We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Venice
Ranked #162 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed there as part of a tour group. Finding our room is a maze and we keep getting lost. Rooms are located on every 1/2 floors. There are so many staircases and the lift is very very small. The room size is just nice but this hotel needs a refurbishment. The rooms are old looking and the toilet amenities are old too. The shower box is very small. Breakfast is one of the worst as compared to the rest of the Italy hotel that we stayed in. The heater in the room works fine for a cold Dec month. Walking back to the hotel fm St Marks square takes about 20 mins if you don't stop to browse at all the shops along the way. Nearby there's supermarket and ice creams shops which sells very nice ice cream. Will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMaMa7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    502
    292
    124
    89
See reviews for
268
632
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel has a rustic charm, complementary to the extremely charming city of Venice. The hotel is like a little labyrith, with many staircases and mirrors. All these add to the beauty.
Personally, I find the room was alright, though I agree that it needs refurbishment. When I was there recently, everything was in working order. A mere 5 minutes walk from the train station, it is in a great location. There's free wifi too!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank limkopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have stayed here, but recently friends also stayed here and we all agree it is well over priced, the pictures are not a good over view, some rooms are small and really need a big over haul.
The location is ok, its such an easy place to walk around.
Staff not friendly is a big minus, for this reason I say shop around.
Close to many Cafes. In house breakfast good..be aware of this hotels bathrooms they are terrible while the first impression in the lobby is great..close to the train station is a big plus.

Room Tip: Ask to view rooms first some are very small with terrible bathrooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Alfreton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Bathroom flooded, stains on the bedroom floor. Some of the staff were friendly, others...not so much. Lobby area and restaurant look very nice but do not reflect on the rest of the hotel. The breakfast, however, was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanBia, General Manager at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, it will help us to improve our hotel service and staff maners, we also apologize for the inconvient of the water flooding up, we have already provided that it would not happen anymore.

Always at your disposal, please accept our
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was here as part of a tour. We’d been warned that it is owned by a bachelor who is frugal. That’s apparently tour manager code for shabby and poorly maintained.

The wifi was only useable in the lobby.

The room was very small but reasonable for a single; unfortunately it had the aura of a monk’s cell.

Light bulbs were burned out or missing; clearly not a new problem. Cords on lights were frayed with exposed wires.

What also concerned me about the hotel was the indifference of the staff. We were there during the floods, and the lobby did flood. I asked if the hotel porter would help me with my bag should I leave during a time when the lobby was under water; they said No – helping a guest get her bag from the stairs to the front door was not their job. Luckily the water had receded by the time I left.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanBia, General Manager at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Madam,
we really apologize for bad manners used by our staff at your departure and we'd like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor that help us to solve the inconvenients a Guest could meet during his stay at our hotel.

We thank you and we please to excuse us.
Always at your disposal, please accept our

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was a bit bummed by the prices in Venice, ($300 US dollary/ night) and even a bit bummed by the condition of this hotel, but the kind staff at this hotel and the great location (proximity to the train station) made the experience well worthwhile. The breakfast was fine and we really enjoyed being on the water while we stayed in Venice. Thank you to the kind a professional staff as they navigated difficult situations with many unhappy guests displaced by the flooding in Venice. They kept their word and made the best of a difficult situation. This is all you can ask for in a city that demands flexibility of its visitors and residents on a regular basis. I love Venice with all of its flaws, I still think she is PERFECT!

Room Tip: Travel light! Their are many unexpected stairs in this facility and the elevators are frightfully s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotelonly one night as part of a tour group in October. The room was tiny and had a musty smell due to routine flooding in Venice, I assume. The service at the front desk was indifferent as if they were totally disinterested. In the morning as we packed to leave I found ants in the bed. The location is great with lots of selection of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#168 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#252 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Venice

Property: Hotel Continental Venice
Address: Lista di Spagna | Cannaregio 166, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice. Situated in the heart of Cannaregio, this 4 star hotel is beautifully positioned in one of the most authentic parts of Venice, the Jewish Ghetto. Guests will have the pleasure of sleeping in a charming historic building which was once the former home of a noble Venetian family. After undergoing extensive renovations it is now one of the foremost 4 star hotels in Venice. Our enviable position makes exploring this unique city a dream. 93 Rooms Singles, couples, groups and business travellers can choose from a variety of single, double and triple rooms. We offer unusually large rooms in Venice and many of our guestrooms have outstanding views of the Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing