We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for two weeks in this super B&B”
Review of Ca Santo Spirito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ca Santo Spirito
Ranked #230 of 469 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thorverton, Devon, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stayed for two weeks in this super B&B”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in this very pleasant B&B in the Dorsoduro neighborhood between Santo Spirito and Salute vaparetto stops. Though it is only a 5 minute walk to the Peggy Guggenheim Museum and a few more minutes to the Academia, our bedroom facing the street was very quiet. Silvia and Massimo, the owners, go out of their way to be accommodating. Siliva gave us breakfast half an hour early as I had a morning music rehearsal to attend. Tea, coffee and wine (€10/bottle) are always available and breakfast is lavish---juice, eggs, yogurt, cheese, salami, fruit, tomatoes, bread and pastries. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable---lots of space for our clothes too.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or 2. Room 3 is for the young as it is two flights up of wooden stairs and the bathtu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Well we must have gone to the wrong house! There was certainly no friendly welcome, we had to phone them from the doorstep, eventually an assistant came and let us in; there were none of the legendary welcoming touches or coffees mentioned by previous reviewers. I mentioned in an email that it was my wife's birthday on the day we arrived - null response. We didn't see Sylvie until the next day at breakfast, and yes, she was helpful, but no more than you would expect from a b & b owner. We saw her once more, when we paid, of course. Massimo? Does he exist? Never saw him. We may as well have stayed in an apartment for all the attention we got.

The beds were made, ok, but no clean towels on the second day, and no heat to the drying rail, so we got dried after our shower with soggy towels. On the day we left, we had to leave early, before breakfast time, so Sylvie had promised to leave us some bread to help ourselves - she didn't! This was the fifth place we had stayed on our holiday, and the most expensive, and the least value! Very disappointed. We expected Venice to be expensive, but after speaking to other people we met, we realised just what poor value this was.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Simply amazing: very clean, elegant, parts of different floors tastefully decorated in medieval Venice style, fantastic breakfast with charming hospitality of the owners. Very friendly people and when asked - happy to share their impressive knowledge of the local facilities and transport connections (i.e. Ateliers for carnival costumes, vaporettos etc).
Has perfect location:seconds away from one of the most beautiful basilicas there - the St Maria Salute of Basilica, and short walk via bridge to their famous Piazza St Marco – you can actually see it from outside the Basilica on it’s side of the river. Also vaporetos stops were just few seconds away from us, as well as number of restaurants and little shop with yummy waffles.
Definitely would recommend the place. We are missing the cappuccinos from the lady of the house and her personal touches with hearts decoration during Valentines - gorgeous!
We look forward to come back next year! Thank you for being amazing to us Ca Santo Spirito!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite. Although there was not much of a view from it, we had a comfort of having whol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jersey042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a great place, I was greeted with espresso and treats, I would stay here again. It was close to some of the main attraction which was nice but sort of off the beaten path so it was quiet at night. I took a water taxi which dropped me off pretty close to the hotel. This hotel is too far from the port to walk, if you are taking a cruise, but was simple enough to take a water bus to get there.

Room Tip: there are only three rooms here and all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltaire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

B&B easy to find, with excellent communication from our hosts Massimo and Sylvie who rang to confirm and make sure we knew where to come. The B&B is staffed only in the morning and on arrival of new guests. We actually arrived earlier than planned and contacted Massimo who very kindly arranged to meet us early to exchange keys.

Stayed for two nights in a beautiful room, large, clean and comfortable. Shared bathroom with other residents (two other rooms) but never an issue. Good continental breakfast, lots of choice. Very friendly couple, helped with directions around Venice. Excellent location only a few mins from vaperetto, but far enough from the hustle and bustle of tourists areas to escape the noise and crowds. Sylvie also kindly let us leave our bags there after checkout on last day whilst we further explored.

Would highly recommend and plan to return there ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Debs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed three nights in this very nice B&B during late September. The location was great - close to the vaporetto routes, but in a residential area and far enough away from the canals on a broad (for Venice) side street to be nice and quiet. The residence was quite grand, airy and spacious, and our room had all it needed. Although we shared a bathroom with one other room, this was not a problem at all. Some reviewers had commented on noise from the neighbours but we had no such problems. It was nice to have access to the kitchen including coffee machines, although the espresso machine disappeared during our stay. The breakfast was fine, but hours were quite late - start time was 9am! This did pose a problem on our day of departure when we had to get away by 8:15am, and so had to fend for ourselves with what was available in the kitchen (actually most things were there anyway). The hostess and assistant were otherwise attentive and very helpful. Overall, it was a very good home-base for exploring Venice and a welcome retreat from the noise and bustle of the city. Would recommend particularly to couples of any age wanting to make the most of Venice and all it has to offer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank laingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The owners were very friendly, the room was really gorgeous, everything was clean and nice, the breakfast was very nice and the location was fabulous.

Given we were here on our honeymoon it wasn't ideal that the doors were thin with nearly always someone sitting in the hall area outside.

The one major downside was the neighbours (sadly as it's due to no fault of the owners). Two out of four nights I was kept awake for hours by phenomenally noisy neighbours which left me shattered and not fully able to enjoy my days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#153 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
La Basilica
La Basilica
#313 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#255 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#121 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' San Vio
Locanda Ca' San Vio
#192 of 469 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
La Residenza 818
La Residenza 818
#216 of 469 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca Santo Spirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca Santo Spirito

Property: Ca Santo Spirito
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 94 | Rio terà ai Saloni, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca Santo Spirito 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca’ Santo Spirito is the fruit of our love for Venice – a magical place to stay.The palace is built in one of the most exclusive and aristocratic areas in Venice. You can enjoy the little lovely internal courtyard, with a typical well, where you can have breakfast or read a book in the warm summer evenings.Ca’ Santo Spirito is unique and exceptional because here you can find stairs characteristic of the Leonardo- style, the arched-doors and the beautiful double lancet windows.You will have an unforgettable stay surrounded by and elegant atmosphere. We are sure that you will feel at home.Ca’ Santo Spirito and the kindness of its owners await you in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca Santo Spirito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing