We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well situated”
Review of Hotel Bisanzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bisanzio
Ranked #58 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We chose this hotel as well reviewed, close to St Marks (San Marco) and were not disappointed. It is very clean, the staff are all very friendly, recommended good local restaurants and only about 50 yards from the canal when you arrive by water taxi. Incidentally this was €120 when booked at the booth in the airport on arrival and the same when the hotel booked one for the return. The three rooms we had booked were all a good size - two on the first floor and one on the fourth with a balcony where we could enjoy the sunshine and see the campanile over the rooftops. A decent base and you can enjoy Venice before or after the day trippers and cruise ship passengers have left when it becomes so much quieter.

Room Tip: We didn't have a bad room - either basic or with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gentleman_of_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 752 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Where to stay in Venice? You are spoiled for choice but many choices are bad. Bisanzio is a small but elegant hotel in an excellent position: up a passageway just next to Chiesa della Pieta on the Riva degli Sciavoni. This is the waterfront seawards from San Marco. The four San Zaccharia boat stations are just here giving a wide variety of direct destinations by waterbus from your doorstep including the Lido, Murano, Burano and Torcello. The Riva gives you the magnificent view across the bacino to San Giorgio and a short walk to the sea-side of San Marco. The back route takes you through a pleasant districts of the town to reach San Marco or the Rialto by short walks. The hotel is clean and smart and the staff are notably helpful, cheerful and efficient. They really do know their stuff and are helpful to experienced Venetian hands and beginners alike. The breakfast is abundant but you go out for dinner. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. We have made three visits and all very happy. Why am I telling you this? They will be all booked up next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lungipiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is very well situated, spotlessly clean and the beds have a memory foam mattress.Our room had beautiful Mirano glass chandeliers and mirrors and a walk in wardrobe/cupboards.The communal areas were also beautifully decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was very healthy with a good choice of fresh bread including Rye. My mum said that the poached eggs were amazing. The shower was basic compared to the opulence of the rest of the room and the air con/heating controls had a strong red flashing light which we had to cover at night. The staff were helpful and polite and made us feel welcome.This Hotel has been rated as three star but is worthy of a higher score. I will defiantly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorr110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Never been to Venice. This hotel is right off the vaporetto stop which is very convenient.
The staff is fantastic. Extremely helpful and friendly. Gave us good directions and recommendations especially when trying to get a way to the airport. Close to st marks and a short walk to Rialto bridge.
The only drag was the hardwood floors that creak so u hear everyone above you. I guess that carpeting gets moldy here

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel has the best to offer- great location- just one turn and straight from the water buses- maybe 5 minute walk- never was afraid of getting lost because all we had to do is make our way to the canal and work our way back. The employees are very generous with their time and suggestions, and have a great sense of humor. The hotel offers taxis to Morano Island with tour of glass factory for 10 Euro- but didn't charge us when we got back. I was in room 405 with a terrace balcony- it was great- made it official that I was in Venice. The folks at the hotel do a great job of trying to accommodate their guests- they wanted to make sure we were happy and enjoying our stay- not only of the hotel but Venice as well. The breakfast was fine- not many folks eat big breakfasts anyways- they offer a european brakfast- fruit, yogurt, pastries, etc. and it was all fresh and filling. They have a money exchange at the front desk, which made it nice to not have to go look.

Room Tip: I had room 405 which had a terrace balcony that overlooked some courtyards from other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csmosna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had great expectations about the Bisanzio Hotel in Venice. I have to say it is very well located, clean and the beds are very confortable, but the hotel is not oustanding! Poor breakfast, No amenities (just a one in all foam) and no special treatment...
I had given the information about how speacial the date was for us, but didn't feel any kind of attention about this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Busetti, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bisanzio, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Even if we are happy to read the guest found the hotel comfortable we are at the same time regretful for the impression of poor service and lack of attention in relation to the customer expectation. Our staff is well known for its kindness and care and it is very odd to read we did not pay the attention required after a request has been done. I suppose in this case the request wasn’t specific or perhaps we undervalued the situation supposing that our renowned standard of service was enough to ensure a pleasant stay. It was maybe a sin of presumption. Thank you anyway for this comment that we consider as a stimulus to improve our attention for an always better service. Gabriele Brunelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located, being just a 10 min stroll from St Marc's square and just 5 mins from the San Zaccaria waterbus station and water taxi point , close to several good small eating places. The reception staff are friendly, very helpful and the hotel itself is spotlessly clean everywhere. The rooms are spacious , air conditioned, en suite and well furnished , the beds are very comfortable and there is a safe box to store your valuables . There are no tea or coffee facilities but they will lend you a kettle and some cups free of charge . The price includes a good breakfast, as close as you will get to a Full English in an Italian hotel .
It is an excellent base from which to explore Venice , we couldn't fault it and would certainly stay there again . Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but don't expect a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#76 of 385 in Venice
913 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#71 of 385 in Venice
1,031 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,468 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bisanzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bisanzio

Address: Castello 3651, 30122 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bisanzio)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#57 Family Hotel in Venice
#78 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $115 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bisanzio 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Venice, in a location that is extremely quiet but close to all the principal attractions of the city, the Hotel Bisanzio occupies an ancient 16th-century palazzo that was once the home and “workshop” of Alessandro Vittoria, one of the most important Venetian sculptors of the 16th century and a student of the great Jacopo Sansovino. A recent, careful restoration has allowed the Hotel Bisanzio to preserve the fascination of an ancient Venetian palazzo that is, today, equipped with every modern amenity, to ensure a relaxing stay in a structure equipped with elevator, air-conditioning, LCD TV and Wi-Fi Internet access. Ease of access is not secondary when talking about Venice, where people almost always get around on foot. The Hotel Bisanzio is perfectly located, just 150 meters from the city's main public transportation stop (San Marco - Zaccaria), where all the lines for the other areas of the city and the adjacent islands arrive and depart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bisanzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bisanzio Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Bisanzio
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing