We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate Hotel - Budget rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Universo Nord Hotel
Ranked #263 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Moderate Hotel - Budget rooms”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Location is awesome, wifi is advantage, you get to choose if you need breakfast on the same morning - breakfast costs 5 Euro! really cheap

Except reception, other staff were sad and gloomy.
There were few ants inside our room

Room Tip: - Best to backpackers - prime location with cheap rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    249
    308
    100
    84
See reviews for
185
299
83
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is only good if you are looking for a cheap alternative in Venice. There are not many hotels selling at Euro58 per night with breakfast over the weekend (Friday and Saturday). We booked this hotel via Venere.com becos of affordability, wifi free (although its limited to just the lobby area) and most importantly of its location which is near the railway and bus station.

It was convenient for us as we were coming by train from Milan and we intend to use the bus (the cheapest alternative) to go to Airport for our flight home via Paris. The hotel is a mere 2 mins walk from the Rail Station and there are plenty to see right in front of the hotel. Had we decide to choose other areas, we would need water taxis (higher cost) or we will need to carry our heavy luggage which is not wise as there plenty of bridges with stairs within Venice.

The room we stayed is quite huge, offering pretty basic amenities with a window view of the noisy main street. Surprisingly, the room is sound proof once we close the window. The bed we slept on is quite dated where we can feel the spring of the mattress. Breakfast was simple with bread, croissant, hams, cereals, yogurt and fresh juice. No fresh fruits though. But they have 2 coffee makers that offers various choices of coffee.

All in all, this hotel is meant for people on budget and who intend to stay near the railway or bus station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK_Leech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Near train station and waterbus. Friendly helpful staff. Lots to see and do right near hotel. Was aware of no elevator because of trip adviser reviews so we were prepared to lug our bags up 4 flights of stairs. Help was available if we wanted. Room OK . Large clean bathroom . Because it is an older hotel we found it charming and very Venician.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Good Location. The hotel was located near the train station and the water bus. There were many restaurants and souvenir shops near the hotel. The hotel have not the elevator (lift) but there was a bell boy who carry baggage. The bathroom was very small. The Internet Wifi was available at Lobby only. You can't used wifi in your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youneverwalkalone555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend really had a good time at this hotel. Our room was a little pricey but considering the location of the hotel it wasnt so bad. The staff was really helpful and friendly which really made our trip a lot better. It was nice having breakfast included and the croissants were always fresh and made the hotel smell very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After adding at the last minute Venice to my itinerary, the only hotel avail was the Universo Nord.
The ONLY good thing about that hotel is the location, very close to everything. But what a dissapointment it was. Old hotel, no lift, poor service, and the room well I could write a book about it...I insited on getting a room on 1st floor, which has a lot of steps to get there. also you have to leave your key everytime you leave the hotel....inconvenient...The room was facing the street, you might as well say I was on the street litterally, open the window shutters and you can talk to people on the street. The closet is an old armoire, which has a long stick with a hook to put your clothes in it...good thing I was there for only 2 nights. The bathroom is old and the hairdryer is something else...I bought one 2 doors down. No place to put anything beside a night table. The breakfast was ok. doable I guess. Would I go back...NO...I would not recommend that hotel to anybody...stay away if you can. Expensive for what you get, although everything is expensive in Venice. Hotel is also dirty..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nicole1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Best part of this hotel was the location. Very close to train station, just had to walk around corner. Water taxi station close by too.They kept our luggage for the day, so that was convenient. It is fine for a night. Morning breakfast staff are tired and not a happy crew and the breakfast was just so,so. Washroom could use a make over. We found the front staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We were in the inside and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xcountry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#305 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#201 of 385 in Venice
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#247 of 385 in Venice
409 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#235 of 385 in Venice
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo Nord Hotel

Property: Universo Nord Hotel
Address: Lista di Spagna 121, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universo Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Nord Venice
Hotel Universo Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing