We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the annex apartment”
Review of Palazzetto Pisani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzetto Pisani
Ranked #100 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of the annex apartment”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely hotel. It's lavishly decorated in traditional Venetian style. I thought I was booking the Pisani Suite, but unfortunately booked the apartment. The room was large but in a random apartment building, not the hotel. We were awoken by 7am by hammering on our wall. The room was dirty and nothing like the hotel website images of beautiful rooms. There is also no wifi in this room, which was a major problem as my husband is a doctor and had to work during our stay. I'm not sure why Pisani even used this apartment.

The rest of the hotel (in the actual hotel) is lovely and the breakfast delicious.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    84
    34
    14
    27
See reviews for
97
197
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked the 2BR family suite and was very excited about staying in a gorgeous old palazzo on the Grand Canal. Arriving in a water taxi to walk the red velvet plank was indeed fun. The communal areas are beautiful-as if you really have just been invited to the Contessa's home for tea or a drink- period furniture, looming oil paintings of ancestors, the winged lion flag blowing over the canal...and breakfast is one of the best we had in European hotels. BUT...the family suit was in the annex with none of the charm of the palazzo. Construction work being done in the basement resulted in constant noise, dirt, cigarette smell of the workers and the sewer smell from the pipes. The room was spacious and had Grand Canal views but otherwise was below expectations. The staff were nice and gave a great introduction to the palazzo but were otherwise not particularly helpful. So wanted to love this place more!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Waited on arrival for a considerable time before being shown to a suite overlooking the canal not the Conti Suite which had been booked and paid for some six months earlier. The showrr and adjoining toilet were under the stone stair and one had to be careful not bang ones head on the stone steps. The beds were like sleeping on a wooden plank. The next two nights we spent in the Conti Suite the beds no better. The staff in the restaurant verry helpfull and freindly. The reception staff also helpfull. Location was good and the place could do with a good clean dirty walls in bedroom and shower base had tiles missing.water would not drain from shower base. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cows29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great service, amazing room. Living the palace life,enjoy the slightly shabby chic of a XVIth century building. LIke everywhere in Venice you can feel the history and culture coming through the walls. Open the window and stare at the Grand Canal, be photographed by passing tourists as the Palazetto has all the charm of a local, none of the glitz of the bigger palaces along the canal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Palazetto Pisani is a beautiful building, cleverly turned into rooms and run by a staff of professional and discreet people. The Bellavista junior suite is large, comfortable and affords a view of the Grand Canal which is breathtaking. Any complaints you read about the lack of a lift, of the stairs or of the low ceilings should be ignored unless you have mobility problems, read such reviews with seriousness at your own risk as they show the lack of understanding of the experience of living in an ancient city, full of history and heritage. This hotel is the opposite of a large chain of corporate same old same olds, there is wifi (free) but is one that has personal charm and history so if you are looking for a pool, a gym, multiple escalators or lifts, business facilities etc - go somewhere else and leave this place to those who seek an inner sanctum of peace and quiet in this city.

The staff at the PP are multilingual, discreet and professional and if you are lucky enough to have Francesca at reception, you will find her the rare sort of hotelier who has the sort of intelligence customer care training cannot provide if you didn't already have it.

The breakfast is run by a man who takes your requests and endeavours to remember them during your visit. His coffees are delicious, the spread is a mixture of breakfasty items that most might expect but being Italian, there are also biscuits and a huge bowl of tiramisu which does seem to get emptied quite quickly. There are egg dishes to be cooked on the spot but not much else in terms of hot food. However with breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, cereals a-plenty, there is an abundant choice in any case. Again, treat all other negative reviews of breakfast at your own peril, you can't please some people no matter how large the spread.

The lounge is particularly lovely, the paintings and furnishings in the whole hotel are selected with care and taste. So although the place is ornately decorated, it is done with some restraint to avoid too formal an atmosphere without sacrificing an authentic Venetian feel. The lounge is a good place to read, to gaze at the Grand Canal and to spend a late night with a digestive before heading for bed. We arrived hot and tired and were gently ushered up to the lounge by Francesca who organised refreshments so it was good from the start.

Go to this place, it's a good find and expect to want to return. Location-wise, it's off a lovely square that has good bars and restaurants and is surprisingly relaxed in terms of the teeming tourists. Yet the Palazzo Grassi and various other museums (not to mention the Peggy Guggenheim) are within easy walking distance as is the Vaporetto stop of l'Accedemia. Of the restaurants on the square, the Gelatoria is a great place on the corner to watch the world go by, the Beccafico served great food, the Fiore is round the corner and has good cicchetti (nibbles) as well as a restaurant.

Room Tip: Splash out on the junior suite Bellavista and expect lots of room, quiet and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boysfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We arrived on a full moon, the city was flooded by a high tide. It rained for a week, and was the most romantic weekend since our honeymoon. This hotel is like living in a palace - because it is a 16th century palace - complete with original furnishings and paintings. We had a suite on the Grande Canal. We were greeted with a drink. Our little dog was made welcome. Breakfast in the dining room was generous, but the waiters also helped me to carry tea to our room. There was a certain slackness to everything - which may put some fussy travellers off, but made the stay perfect for us. I loved it. I loved everything about it.

Room Tip: There are two sections to this hotel. We stayed in the old part. I have read less glowing reviews of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We was going to stay for three days in the annex suite 4F.
However, Hot water does not come out the bath. Power does not turn on the air conditioning. Oil heater does not work. TV is broken.The cleaning only in the outskirts of the bed. Large dust had accumulated in the living room and bookshelf.

We requested a repair of the bath and air conditioning to the person in charge, but he was not able to repair. This is a minimum requirement.

He was not able to make a determination whether it is possible to change the main building room. He changed a room at late-night 3:00. However, it is a annex single room. The hot water did not have the warmth that bathed in a shower.Without the use of a bed, we did not sleep at all. We were used, only towel wash face.

We waited for a reception to open on the next morning, we canceled staying immediately.
Recognizing that the room of the annex is not useless, they are in accordance with the full refund.

However, we were faced with the need to look for a new hotel. It was supposed to use wasted day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelw_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#136 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#24 of 385 in Venice
1,675 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#34 of 385 in Venice
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzetto Pisani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzetto Pisani

Property: Palazzetto Pisani
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2814 | Campo Santo Stefano, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palazzetto Pisani 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzetto Pisani Boutique Hotel looks out over the Grand Canal, between the Accademia Bridge and Piazza San Marco, where Venice reveals herself in all her splendour.Arriving by boat, guests can access the Palazzetto P. directly from the Grand Canal. Guests will ascend into the main reception room via the grand staircase, where they will be shown to the beautifully decorated rooms, furnished in traditional Venetian style.Our Staff is proud to welcome you and will endeavour to ensure that you enjoy living like the past kings and queens that inhabited this historical palace.A unique and magical place in the heart of the city that gives the most exciting feeling that a guest can experience in Venice: the feeling of living like royalty within the walls of the most prestigious Palace in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzetto Pisani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing