We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with Great Value”
Review of Bar Foscarini

Bar Foscarini
Ranked #700 of 1,615 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Reviewed January 7, 2013

You won't find a prettier bar in Venice! Vibrant and valued by local people and tourists alike, Bar Foscarini provides a great stop off next door to the Accademia gallery. Simple food (pizza, salads & tremezzini) accompanied by good selection of wines & spirits. Try their Aperol Spritz and you'll never visit Venice without returning for another! Best of all, for a Venetian Bar, their prices are remarkably reasonable! Give it a try and you're bound to return!

Date of visit: January 2013
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 310 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was FRIDAY night around 8:30 and they were very busy, but unfortunately our meal was very disjointed and disappointing. This exacerbated by the €8.00 cover charge. I believe we need to give everyone a second chance,so while I was not impressed,I am sure they can produce a very pleasant evening.

Date of visit: January 2013
Thank AJB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

On our twelve day trip through Europe, we anticipated and found wonderful food (pizza and otherwise) in Rome and Tuscany. We had so little knowledge of the Italian Alps that we came with no expectations, and left delighted with the few meals we had there in the South Tyrol, the best of which I’d describe as German food prepared with Italian passion.

The next stop on our trip was Venice, and I expected it to be a little like the New York City theatre district – expensive food, prepared without much care, for throngs of tourists who likely will never return. Happily, we never had a bad meal in Italy, and our two dinners in Venice proved to be spectacular. On our second and last night, we had done a lot of touring on foot. It’s fun to navigate the tiny streets, canals, and bridges, but it’s easy to get lost, even with a map. We gave up trying to find any particular restaurant and we just began searching for a spot that didn’t look too touristy.

We crossed the Accademia Bridge into Dorsoduro, adjacent to the spot along the Grand Canal where the Gondoliers tie up their boats. At the base of the bridge, we saw Bar Foscarini (aka Accademia Foscarini), a small bar/dining room with canal-side al fresco café seating. It looked lovely, but it seemed like such an obvious tourist spot that we kept going. We were also somewhat put off by the, ummm, “aroma” wafting off the canal.

However, we wandered further and found no better choices, so we returned to settle for a meal at Bar Foscarini. Happily, the wind had shifted and we no longer sensed any low tide fragrance from the canal. It was a lovely night, so we chose a waterside table outside. After glancing at the menu, we discovered that Bar Foscarini is more of a grand snack place – Italian tapas, perhaps – than a full service restaurant. So we selected some panini (sandwiches) and appetizers, only to learn from our server that at this late hour, the choices were simply pizza and appetizers.

We really did not expect decent pie, but we needed dinner so we ordered a salumi plate (assorted cured meats with artichoke and pickle garnishes) and a marinara pizza – simply crust, tomato sauce, garlic. We also ordered a carafe of the house red wine. The food arrived quickly. The artichokes were the small, canned variety, but with the pickles added a little bit of variety to the plate of cured meats, which included soppressata, prosciutto, and two other thinly shaved meats that I cannot precisely identify other than to say it seemed like three types of prosciutto. All quite delicious, and we enjoyed it with the excellent fresh bread and breadsticks.

When the pizza arrived, we were delighted to see that it was the thin Roman style, much like the astonishing pie we had at Le Montecarlo in Rome. The crust was cracker-thin, with a delicate external crunch, yet somehow with an internal chewiness. Sturdy enough to support the thin topping of sauce and garlic. It was not quite as ethereal as the pizza in Rome, but it exceeded our expectations by a lot. A beautiful night in Venice, casual dining on the edge of the Grand Canal, authentic Roman pizza, plate of smoked meats, and a litre of red wine? It really doesn’t get much better than that.

The staff saw us taking pictures and were glad to give us some more info, and the chef (owner?) gladly chatted and posed for a pic with us. We’re giving ambiance an 11 (scale of 1 to 10), the smoked meats an 8, the wine an 8, the pizza a 9. This was consistent with our entire Italian experience; no matter how tourist-y an area is, the food is still good-to-great and the locals care about quality, even if they will never see you again. Jupiter must have smiled on Bar Foscarini, because we finished our meal in the beautiful night air, and as we stepped away to walk home, we encountered a torrential rain that would have ruined the al fresco experience (there are no outdoor umbrellas at Foscarini).

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom_Adopye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant is located directly beside the Accademia bridge on the way to the Accademia Gallery. It has a large outdoor seating area with white canvas canopies.
My wife and I have been travelling all over Europe for three months and love local authentic food. We just couldn’t help ourselves when in Venice, we wanted a really good pizza and this place was recommended in a well known travel guide. The setting was good, the price was right but the pizza was terrible, not just bad, but the worst looking and tasting piece of food we have had on the whole trip. The sauce had the look, texture and taste of canned tomato soup. We have had better crust on something that we bought at 2 am at a 7-11 and heated in the microwave. The little piece of cheese that was placed on the top of the pizza congealed into a lava lamp glob of goo. The service ( a polite term for the actual way we were treated) from the surly waiter was consistent with the quality of the food. To top it all off when we got the bill the charge for two soft drinks which we could have bought at the adjacent mini mart for less than one euro exceeded the total cost of the pizza.
Fortunately we have a good sense of humor since it is rather ironic to go all the way to Venice to have such a thing as an inedible pizza. Our previous experience had been that even a bad pizza can still be pretty good.
Lesson learned in Venice – if a restaurant is full of only one time customers ie: tourists, they can serve crappy overpriced food but still stay in business, after this we paid much more attention to who the patrons were and ignored the guide books with much better results.

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice outdoor patio on the Grand Canal by the Accademia bridge. Service was friendly and unrushed.Pizza was good but go for the location.

Date of visit: October 2012
Thank jetstream407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Foscarini also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bar Foscarini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing