We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Universo Nord Hotel
Ranked #251 of 385 Hotels in Venice
2 reviews
“Great location.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The most outstanding point of this hotel is the great location and it's very easy to find. As you come out from .St Lucia train station, turn right and you can see a tourist information counter, then walk straight ahead, you'll reach the hotel within 2 minutes. Even though it's a bit far from Piazza San Marco, you can easily get there by the waterbus.

Service and staff were ok. The staffs speak quite good English.Breakfast was as expected, nothing special but adequate.

However the cleanliness of the room was an issue. It was a bit run down. The carpet was very old, dusty and worn out. Beds were not so comfortable. The refrigerator had stains from previous spilled drinks so we did not use it at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafinazMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    242
    300
    98
    77
See reviews for
177
289
81
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel conviniently located near train station and within walking distance from bus terminal.Lots of shops and restaurants around. Easy access to all parts of the city. Clean hotel, breakfast simple but adequate, coffee offered could be better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Don't do it!! The staff were rude and dodgy. The rooms were FERAL, not only dated but dirty. There was a sewerage smell in the bathroom. We weren't even brave enough to eat the breakfast we paid for there. The only good thing was the location, but I would rather lug my bags around for an hour next time than stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jana_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel has a GREAT location. You can come by train as late as you want into Venice because the hotel is just a few buildings down the street.
The breakfast is average, not a lot of seating so get there before 9:30 unless you want to stand and wait for a free table.
Venice is a mosquito city, so be prepared for mosquitoes!
There is FREE Wi-Fi but only in the reception area.

Overall, you´re in VENICE its not about having all the perfect comforts in a hotel.

If you are an explorer and only use the hotel to sleep and have breakfast in, like we did, this place is PERFECT

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizInAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2011 before departing on a cruise. We had no choice in the hotel and I had read a couple of bad reviews on here before getting there.

I emailed the hotel prior to arrival asking for the best route to the hotel, they were very helpful and emailed me the info.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The tax that people are referring to was introduced in 2011 and the guy on the desk appeared embarrassed to ask us for it.

The breakfast was great, continental, but pleasant and everything was fresh. The breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was ok, quite quaint and Venetian - added to the charm of staying in Venice.

When we got back from the cruise we had hours to kill before our flight so wanted to offload our baggage. There are places you can check your baggage in but these were all full having queued for about an hour. I suggested to my partner we ask at the hotel if we could leave our bags there as we'd stayed prior to the cruise. And surprisingly they said yes, we were really grateful, and it showed just how friendly, helpful and welcoming they were.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is really right in the middle of Venice. Nice clean rooms. Nice breakfast, showers working ; ) OBS Venice added a new tax for stop Venice sinking in the mud 3€ per person per night. Wich booking.com did not inform about

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweden_Lena019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel was pretty basic but that is what we were looking for. It was clean, safe and serviceable. I am a female travelling alone with a 14 year old girl so security was a priority. I was worried about being so close to a train station but i needn't have been the area was fine. Having our accomodation so close meant we didn't waste hours trying to find a hotel in the cobbled street maze that is Venice. We off-loaded our bags to the porter who for a tip carried them up three flights of stairs to our room. We then went outside, there are restaurants and shops around the hotel, it is an easy signposted walk to all the main sights especially Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. I would definitely stay at this hotel again just for the ease of dropping off the bags. I saw many people struggling with suitcases over cobblestones trying to find their hotels.
The staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was sufficient and the rest of the time we spent soaking up beautiful Venice. I am sure there are some very fancy hotels in Venice but for me the city was special all by itself the hotel was just somewhere to store the bags and sleep.

On our last day we packed up and made the very short walk to the train station... Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macantt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#198 of 385 in Venice
910 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#272 of 385 in Venice
552 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#338 of 385 in Venice
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#229 of 385 in Venice
654 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#252 of 385 in Venice
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo Nord Hotel

Property: Universo Nord Hotel
Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 121, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Universo Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Nord Venice
Hotel Universo Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing