We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at San Zulian”
Review of Hotel San Zulian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Zulian
Ranked #255 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at San Zulian”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at San Zulian for the fourth time and are still very happy to recommend it. Although it is very small, it is ideally situated for all the main sights and tourist attractions. It is very easy to find - just a stone's throw from Piazza San Marco, around the back of the Torre dell'Orologio. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful, and were also very good at communicating with me via email to help me make arrangements for my husband's birthday. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but there are plenty of coffee shops nearby - the one directly across from the hotel was always busy, which I took to be a good sign! The room we had was on the top floor (room 305) and although small, it was clean, with enough room to move around, and there was also a small cupboard for storing our bag. The bathroom was OK, but the shower is probably the smallest I have ever seen - and with the low ceiling, it's not recommended for anyone tall!The air conditioning worked well, which was great as the weather was so hot during our stay!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at San Zulian and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leemurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    194
    92
    42
    36
See reviews for
126
201
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a nicely furnished room, larger than any other room we had in this price range during our Italy trip. The breakfast was very nice as was the breakfast staff, but we did not try the adjoining restaurant. We could easily walk to everything we wanted to see and find our way back (most of the time) without getting lost. A major accomplishment in Venice as you will discover. Lots of nearby restaurants to try, interesting shops, and water taxis are nearby too. The high end shopping area is an easy walking distance away but this hotel is not the closest hotel to those shops. The front desk staff ranged from diffident to marginally helpful. They weren't exactly friendly but I guess Italy is going for that Parisian vibe so being friendly isn't a job requirement. Watch out for weekend transportation strikes (Fri-sun.) that can strand locals and tourists (and day tripping cruise ship passengers) on or off the Island with no public water taxis or flights into or out of Venice. If a stike traps you on the Island on departure day you will need to find room (and $$ for another night or 3). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsAlot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The main advantage of this hotel is that is located so close to Piazza San Marcos (about 3 minutes walk) and close to many shops and a local market. Priced right with very comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast served by a very friendly staff. Front desk personnel, however, should be a bit more friendly and helpful, especially when we called to ask directions when we were lost on the way there.

My other suggestion is to have the Hotel post the easy way to get to the hotel from the main arrival point to Venice (Piazza Roma) where you arrive by bus or car,. Even though we had written instructions that said a 20 minute walk, we walked for over an hour (with bags, over bridges, with no ramps to roll your luggage over) because the instructions were very hard to follow as the instructions were not always exact which resulted is us getting lost many times. We came to find out that we could have boarded the local “Vaporetto” (local water taxi) right there at P. Roma, disembark at one of two stations in Piazza San Marcos and walk 15 minutes to the hotel by a MUCH easier route. We saw many guests who complained about how hard it was to find the place, all of them coming from the P. Roma with written instructions just like us.

These last comments are not meant to discourage tourists nor should it reflect on the quality and convenience of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAINPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is well located and close to everything in Venice. The rooms were small but clean. Internet connection was hit or miss. The breakfast was in a very cramped space that was too small to contain all the guests and required a wait to get a seat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Took advice from reviews on this site saying if you're going to Venice you should stay in Venice and not Mestre. I found teh San Zulian hotel and booked as the price looked good and it was well positioned. The hotel is clean and functional. It's not luxury but it has everything you need. Breakfast is a cold buffet but it's fine to give you energy for the amount of walking you'll be doing. The staff were helpful and friendly and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Worst service terrible rooms We booked a quadruple room. We're givern a double room with 2 extra beds no room to open our suitcase or move in the room
Tried to complain and got the typical Italian attitude I'm sorry sir this is all we have and walked away

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

portsmouth uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A very good room with no lift for my 82 year old mum - long flight of stairs which she found difficult.
Good air conditioning.

Room was outside hotel - had to walk in street to reception and breakfast room.
Breakfast room is a cramped hall space below stairs - we waited 10 minutes for a table to become free...not enough space or tables for guests.
Breakfast extremely rudimentary. Dreadful coffee (in Italy!!). Nothing hot. No toast. Very salty ham and tasteless cheese was about it. Canned fruit, cheap juice.
Had to leave key with reception every time we left the room. This would have been acceptable but....
when we left mum in room and went for a stroll we were "told off" for not taking key to reception.
We explained that mum was still in room. Receptionist insisted. We insisted...the intercom went quiet...no apology or even an OK! This happened twice.
I wouldn't recommend it for the price...but if you're willing to put up with crude service and breakfast, no lift in some parts of the hotel, it is close to San Marco and Rialto. The daytime receptionist was fine and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room actually in the hotel; got to breakfast early; let them know if someone in your pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#289 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#330 of 385 in Venice
354 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#306 of 385 in Venice
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#108 of 385 in Venice
796 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#194 of 385 in Venice
648 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#210 of 385 in Venice
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Zulian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Zulian

Property: Hotel San Zulian
Address: San Marco 527, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Zulian 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Zulian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Zulian Hotel
San Zulian Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing