We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Zulian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Zulian
Ranked #240 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived after 12 days of cruising. We couldn't get into our room so the check in staff offered us a promotional tour of the Murano Glass factory we were escorted to a waiting taxi where we were delivered to the workshop by water taxi. After the tour we asked about our taxi back to the hotel and was told we had to find our own way back. This didn't impress us at all as it was pouring with rain and only just arrived in the city we didn't have time to orientate ourselves. After finding the hotel we were taken to our room. Well to get to it you had to go outside and along a narrow alley until you came to a walkway where the entrance to our room was. After carrying the bags up a flight of stairs our room number 3 was nothing more than a dog box. There was only 6 inches from the end of a very small double bed to the wall to walk past. We woke the next morning to a terrible smell coming up through the toilet. We complained to the desk clerk and they moved us to another room which was much roomier. The location of this hotel is great but I would suggest if you book a room ask for a room in the main building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    188
    88
    37
    32
See reviews for
125
189
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Yes, great location, lovely rooms but breakfast lets the whole place down. Minimal selection ..cereals or those dry badly made white bread rolls. And then they run out of room... Breakfast room seats 25 -30 people in a 110 bed hotel! Disappointing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location just behind San Zulian church, and a few minutes walk up from Piazza San Marco. Friendly staff and very clean. Only reasons for an average score being that it was already very warm (1 May) and there was no air conditioning in the room until later in the month, so we had to sleep with the window open, and as lovely as they are, the bells of The churches ring out loud up to midnight and from 7am. Plus happy late night passers by can be heard loud and clear. Also asked if we could sort out CNN or BBC for news and was told that there wasn't anything that could be done, which in 2013 is a little poor. However, very comfortable beds, nice room facilities and especially good if travelling with some mobility issues e.g. Walk in shower and an elevator.

Helpful?
Thank Glennthehappyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel San Zulian. The location is excellent so near San Marco square, around 100m, but very quiet at the back of San Zulian Church, just off the beaten path from San Marco to Rialto Bridge.
I was lucky enough to get the attic room 304 that has panoramic views over the Venetian rooftops, the domes of San Marco and the famous belltower, just amazing! The room could be hard to get to if you have walking difficulties, as its up a few seperate flights of stairs after the lift. The room was beautiful, plenty of space for one person, though there was a double bed. Two steps up led to a little "solar" room with table and chairs and the fantastic views. Bathroom was small, but perfectly clean, and a decent hairdryer. Every where was spotless.
Staff were pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good, but a little cramped as its in the bar adjoining the hotel, had no trouble getting a table.
All in all I was very pleased with my stay and would certainly stay again, and I got such a great deal on the room through Travel Republic

Room Tip: Room 304 has amazing views and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My mum and I were meant to be staying at the Hotel Caneletto for our long weekend in Venice but that hotel had overbooked and so we were asked to move. We were initially really upset as we'd specifically picked the Caneletto because it had such great reviews. But we had no choice but to move.
We were a bit disappointed by the outside of the San Zulian as it is not as impressive from the outside as some of the other hotels in the city. However, I have to say I was really impressed by the customer service here: when we didin't like our original room they listened to our concerns, showed us several others and allowed us to pick the one we liked most (we ended up in a triple) and offered it with no extra charge. The day-time concierge was geninely very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay (although the night-time one was a bit grumpy).
This is a hotel very much for a practical traveller - if you like your creature comforts or want 5* service this isn't for you. But it's very central, gave us a big continental breakfast in the morning which meant we didn't need more than a slice of pizza on the go for lunch, and the room was absolutely fine. The breakfast room does get busy but they gave us plenty of warning that this would be the case so we just got there early and had no problem. Some people have said the rooms are small and noisy but that's what all hotel rooms in venice are like. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to others who are looking for a practical option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the San Zulian for three days and really didn't encounter any major problems. The first thing most visitors to any Venice hotel need to know is that, because of how cramped the city is, many rooms will feel closed-in unless you're lucky enough to be facing onto a courtyard, Campo or canal. My twin room, room 103, was in part looking over a courtyard and was perfectly assigned. I slept well in a comfortable bed and the room was clean. During our stay, church bells rang often (especially as it was during Pope Francis's election) and the rain pattered atmospherically on the rooftops, but this added to the experience. The staff were friendly and professional, especially the concierge who greeted us when we arrived late in the evening: he was the guy who put us onto the Inishark Irish Pub down the street in Calle de Mondo Novo, when he sensed we were in need of a drink after our long journey. The next night he was on duty again when we came back from seeing Barcelona beat AC Milan at the pub and we had a laugh and a joke with him about the result because he comes from Milan. The breakfast facilities are, to put it kindly, basic which, given where you have to go to eat it, is surprising as you are taken into Cavatappi wine bar which is entered through a doorway up near the hotel front desk. At other times, Cavatappi is a recommended wine and chichetti bar but breakfast here is a long way off of satisfactory and I must say I only took advantage of it once during my stay. Another problem was that, due to the limited number of places to sit and have your breakfast, we found it more expedient to go out into Venice anyway and get something elsewhere. Other very small gripes include the ponderous, eccentric lift which seemed to arrive at your floor at a whim despite much feverish pressing of the button and the fact that some of the en suite fittings were seemingly fitted with only a bit of spit and hope - two metal things near the floor fell off which I fitted back into the wall after much fussing about and then there was the time when Dad pressed the flush panel for the toilet and the whole thing fell off - again, after much fussing I fitted it back onto the wall. But, apart from that, this was a lovely hotel in a perfect location, just five minutes walk from St Mark's Square, less than a minute from the Mercerie shopping streets that lead to the Rialto and in the shadow of the impressive San Zulian church. I would go back in a heartbeat, but not for the breakfast!

Room Tip: Most rooms won't benefit much from the sun because the hotel is pretty much closed-in on all sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FatmanRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 nights for £249 with bed & breakfast. As per a previous review we also stayed in Room 1. It was small but a decent size to move around. If you like hotels with huge rooms/bathrooms this is not for you. Spotlessly clean upon arrival and cleaned well everyday. Free wifi access that you need to ask the front desk for. Breakfast was coffee, juice, bread, crossiants, cereal, meats, yoghurt etc it was basic continental breakfast but that's all we wanted. Location is amazing, very central, we struggled to find it using the directions from the website when we got off the Alilaguna, you actually need to go right off the boat to the square, not left. Staff were ok, some friendlier than others but I think you get that everywhere in Venice. Would of liked tea&coffee facilities in the room as they didn't have this. We were charged €3 each, per night as we checked out due to new legislation on visitors tax in Italy so make sure you leave yourself money for this should you stay in Venice in general.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#268 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#296 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#324 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#206 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Zulian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Zulian

Property: Hotel San Zulian
Address: San Marco 527, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Zulian 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Zulian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Zulian Hotel
San Zulian Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing