We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Hotel Gabrielli Venice”
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying at Hotel Gabrielli Venice”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The rooms and the bed sheets are clean. The batrooms are also very clean. Morning breakfast has very limted range of food and the same food is repeated in breakfast everday. Dinner was good and food was prepared and service was good. happy to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side and facing sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26496990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am happy that you where happy to stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

We hope to have the pleasure of welloming soon you, your family and friends at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    376
    135
    66
    51
See reviews for
143
524
58
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We recently spent a few nights at the Gabrielli, and with a few bumps generally enjoyed ourselves.

The location is great. Far enough away from San Marco that you're not mobbed every time you set foot outside, but still close enough for an easy walk. Castello itself is fun - small narrow calle to explore and some great restaurants but without the shoulder to shoulder scrum of San Marco or San Polo. Close to the Arsenale vaporetto stop, with a water taxi pick up spot directly in front means transportation options are good.

Like lots of Venetian hotels, the Gabrielli spreads over several connected buildings. Instead of the pink one with the name on the front, we were in the adjoining building to the east, with rooms overlooking the Ponte della Ca' de Dio. We could step out on our balconies and look out over the Basin of St Mark's and see the side view of San Giorgi Maggiore.

There is a pretty, but apparently unused garden behind the building, and a cool and shaded courtyard where you can sit and read; but the best part was the rooftop terrace. You could see from San Servolo, to Guidecca, across to Santa Maria della Salute, and the edge of the Doge's Palace. Watching the boats at night was almost hypnotic.

So, the bumps. Spread out over several buildings, getting from here to there could be a chore. From our room, down the elevator, along the hall, through the courtyard, through the dining room and up another elevator, then two long hallways and a flight of stairs to get to the rooftop.

The building is old. The floors creak and the beds are small and (a little) lumpy. But the bathrooms are marble-lined with big old fashioned tubs. And you can look out the window and watch boats going under the bridge and into the canal below your window.

The hotel advertises free wi-fi, but we found that there was only one spot in one of our adjoining rooms where we could actually get enough bandwidth to send/receive emails. But there is a free desktop computer and printer in the TV room off the lobby.

Only other drawback was the restaurant and bar staff. They seemed entirely uninterested in their jobs. There was no bar service on the rooftop, and the first time I asked at the ground floor bar for a drink to take upstairs I received a stern lecture about bringing the glass back down. I understood why the next day when I realized that the glasses I saw on the tables the first night were still sitting there 24 hours later.

The breakfast buffet include with our room was good, although pretty standard. After experiencing the bar service, and seeing the menu prices, we never tried any other meals there.

I would go back. I just wouldn't eat there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have windows overlooking a small canal (the Rio de la Ca' en Duo) and sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad_and_the_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed being with us and that you liked the location and the views of the hotel. We are awaiting you, your friends and family for the next stay in Venice and at
Hotel Gabrielli.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Venice.....
Well if you haven't experienced it atleast once in your lifetime....then you have missed something!.
Can't be more true...and if you go with such high expectations the hotel also has to be Spot On....and Gabrielli was just that.....

The loving moments:
- Old family run hotel
- Has a charm of its own
- Location one of the best <10 minutes walk from St. Marco Square>
- Check in is smooth....staff helpful
- Breakfast is sumptuous
- Free Wi fi
- Rooms and the building have a certain old world romantic charms about it
- Room size is good
- We requested for a room with good view <Bingo - We got it>, overlooking the lagoon
- Luggage storage facility available
- Free access to Roof top which offers amazing views of Venice

The not so loving moments:
- Dont remember. It was all good:)
- But please note the beds are a bit creeky, which we loved. But incase you are looking for contemporary styled and new age beds, furniture, this might not be the place you want to check in

Room Tip: Well ask for a room facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_o_o_logues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear client,

thank you for spending some time to post a review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I specially liked your advice: If you want a modern stylish hotel Hotel Gabrielli is not the place to go. If you are looking for a Hotel with venetian atmosphere and charme in a perfect location
Hotel Gabrielli is the right place.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family and friends soon in Venice we
send you our best regards.

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Ok so the bed was lumpy but that was the only negative to this quaint and lovely hotel just a stone throw from San Marco square and all that is happening in Venice

The architecture styling of this hotel was perfect Venice

The check-in was professional with nice gentlemen behind the counter that took the keys off hooks behind the counter, just like the 1950's movies

There was a restaurant out front of the hotel and free breakfast starts at 7am

We have stayed at the Westin Europa and Regina which is located perfectly also but this hotel really has some cool atmosphere, I would certainly not hesitate to go here again

Plus they have Free WiFi

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas8098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Deatr client,

thank you for having taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere of Hotel Gabrielli. We really emphasis on atmosphere and architecture and want to keep the charme of the palazzo and preserve it in modern times.

Please do not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends. We hope to have soon again the pleasure to wellcoming you at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved the roof top sitting area. Perfect and relaxing view of Venice. The location was great. Was a very pleasant surprise when we arrived to the hotel. Staff was helpful. Room was very comfortable and larger than expected!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nstuart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting such a nice review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
It is with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you, your family and friends soon at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The roof was really awesome, I enjoyed the food and the free breakfast was just fine. But all the people from the front desk to the waiters and waitresses were sweet, kind and professional. The location was perfect, central enough to get St Marks easily yet not as crowded as a few hundred meters down the walkway. We got everything we asked for as far as a balcony/view, and the room size was surprisingly large. I didn't realize there were a couple of cute courtyards which were so cute and well kept. Checking in and out was a breeze. We had a very romantic getaway and Hotel Gabrielli was a big reason it all was so perfect. Thanks for not being so over-the-top expensive too.

Greg and Vera
6/30/2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg_2_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli. I learn with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome soon your family and friends in Venice.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We were so excited to arrive at the Hotel and see its position right on the canal. We were lucky enough to have a view and balcony on the 5th floor. The views were amazing and there is also a rooftop area where everyone can enjoy the same views. The air conditioning was great as it was so hot in Venice while we were there. Staff were friendly and helpful. Definately would return. Thanks Hotel Gabrielli!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
I am particulary pleased to hear that the air condition worked perfectly as we made a great effort this winter to adjust airconditioning to work smoothly throughout the hotel.

We would very much love to welcome your friends and family and yourself of course in the near future.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#94 of 385 in Venice
677 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#63 of 385 in Venice
715 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,803 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 385 in Venice
995 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Property: Hotel Gabrielli
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#69 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#146 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing