We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hesperia
Ranked #90 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have stayed in a triple room for 02 nights in early Dec 2013. This is a good and affordable hotel although we have difficulty locating the hotel initially as it is located about 15 to 20 minutes away from the train station. Luckily we have been assigned to the first floor, otherwise, it would be an issue carrying three large luggage without elevator. Room and bathroom are cleaned everyday. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. Staff is really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13_Traveller_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I wrote few years ago an enthusiastic review for Hotel Hesperia. I was pleased with the hotel, mainly taking into consideration the very affordable price. Few months ago I wanted to book again a room in Hesperia. A bad surprise was the rate. Double rooms were now at 135 euro. We finally booked a gracious B&B, with open view over Giudecca canal/sea, for only 80 euros/night. No more Hesperia for me if it stays on that price level.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 100attitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hesperiaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Hesperia, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Sir,

i'm surprised in reading your comments as you should know prices vary accordingly to the seasons . Of course if you wanted to book our hotel at a cheap price , which we still have in some periods of the year, you could have contacted us and we could have proposed you some dates where the prices are lower.
I do not think you can compare an Hotel with a bed and breakfast as you do , in the bb the owners make business renting rooms in their home without employing staff and giving services completely different from those you find in a Hotel. On top the Giudecca is not Venice downtown and being an island obliges people to use the boat for any movement which Venice city doesn't require.
In any case i hope you will enjoy or enjoyed the stay in our city ( i do not know when you were supposed to travel ) and send you our best personal regards

Martina and Carolina Derai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked Hesperia hotel for 2 nights. I should say something about those nights:
Hotel is small (old)building without elevator but rooms are redesigned perfectly.
Our room was in the first floor, it was quiet during night and we had good sleep.
Room and bathroom are realy clean and have a good size.
Breakfast is enough for 3star hotel.
Note: staff is really helpful and friendly, this is very important for first time travelers in Venice.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Naser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very welcoming friendly hotel. Small and just off the beaten track. Walking distance from station and bus depot. Equally as handy for vaporetto 5 mins away. Inexpensive and good restraunts and bars on the doorstep. A little bit noisy at night and in the morning but there is a building renovation opposite which will be completed before too long of course. Great Bar just down the ally from front entrance, turn right then left can't miss it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

He stay here for two nights during Thanksgiving week and we found the bathroom to be really small but the room was clean and the front desk people were nice. The breakfast was adequate and we love how close it was to everything. At times it was really noisy in the middle of the night that we were woken up.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank llj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here because it was so close to gam gam/jewish ghetto across the street. The one thing we obsess over is cleanliness and this hotel let us down in that area. Some hairs and grungy type of stuff everywhere. Front desk people were nice, and location was awesome (if you're Jewish) but the hotel was pretty dirty I got to say. Also we got put by a room next to the canal, try to avoid that as there are more mosquitoes there and you will get eaten alive.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Simcha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hesperiaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Hesperia, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

I'm really sorry to read your negative comments on our Hotel,
the Cleaness is always one of our most important aim , and as you can read on the previous comments almost anybody complaint about it .
The Canal view rooms are our superior ones and being in Venice and having the possibility to have a room overlooking a typical canal in my opinion is a must and i'm really sorry that you didn't appreciate, however the mosquitos are present in the entire city and not because of the canal but because of the parks and green .
Hope this will be self -explanitive I send you our best regards

Martina e Carolina Derai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for three nights and we can't find a bad thing to say about this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and we couldn't fault the service. It's conveniently close to the train station and within walking distance of lots of restaurants and the famous sights. The best advice we were given by the hotel was to buy a water bus ticket so we could just hop on and off at any stop that appealed to us as many times as we liked during the period the ticket was valid for. We went for the 36 hour ticket which at 25 Euros each was great value and much cheaper than paying for guided tours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara_B186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#102 of 387 in Venice
591 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#53 of 387 in Venice
555 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#82 of 387 in Venice
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#80 of 387 in Venice
1,190 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#128 of 387 in Venice
456 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 387 in Venice
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
#105 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $82 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing