We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Venice
Ranked #162 of 386 Hotels in Venice
kidwelly
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“location”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

a good location for train station breakfast is ok in summer i would imagine it would be nice in the outside area on the water but we were there in the winter for a rugby match so we dont know. And a few good drinking and eating holes close by if you look if you look for them

Room Tip: a good location for train station and shopping area and a good few cheap places to eat and drink if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaKidwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    501
    292
    124
    89
See reviews for
268
630
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here with a tour group. Any hotel that easily deals with a busload of tourists deserves extra stars anyway. The staff were friendly and helpful on all levels. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and kept me going all day. The location is wonderful - just a few minutes walk from the train station, and a million beautiful little shops and cafes all around. Room was absolutely spotless, and endless hot water. The hotel has a lovely "old world" feel about it, the lobby is particularly beautiful. Water taxi pulls up out the front. I would definately stay here again - either with a tour group or independantly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We caught a flight into Venice and went by train, so we experienced both travel options and feel confident of being able to comment on both.
Caught the airport bus to Venice main bus station, and walked up and over two bridges to our Hotel and stayed in this beautiful hotel, also only a very short walking distance from the rail station. This was the second time we stayed at Hotel Continental, based on our previous visit two years ago, and we weren't disappointed. Our room overlooked the canal, with wide windows that allowed us to stand and watch the passing water traffic but with timber shutters for privacy. The room was spacious and inviting and very clean, as was the bathroom.The buffet breakfast was huge, with so much variety of both hot and cold dishes, European, Western, Asian, and the staff were very friendly. We were so close to everything, and walked each day to San Marco and around all the laneways, up and over bridges, stopping to eat at some of the restaurants on the way, and to also buy souvenirs. Sometimes we passed tourists dragging their suitcases over the little bridges, searching for their hotel stuck away in some little back lane, and we felt sorry for them, with us being so close to the rail station. We caught the People Mover monorail out to the cruise ship terminal for 1 euro, as against some people paying exorbitant amounts to go by gondola or water taxi! We walked and walked everywhere and found how convenient the Hotel Continental was. The day we left by train in the afternoon, the hotel stored our luggage for us and allowed us use of the foyer and bathroom prior to our train trip to Paris. The hotel is close to many shops and restaurants. All in all, it was an ideal place to stay and is highly recommended. (And the hotel doesn't know I've written this!)

Room Tip: Just ask when booking if you can have a room overlooking the canal. The staff will do their best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosaleigh2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the staff were excellent. They accomodated most of our needs really quickly and were very knowledgeable about the area. We had a great views from the room and breakfast were really good. The hotel is situated near all the ammenities you might need and was very convenient without the business of the more popular locations. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this very convenient hote. I took the bus from the air port to Piazza Roma then walked over the newest bridge in Venice past the train staion to the hotel. The room was ready early and we settled in. The rooms are a little smal by American standard but clean and servicable. The full American breakfast is wonderful. The staff was courteous and helpful when asked for information. When we left by train the short walk to the train station was a snap. Area resturants were good and offered decent meals for decent prices. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Location was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarrantTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a bunch of miserable, unfriendly, unhelpful sods at reception, when checking- in. The world is not situated around a shoe shaped country. Remember my Euro and Dollars pay your wages, if you do not like your job, resign and a eastern block country person will gladly do your job, for much less and at least with smile on his and her face. Remove Free Wi- Fi, it never worked properly for the two days, misleading advertisement, not sure it does work properly anyway. Location was great from the train station. Housekeeping was always friendly, and the rooms clean and tidy. FB staff worked hard at breakfast, which was OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location is very great, on a shopping street, in a walking distance from train station.

The lobby looks great. Some of the reception staff look tricky and a bit aggressive (to other guests, not to me.)

We arrived at 8.30 am. They managed to have me checked-in but the room was not ready. I left my luggage there and went out. When I came back in late afternoon, the luggage was already in the room. A staff insisted to bring me to the room even if I said no. I realized afterward that the hotel is like labyrinth, that's why they insisted to bring me to the room.

As far as I see, the hotel has 3 buildings connected and it looks like a single building from outside. Each building has different floor heights. This means that there has to be stairs between each connection point on each floor.

We got room #229 in the front part of the hotel. When we use lift, which is in the deepest part of the hotel, getting off on 2nd floor, I have to walk up on 4-step stairs, then turn left for a step, then turn right and step down on the stairs, then turn left a bit, then turn right immediately and take about-10-step stair up. So, make sure you come with light luggage if you would like to stay here.

The room is acceptable--old but clean. The air-condition does not seem to make the room warm though. The pillow is a bit too thin for me. The wall is however thin, but I do not hear much from outside. I heard sneeze from the next room and toilet flashing from above floor, but it did not bother me. I still had an okay sleep.

The breakfast is okay in European standard, but it is the same everyday. There are toaster, scramble eggs, bacon, and boiled eggs as hot food. The rest is cold food. Hot chocolate I ordered from waitress tastes very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L-i-Y-i-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#168 of 386 in Venice
1,949 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 386 in Venice
1,522 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#101 of 386 in Venice
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Venice

Property: Hotel Continental Venice
Address: Lista di Spagna | Cannaregio 166, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice. Situated in the heart of Cannaregio, this 4 star hotel is beautifully positioned in one of the most authentic parts of Venice, the Jewish Ghetto. Guests will have the pleasure of sleeping in a charming historic building which was once the former home of a noble Venetian family. After undergoing extensive renovations it is now one of the foremost 4 star hotels in Venice. Our enviable position makes exploring this unique city a dream. 93 Rooms Singles, couples, groups and business travellers can choose from a variety of single, double and triple rooms. We offer unusually large rooms in Venice and many of our guestrooms have outstanding views of the Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing