outlets are the 3 round pin ones like this (http://selectitaly.com/images/travel-guide/italy-plug-adapter.png) but the two round pins also work. Also, one recommendation is to bring with you a non disposable coffee cup like this (http://gogreentravelgreen.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/notapapercup.jpg). most of the coffee shops don't have to go cups and the portions are really small. i loved grabbing a coffee and a pastry and enjoying my breakfast on one of the bridges or on the water.

Room Tip: 101 the ground floor. next to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nawwarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice apartments which are well furnished, including a dishwasher. The air conditioning is very powerful and provided great respite from the searing heat of Venice in July. In a perfect world we would have had a balcony when actually we had no view but this didn't concern us unduly.

Location is perfect. Peaceful area for a great nights sleep yet only a couple of minutes from the throng.

Jams, biscuits etc were very welcome and, yes, Guido is a cool guy.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony that opens out to the canal.Fantastic view-I have ticked off one item on my bucket list-to live in a gorgeous place on the canals of Venice.Grazie,Guido! There was no smell at all from the canal.It is on a quiet alley but not too quiet that it's eerie. Just up the alley are 2 cafes that are reasonable and food was okay.The best gelato in Venice is just further up from the cafes and we made sure we had 2 gelatos the 3 days we were in Venice- another item ticked from my bucket list!!San Marco is just 10 min walk away.Venice cafes can give a big cover charge so we took away pizzas to eat at our apartments to avoid the cover charge.We arrived on a Sunday afternoon.We attended the Sunday mass in St Mark's Basilica which is held every Sunday at 6.45pm.It's the only time they light up the candles and we got to see the beautiful mosaics so much better.You must be discreet-they will let you in even if you are not the locals which the mass was meant for but since it's a holy place and a mass, you must be prepared to sit quietly for the entire hour. My sons and husband got a bit bored-I did give them the choice not to follow me but I guess, my mantra "we pass this way but once" stuck with them.How often would I arrive in Venice on a Sunday?-I asked them. The apartment is so well stocked-oil,salt,pepper-the basic condiments and there's even an electric dishwasher.Too bad I went to the Rialto Market(only 15 minutes walk) on my last morning there-the seafood and produce at the Rialto Market is so fresh-the crabs were still moving, snails(escargots??) still alive,prices cheaper than Australian markets-a real surprise for me as it's Venice-everyone told me Venice is very expensive. If I went there the day before, would have definitely bought seafood and cooked it at the apartment.Zucchini flowers were a bunch for like 3-4 Euros.Tomatoes as big as the beefsteak heirloom tomatoes can be found at the Rialto Market.Was an easy 5-10 minute walk to catch the Vaporetto #1 for the evening Grand Canal tour for like only 2 Euro. Went all round the famous sights of Venice.Doges Palace an easy 10 min walk away. The hotel will book a free private taxi to a glass factory to Murano-Tip: wander much further in after the glass factory tour into Murano town cos the Glass factory the private taxi takes you to looks like it's the only one around as it's a bit secluded from the rest of the island.Also another tip:if you are travelling like us-a group of 3-4-we had 4 small and 4 large bags-it's worth it to pay for the private water taxi Euro 110 cos it takes you right next to the hotel and takes only half hour rather than the public water bus Euro15-16/person which takes about 1-1 1/2 hours and then you'd have to walk a couple hundred metres navigating round and round the small alleys. Guido will book for you if you email him before you go to Venice.Guido also made our transport arrangements for the trip to the train station.If you wish to take the public water bus, Guido will email you very good instructions on how to get to the hotel. Guido is a real gem-very helpful and kind.The 2 bedroom apartment has 2 big plasma TVs-one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The aircon worked so well even in 33 C heat-was so needed in the hot humid summer.His colleague,Pratik was also nice and funny."Venice is not expensive.It's very,very expensive!" Pratik told us cheekily. Grazie Guido for giving us such brilliant memories of Venice.Will definitely stay there every time we are in Venice. Wish Venice was not so far from Australia!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 699Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This apartment complex is in Castello, the district next to San Marco but only 5-10 minutes walk from San Marco Basilica, 5-10 minutes walk to Rialto Bridge & 5 minutes walk along picturesque canals to the Vaporetti stop San Zaccaria which is the next stop from San Marco although out of the hustle & bustle, next to a beautiful quiet canal. The interiors are immaculate. Beautifully decorated, with all the mod cons. The apartment we stayed in was spacious. The owner was incredibly helpful & kind, giving us great advice on where to eat, how to get to Burano & advising us of an imminent Vaporetti strike as we were leaving. We would certainly stay here again & recommend to others!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a lovely holiday and cannot fault the quality of the apartment (all beautifully modern) or the helpfulness of Guido the manager, however were disappointed that apartment 103 is described as a one bedroomed apartment but has no separate bedroom, however the room is very spacious for two people and we had a bathroom each! The supermarket is a 5 minute walk away and you can get a Vaporetto ticket lasting 3 days for around £30 each - the best idea we had, as you can visit Murano, Burano and travel up the Grand Canal all with the waterbus ticket.One warning don't rely on the waterbus to get you to the hotel. You need a water taxi (110 euros each way from Marco Polo airport) to arrive right outside the hotel.(No roads) If you get the waterbus it is hard to negotiate the back streets and stepped bridges with cases and you can get lost easily. Nearest stop is San Zaccharia.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the canal and check if it has a separate bedroom if described as such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Alla Vite Dorata
Alla Vite Dorata
#34 of 476 in Venice
305 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#31 of 476 in Venice
665 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#13 of 476 in Venice
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
#126 of 476 in Venice
88 reviews
San Marco
B&B Bloom Venice
B&B Bloom Venice
#44 of 476 in Venice
306 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#21 of 476 in Venice
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bailo di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bailo di Venezia

Address: Fondamenta San Lorenzo 5056, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $131 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Bailo di Venezia 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Bailo di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing