We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Continental Venice
Ranked #165 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location, expensive.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The location is good, close to the train and bus station.
The restaurant is on the Grabd Canal, so breakfast is nice on the terrace if you beware the seagulls and pugeons.
The hotel is old, but well maintained.
The staff was friendly.
The rooms are old, not very nice, the bathrooms was redecorated, new and the bed was fine.
Good wifi

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NViorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    541
    320
    134
    95
See reviews for
298
680
85
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location for me was excellent - I wanted a hotel that did not require me to have to negotiate the boats and canals and this was exactly that. It is a 5 minute walk from the station. It is as mentioned on one of the other reviews a good walk if you want to be near San Marco. There are a couple of routes you can take and there are signs up - although you need to keep an eye on where you are going as you can stray.
I was delighted when my shutters were opened and I had a corner room with a view of the canal. I think there is only one lift and can see why some of the other reviewers found this an issue as the hotel seems to have lots of ups and downs (I think its made up of a combination of buildings) and if you are in the wrong section you would have no lift access.
My room was lovely and very nicely decorated, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were marvellous (not always the case in some hotels) I am imagining from some of the reviews that there are possibly rooms that are older and in need of attention. The lobby does look a little dated or shabby chic ...
Staff were all helpful.
Breakfast is delightful on the canal but a word of warning - take all the items you want from the buffet as if you sit outside and decide to go back for more, your leftovers will be descended on by the pesky pigeons.
The map given by reception is not helpful as not all the place names are on it so I'd suggest paying 2.50 euros for a tourist one from the shop by the train station. (well that's the one I got and it was excellent).

Room Tip: I had 377 and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TiggyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here the last couple if days of our honeymoon and we enjoyed it very much. The hotel is very central, just 3 minute walk from the train station and near the "vaporetta" boat station that will get you almost anywhere.
The room although small was very clean.
The breakfast could have a larger variety of breads and cakes. But on the bright side you can have breakfast right next to the grand canal.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorilux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We checke in for 3 nights and had two rooms for a family of five. This was picked by our travel agent. We travel often and stay in 4-5 stars hotels world wide but since we never had been to Venice we thought let's just take our travel agents advice and go with this hotel since it said centrally located. As soon as we checked in my jaw dropped. It has old office style carpet that stinks like vomit, there is old crumble stained two chairs in the room. Very very old room we opened our window it was facing some kind of dumpster. We were given two rooms on the first floor but in actuality we had to take weird swirly stairs and steps into different hallways to get to our room. I really can't under stand why this is even called a hotel. It's like an old 50's motel or inn. We quickly looked online and booked another hotel for the next two nights at Colombina hotel near the San Marco square. We checked out and went to Colomina and let me tell you Wow now this is a wonderful hotel. Now I can have a good night sleep. The only good thing I can say about the hotel Continental is that it's very close to the train station walkable distance were you don't need to pay for a water taxe which is pretty expensive. One way is 60 to 80 euros. And the staff at this hotel are very friendly. The old rooms have nothing to do with there hospitality and good customer service. The beds wer very clean too. But the whole hotel itself is very old that's it. Not my type of place. Hope to get my money back which they haven't refunded yet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank schiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Middletown
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here based on the recommendation of a travel agent since we were departing on the train. There were a lot of good things about this hotel but I would not stay here again.

On the good side - the place was clean, nice size rooms, large bathroom, good water pressure and warm water for the showers, shampoo and tooth brush supplied, located on the canal and short walking distance to a self serve laundromat. There was free wifi which worked well in our room. Breakfasts were very good with a large variety of choices. There is outdoor seating on the terrace overlooking the canal. Staff were friendly. If you are staying one night and arriving and departing from the train station then this is a good place for you.

The A/C barely cooled the room so at night we opened the windows only to be woken but the noise outside of our room late into the night and early in the morning. It is very close to the train station but far away from everything else. We were told its a 30 minute walk from St. Mark's Square but it took us an hour to get there - 40 minutes of walking and 15-20 minutes for getting lost which is very easy to do in Venice! We booked a tour and left 45 minutes before only to arrive after it had left. There is a waterbus nearby but it meant standing on a long line during the busy times of day/evening and being packed in with a boat full of people. Even if you are a fast walker and don't get lost its still an hour round trip to get to St. Mark's Square for tours or sightseeing which is tiring in the hot weather. If you want to get in lots of sightseeing a short period of time the location made it difficult. Most of the restaurants recommended by TripAdvisor in Venice were closer to St. Marks Square so not convenient. Staff gave us maps with our destination written on the map but often we found the destination in a completely different location than they indicated. So while I liked the hotel I must say for myself the location was not a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluebirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Small clean rooms with a nice bathroom attached. Elevator was interesting but worked for us. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. Enjoyed our stay in Venice and the Hotel made a good retreat for breaks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good location overlooking Grand Canal with good service by main waiters, Food was average and not to standard of a 4 star hotel. Verandah seating is good overlooking canal. Prices high as usual for Venice

Room Tip: Hope rooms better than restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#156 of 385 in Venice
2,064 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#202 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#171 of 385 in Venice
799 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,923 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#264 of 385 in Venice
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Venice

Property: Hotel Continental Venice
Address: Lista di Spagna | Cannaregio 166, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice. Situated in the heart of Cannaregio, this 4 star hotel is beautifully positioned in one of the most authentic parts of Venice, the Jewish Ghetto. Guests will have the pleasure of sleeping in a charming historic building which was once the former home of a noble Venetian family. After undergoing extensive renovations it is now one of the foremost 4 star hotels in Venice. Our enviable position makes exploring this unique city a dream. 93 Rooms Singles, couples, groups and business travellers can choose from a variety of single, double and triple rooms. We offer unusually large rooms in Venice and many of our guestrooms have outstanding views of the Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Continental Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing