We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #122 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Rialto hotel for 3 nights and returned yesterday. I was a bit concerned having read the reviews but we were very happy with our choice. Nov is not the best month with being the wettest month in Venice and there was some very high tides but the experience of seeing Venice was fanstastic. The hotel was very clean and the reception staff very helpful.
Tips : Catch the Alilaguna water buses from the airport to the hotel. (15 euro each) and it stops outside the hotel.
Pay the extra for a canal view (We payed 50 euro extra per night) room 404, ask for second floor
The breakfast is served until 1030 hrs and everthing that is set out is part of the buffet. There is plenty to eat and is varied and you don't need to pay for the extra breakfast (eggs and bacon).
Use the ACTV 12 hr to get around Venice (18 euro each) or you will pay 7 euro for 1 hr. Its worth paying for the longer hrs. These can be obtained from the water bus stop near the hotel.
I would recommend the Mama pizza restaurant, its near the hotel and is freindly and not expensive. The reception staff will direct you.
Dont eat at the restaurant that is over the bridge, it was expensive.
Visit the Doge.
ENJOY

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was at the foot of the famous Realto bridge, making it easy to find as we entered town late in the evening. There is a boat stop right in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to all the sights, shops and restaurants from the hotel. We felt very safe and the staff was friendly and helpful, and we speak no Italian. Of course, the breakfast was excellent. The room decor was old world gaudily ornate, which would have been bad had we not been in Venice! The hotel was a good value for Venice and the location was a real bonus. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igetaround9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We've stayed here now on two occasions, myself, husband and 19 year old daughter. So easy to find in the labrynth of Venice, right at the end of the Rialto Bridge. We were able to leave our luggage here as we arrived early, and explore the rest of this amazing city. On the first trip here The reception staff were helpful, courteous and friendly at all times.
Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend!

Room Tip: all rooms we have stayed in were great but definitely one overlooking the Canal made the trip even m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill64NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As mentioned by others, location was perfect. Only steps from vaporetto stop (used it from train station) and about a 3 minute walk to water bus to airport. From train station I paid 12 Euro per person and to airport it was about 15 per person (versus water taxi of 120 euro).

Stayed in Jr. Suite, with view of Grand Canal on 2nd floor. Paid $249 a night for a triple, and it was well worth it. While there was no balcony and windows only opened so far, it was still nice looking at activity. We saw many people roaming streets looking for their hotel with their luggage, we were glad that we had an easy (and early 1pm check-in).

Noise was not bad, but if you are a real light sleeper, you may want to stay away from the front. Room was large, decor was a charming old school style, which just made it feel more like being on vacation than a business trip in the states. Beds were firm, but were satisfactory.

Front desk was helpful. Frustration was that if you wanted to print your boarding pass for airlines, you had to pay for internet. Guess any way to make a euro. Breakfast buffet was marginal, but I was more interested in eating out and about.

It was great getting lost in Venice and knowing that there were always signs everywhere pointing you towards Rialto Bridge, so I just left map behind for last two days.

Tip - Avoid the gondolas outside the hotel. EXTREMELY expensive, I paid 120 euro and only received a 25 minute ride. For 80 euro you were on board for about 15 minutes. Go to a another area and the gondoliers (sp?) are willing to negotiate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick102691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and our friend stayed here at the end of a business trip in November. It can be difficult getting around Venice but finding the hotel was extremely easy as it is literally at the foot of the Rialto Bridge which also means it is easy to find one's way back as Rialto is signposted all over the city. We arrived by train and the exit from Santa Lucia station is right on the Grand Canal with vaporettos (water bus) opposite which take you direct to Rialto about 15 minutes away. There is one bridge to navigate between the vaporetto stop and the hotel but there are usually porters lurking around to offer assistance. Check in was quick and efficient with professional, helpful staff who were always glad to offer advice when needed. Unfortunately the lift only goes up one floor and after this there were many narrow staircases to navigate, not the best with heavy luggage. The room was small with two windows overlooking a busy passageway and the next building almost within touching distance although the room was clean with a good ensuite bathroom. Our first night was uncomfortable as the bed is only a double and the room was hot, meaning we left the shutters and windows open above the noisy passageway and were constantly disturbed up to 4am! We enquired about changing to a room with a larger bed but after studying the room list for a few minutes the concierge informed us that all the beds were doubles anyway. On the second night we turned off the heating, closed the shutters and windows and a carefully position chair allowed me to at least stretch out my arms for a little more comfort. The breakfast room is split into two sections with a smaller room at the back and a larger one overlooking the bridge serving cold meats, croissants a great selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and even champagne! Breakfast can be taken on the terrace in warmer months. We would definitely avoid staying in room 416 should we ever return to this hotel. Overall this is an average hotel but any minor niggles can be forgiven because of the unrivaled location.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank coljanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Rialto is a great hotel in an excellent location. I travelled to Venice with friends in November 2012 and it was a lovely place. We arrived there about an hour before check in time and were allowed to check in immediately. Our luggages were taken and we were led to our room. The room overlooked a lively side road and one could see the river if one extended one's neck. The room was clean.

The service was excellent. The staff are all nice, polite, with a smile of their faces and willing to help whenever you need it. My friends and I were caught up in a flood right before we checked out. The staff were proactive in providing us with the appropriate amenities to ensure that we do not get wet!

The continental breakfast served is absolutely scrumptious. They provide a wide variety of pastries, fruit, cereals, bread, teas, juices... It was lovely.

Having said that, there were certain minor drawbacks. While this was never confirmed, I am of the belief that we were given a double room with an extra bed as opposed to a triple room. Furthermore, although it is no one's fault, the hotel reception and breakfast room flooded quite easily. Then again, 70% of Venice was under water that day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malta300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travelled to Venice solo. Finding the hotel at first was intimidating, until I discovered the directions to most must see sights were posted at each corner. My view every morning and every evening was beautiful, the Rialto Bridge. I was so close to San Marco square. The staff was very professional, and the room gorgeous. No doubt I would return.
The travel date was older than the options listed, I went in January of 2010.

Room Tip: I was one of the few who had in room wi-fi. Mostly it's only in the common lounge, you must req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,882 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,849 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $123 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing