We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly, affordable, comfortable.”
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hesperia
Ranked #86 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This hotel is very close to the railway station in a quiet calle in view of the canal. You can walk to St Mark's in about 15 or 20 minutes and all the vaporetto routes pass close by. The family who run the hotel are pleasant, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. My room was warm (it was minus 2 outside!), comfortable and clean. It was a little noisy though, but this was due to the age of the building I think. In other hotels single rooms are often inconvenient and run down but in this case the room was fine. I thought the hotel was very reasonably priced given its location. Breakfast was ample and tasty and is included in the price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharine_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

A small family run hotel overlooking the canal. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is situated near to shops, restaurants and not far from the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memories4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We booked this hotel through its website for 4 nights the first week of November, paying the low but non-refundable rate for a mid-level room (king bed, full private bath). Booking was easy, and email confirmation was instant.
After landing at Venice airport, we opted for the lagoon "bus" service, buying our tickets at a booth in the airport, then walking outside and around to the back, where there is a dock. Got on the boat, then rode across the lagoon to the Fondemente Nuove landing, from where we walked across the Cannaregio sestiere to the Ponte Guglie, then up the Cannaregio Canal a block to the hotel. A great way to enter the city and get our legs back under us after the long overnight flight to Italy!
We were greeted warmly and offered two rooms, including an upgrade to a larger room on the third floor (note: no elevator) overlooking the canal, for only an additional 10 Euros per night. We took it, and were delighted. Every day we were able to look out our windows and watch a real working canal - vaporettos (local waterbus service), taxis, ambulances, police, freight, commerce. Strangely, it was never noisy.
The room not only had the king-size bed but also a desk and a daybed, yet was large enough to move around comfortably. There were also two bedside tables with reading lamps - perfect for us. There was a nice closet, with a small refrigerator and a safe. The bathroom had a large shower and was kept spic and span.
Breakfast - which was included with the room - was served buffet-style in a pleasant dining area on the ground floor. Lots of good choices, including fruit and cereals, yogourt and croissants, and great coffee served at your table.
For 82 Euros per night, there is no question this was a great bargain for such a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikerosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The room was aweful for its price. During our italy trip, this was the worst room which we had and the room didnt have even a television. And the staff was not ready to change our room even though they had other vacant rooms. Bathroom was too congested to even have a shower properly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SR786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hesperiaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Hesperia, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2011

Dear Sir,
i'm deeply sorry in reading your comments on our hotel. the room price was euro 60.00 daily for a standard double room with ensuite bathroom and full buffet breakfast i don't think it was expensive ..... the tv was not present the first night because we were waiting for the new ones but you forgot to mention that the second night you were provided with the tv....you were offered a superior room , larger room with canal view, with a small supplement of euro 10.00 daily which you refused to pay ....so you had assigned the room booked .
We always try to do our utmost to accomplish with the clients request which in fact we did but sometimes clients are not willing to be satisfied and in this case we cannot do anything.
Sincerely Yours
Martina and Carolina Derai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

wasn't looking for anything special on this trip but pleasant location, very easy access to ferry from airport and just few minutes walk from train/bus station, on the canal , and easy stroll into san polo/san marco - room clean and serviceable , perfectly warm even with sub zero outside , friendly helpful staff and easy atmosphere . Breakfast adequate - perhaps a litle basic but fine. Good reasonable hotel for no frills short stay

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlettillidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Very good hotel with a excelent location. It has a very comfortable room and the cost-benefit is the best.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snopn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Will and have suggested it to anyone visiting Venice. Great value for the hotel and breakfast is included. The staff in reception go above and beyond!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa2045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#66 of 385 in Venice
530 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#125 of 385 in Venice
445 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#89 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#96 of 385 in Venice
500 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 385 in Venice
454 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 385 in Venice
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
#105 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $65 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing