We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do This Tour on Your First Day in Venice”

Venice Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.70*
and up
Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine
More Info
$44.87*
and up
Small Group Sweet Taste of Venice with Dessert Samples and Coffee
More Info
$140.83*
and up
Venice Water Taxi Cruise plus Aperitivo
Ranked #1 of 40 Food & Drink in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Small group tours to discover the insights of Venice! From Food & Wines tours like our classic "Cicchetti & Wine tour" to Aperitivo by boat watching the sunset passing by walking tours of the local neighborhoods or half-day trips to Treviso City and its Prosecco Wineries. We can organize your experience in a share or private tour mode. Tours in English, other languages on request too! Join us!
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As other reviewers have indicated, the itinerary seems to have remained relatively unchanged (meet at magdalena church, go to cannareggio district, take the traghetto, hit the fish market, then 4 bars for cacchetti). This was however our favorite part of visiting Venice, primarily because of the enthusiasm of our local Venetian guides Ceceilia and Elisabetta. They had a passion for the differentiators of Venice versus other parts of Italy. The idea of standing up in a small local bar eating tapas-style food and a glass of wine really appealed to us. We enjoyed hearing about how and where the local Venetians live. This was a great tour, I would highly recommend it as something to do on your first day in Venice to kick things off. As one of the central focuses of the tour is avoiding tourist areas and getting to know the city, it would really get you interested in the local culture.

Thank MigedyMigedyMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaCy, Direttore at Venice Urban Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your great feedback!

We are so happy to read that you've enjoyed our tour! But the most beautiful thing to read is the one that we did convince you and made you see another reality of this city!

We are so focus on getting people away of the touristy mentality of Venice that feedbacks like yours, really made our work even more rewarding!

Hope to have you back with Venice Urban Adventures soon!

Kind Regards from the entire team, specially from myself & Elisabetta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,040 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

On our honeymoon trip to Venice, we took this tour with Cecilia. It was beyond fantastic. Cecilia not only carried us to some fantastic locations for wine and delicious eats but she gave us some great information on Venice itself, it's history, it's culture and some great tips for the rest of our trip. The traghetto ride across the canal was also a great little addition. This is the absolute best way to see Venice especially for a first time. Cecilia was delightful, warm and fun.

If you're doing this tour, do it early in your trip. This way you can always return to some of the spots that Cecilia takes you to later in your trip on your own. Her tips for dining around Venice will be asset for the rest of your vacation.

1  Thank NikkiHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaCy, Direttore at Venice Urban Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Nikki,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!

We are really happy to read that the tour with us was part one of the beautiful experiences during your honeymoon!

Feedbacks like yours keep us making sure that we try our best!

As I said to you on tour, glad to have our first Trinidad people on tour! Hope to have you back soon!

Kind Regards from myself and the rest of the team of Venice Urban Adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We took the chiccetti tour in Venice and it was amazing! Cecilia was our guide and she was fantastic! Cecilia showed us how the people of Venice unwind and enjoy local food, wine and each other! This was the absolute best way to see Venice! This should be on everyone's list when in Venice!

1  Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaCy, Direttore at Venice Urban Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Dana,

Thank you for your great feedback!

Really happy to read you have a nice time with us in Venice!

Hope to have you back soon!

Kind Regards from the entire Venice Urban Adventures team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went on this tour on Sept 25th in the 11.30 slot and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. It gives a real insight into the workings and culture of the real Venice. The lovely Cecilia was a mine of useful and interesting information and she was an absolute joy, making sure everybody had a great experience. The food and wine were fantastic and the overall package is a true bargain in such an expensive city. We would definitely go on this excursion on our next visit to Venice. Thanks Cecilia, you are a star!!

Thank whitakers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaCy, Direttore at Venice Urban Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Dave & Claire,

Thank you so much for your beautiful feedback!

Really glad to read your words and to see that your experience on tour was one of your highlights in Venice!

Hope to have you back in town soon!

Kind Regards from the entire Venice Urban Adventures team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We took this tour with Cecilla and the previous ratings are completely true - she's a doll. Wonderful attitude, lots of fun and a GREAT tour. We went to three different wine bars and had not only great wine, but amazing food. We ate so much, we skipped dinner later that night. SHe has some wonderful spots that she takes you to visit and you get to know her friends in the area. Only wished we had done this tour the first night we were in Venice because we wanted to go back and visit the places again. We are now trying to find some of the wines she suggestted as they were really interesting. I want to make some of the food and she has the receipes except Marco's mom's meatballs which she won't give up the recipe. Lots of fun!

Thank AngelaFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaCy, Direttore at Venice Urban Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Angela,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!

I hope that you come back soon to Venice and have the chance to take the tour on your first day, so we can convince you even more "to get lost on purpose" around the island!

Unfortunately, Marco still does not allow me to give you the recipe... I am sorry... another excuse for you to come back!

Thank you again and Kind Regards from the entire Venice Urban Adventures team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Venice Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing