We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ostaria dai Zemei

Ostaria dai Zemei
Ranked #29 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Polo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this place on the way to our hotel ! The tapas, crostinis and sandwiches are absolutely amazing and the staff very friendly !! Must try when in Venice !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shakibarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    227
    49
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Little Gem in Venice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We walked past this Osteria on day 1 of our 3 day Venice trip, and loved the wonderful atmosphere and vibe of everyone sitting at the tables outside. We decided to sit down for lunch, and it was so good that we came back everyday!! The tapas and wine was fantastic and very reasonably priced for Venice. The service was great and the staff friendly and very helpful. Make sure you visit this gem in Venice!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liesel0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What luck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Must be the location but happened to wander in and saw their wonderful tapas, so decided to try. Ate standing up att he window so didn't need to pay the service charge. The toppings were excellent and the bread absolutely wonderful. On a street that parallels the Grande Canal, about
10 minute walk from Rialto bridge on the train station side of the canal. Give it a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Couldn't been happier to have wandered my way in here. My fiancee and I were greeted warmly by the waitress behind the counter. She was very patient with those who spoke little Italian. They will charge you more if you enjoy the outdoor seating, but it's totally worth it. After having been reeled in to a few sub-par eateries during our stay we were very refreshed to find Ostaria dai Zemei. It was very busy when we arrived, so it took us some time to nab a table some deserted. Great tapas. Great wine. If you're tired of pizza and pasta, eat here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this place purely by accident, and probably can never find it again, but what a find. We were on the hunt for a light lunch of chiccetti and wine and this was top notch.

It's just a little bar with a bit of outside seating in the San Paulo region and there was an extensive choice of chiccetti for Euro1.50 each. A decent glass of prosecco was Euro3. There were plenty of locals mingling with the tourists and it was mainly Italian that was being spoken but pidgin Italian by me and a bit of pointing was more than satisfactory.

The owner was playing a CD of Tchiakovsky music and we got into an interesting conversation about it with me speaking dodgy Italian and him speaking dodgy English but we spent a very enjoyable time in a lovely little bar.

If we could find it, we would go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The Fat Punter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostaria dai Zemei also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ostaria dai Zemei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing