We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I expected more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Vergnano 1882

Caffe Vergnano 1882
Ranked #908 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Polo
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We chose to eat here as we wanted to sit by the Grand Canal, and the restaurants the other side of the Rialto Bridge were much pricier. We opted for a pizza each, but unfortunately they were very oily and not very tasty at all. I've had far better pizza at Pizza Express! I really expected more from a waterside restaurant in the heart of Venice. What is it with all these tourist traps?!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chubunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    80
    54
    35
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good view, average food, but (except for wine) decent price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Another Venice restaurant that offers a great view of the Grand canal but just OK on the food end. We had a good but expensive Cicchetti (local version of anitpasto, heavy on fish), two inexpensive and average pasts dishes, and one bottle of middling Chianti. 70 Euro (approx. $100).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Casualtraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“inedible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We ate here as it was a nice location and had a seperate vegetarian menu which was suitable for 2 of our party of 4. The food was absolutely awful-one of the meals totally inedible. Of course the waiters couldn't have cared less. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tgs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location, location, etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

On the edge of the Grand Canal, footsteps from the Rialto Bridge and market it couldn't be better situated. Despite this it's a relative oasis of calm and a good place to spend an hour watching Venice go by.

I didn't eat, the reviews on food are patchy, but the service was good and the drinks were relatively inexpensive. It was a nice day and in those circumstances this is a great place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo_Fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My daughter and I stopped here for lunch last month. The location is great, right on the canal, great people watching. The food was good, but expensive. The waitstaff were very nice and responsive. It is a typical touristy place, but sometimes that is just what you are looking for!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Vergnano 1882 also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
 

Been to Caffe Vergnano 1882? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing