We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #122 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is set in the best location in Venice. On the main canal and a 10 minute walk from St Marks square. Surrounded by great restaurants across the bridge and incredible desginer shops. The hotel was very clean and reception were very helpful with our questions. However make sure you taken a travel iron as they don't offer irons for room service due to health and safety.
The intercontinental breakfast was very good, offering a wide selection of options to choose from.
However word of warning, as the hotel is in a very busy place, expect it to be quite nosiy with the windows open. We stayed here for 3 nights in beginning of March and loved it. The rooms are quite dated but ive been told that Italian hotels tend to have the classical old interior to them. Also we booked on late rooms about 6 months in advance and got the room for £200 a night compared to £900 a night during peak time

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose Hotel Rialto for its location, and in that we were not disappointed. We took the Alilaguna boat straight from the airport (€15 per person) and arrived at the Rialto dock.. a few short steps later we were inside the hotel. I'm glad we chose here because dragging luggage through the winding streets of Venice would not have been fun. The location is ideal; all signs in Venice point to either St. Marks Square or to the Rialto Bridge, so though you can easily get lost in all the streets, it won't be long before you'll find your way again. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to St. Marks Square, which my 8 year old managed to find every gelato shop in between... (after extensive testing, melon flavour is the best; but I digress)...

The gentlemen at reception were incredibly helpful; they gave us maps, helpful suggestions and everything. And when I accidentally left my mobile phone on the sofa in reception, they kept it for me. [THANK YOU!] They also had stamps available so I didn't have to rush around to find a post office for my postcard addiction. :)

We did listen to the reviews and booked a Grand Canal view room for my husband, son and I - and we ended up with room 309. It wasn't on the 3rd floor, but rather up 5 flights of stairs (taking the lift really wasn't worth it as it only went part of the way anyway). We found ourselves planning our day around how many times we'd go back to the room, just to avoid unnecessary trips up and down those stairs!

Our room itself was fine - I wouldn't have called it a suite, though. The beds were firm and comfortable as such. Our window was in the left corner of the room, and you could see the Rialto Bridge when you leant a bit out of it, plus all the comings and goings of the people below. It was great for people watching when you were tired of traipsing all around Venice. If I could ask one thing - please, Italians - you have a beautiful, amazing treasure in the Rialto Bridge - you broke my heart when I saw graffiti all over it. :( Please take care of your city!!

We did struggle with the room temperature as this time of year there appeared to be no way to cool down the room (the air conditioning did not work), and opening the window in the room and the bathroom helped with air flow. Of course, if one did that, you had to contend with the noise outside... so it's a trade-off. I suspect that as the season goes on the air conditioning is available. Friday night there was a bar or something with live music close by, and you could not escape the music at all.. so do pack earplugs.

The bathroom was a disappointment and was not as nicely appointed as the ones on the website. Ours had not been updated in at least 20 years (or so it looked from the worn furnishings and cracked tiles). But it was clean, and functional, so décor was the least of our issues.

Breakfast was more crowded on Saturday morning than the weekday mornings, but was fine. There were: yogurts, pastries, rolls, fruit salad, omelettes, sliced peaches, cereals, salami, ham and one cheese, in addition to prosecco, orange juice, grapefruit juice, and tea, coffee and hot chocolate. No bacon or sausages, and the breakfast room was not as well laid out (people kept tripping over each other) so perhaps some further thought could be given to the way people walk and the table layouts.

All in all I'm glad we chose Hotel Rialto for our once-in-a-lifetime trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTravellerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a city break with a friend. The Alilaguna water taxi (orange line) stops right outside the hotel from a transfer from the airport (cost 15 Euros per person) The hotel is in an excellent location next to the Rialto Bridge which is signposted from all over the city, so easy to find once you're out exploring the city.
We stayed in room 201, which was on the 2nd floor and, as requested, had 2 single beds. The room was always clean and nicely decorated, there was a TV, safe, wardrobe, and mini bar. The ensuite bathroom was in good order with bath and shower, although the shower was a little under-powered and changed temperature a lot. The staff on reception were lovely and extremely helpful, they spoke excellent English, were able to recommend restaurants, gave us an explanation of the Venice map and helped us by phoning the Motoscafi water taxi company, checking the time our taxi to the airport would arrive and locating it for us. Breakfast was included and was a continental buffet style with: cold meats, cheese, pastries, croissants, doughnuts, bread rolls, cereals, fruit, omlettes, coffee, tea, orange juice, grapefruit juice, and Prosecco! Extra cooked breakfasts could be ordered for an additional 5 euros.
On departure we were charged local taxes of around 3 Euros per person per day, I believe.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to people who want to explore the city from a good central point. Our room did not have a view but that didn't bother us as we spent little time in the room. Friday nights can be a little busy just outside the hotel, so there is a bit of noise from the street late into the night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salmon4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Room is small, and no lift service from 1 floor to top floor, and rooms looks worn, and the good thing is the rialto bridge is just 5 steps away from the hotel, restaurant are walking distance. I would say the hotel is in the center of all attraction.




  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Parameswaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My Partner and I spent 5 nights at the Hotel Rialto from 1st-6th April and I can not understand why this Hotel has received some negative reviews. The room was lovely, a respectable size and very very clean. We did not have a front facing room, so there was no noise at all which was bliss. The staff were very friendly, always willing to help and suggest different places to go eat, nothing was too much trouble at all for them. I would defiantly advise spending time on the roof terrace, it has a great view away from the crowds, most days we bought a pizza from the resturant down stairs (which was yummy and cheap) and enjoyed lunch in private on the terrace. Overall we were very pleased with the Hotel, it was great value in a great location!!!

Room Tip: Would recommend a side room for quietness... you don't have a view of the canal, but you can rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

excellent location. very good room, deluxe with Grand Canal view.
but it was a little bit noisy, the water buses runs between the canal all the night. It is hard to sleep.
Breakfast is simple, but enough to eat ( meat, cheese, cake etc.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rialto for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The room was lovely, very basic compared to South African hotels - but had everything we needed during the stay.

We were hardly ever in the hotel as we wanted to experience the beauty of Venice. The breakfast in the morning was very nice - don't expect any bacon and eggs though - it's a "French" breakfast so lots of pastries and cheeses etc. (you have the option of ordering bacon and eggs but that costs extra).

We also had to pay for the wifi vacilities.

Room Tip: Try ask for a room facing the rialto bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,849 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $123 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing