We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #113 of 384 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 10, 2014

For me it's all about your expectation for the price you pay for a hotel, and this one fell very very short. Here are the reasons why:

- our room had thin walls, we could hear the conversation of the people in the next room.
- rooms are dated and tired
- beds were hard
- Wifi didn't work in the room. We told the front desk and they said they would look into it but they did nothing.
- shower drained poorly
- front desk service was average. It all just seemed a bit tired and uninspired. An example was their shirt-ironing service that closed at 5.30pm. I needed a shirt ironed after this and they refused to provide a board and iron for me to iron the shirt myself. Not something I'd encountered before in a three star, let alone a four.
- breakfast was comprehensive but average

The location is good but is less of an issue in Venice. Just about every hotel in Venice is in a great location and you can walk everywhere easily.

This is an overpriced four star hotel that is operating at a 2/3 star level. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I personnally regret that you did not enjoy your stay and will go through your points very carefully.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were treated very well. There was a hiccup on one night but after making a complaint, it was dealt with to our satisfaction. We are all human and sometimes things don't go to plan, but it added to our experience.

The hotel was on the front and we had a lagoon view room. The noise of the boats and one night a couple of lost, noisy Liverpudlians made it a bit noisy, but what do you expect from a waterfront room. We found the room clean and the cleaners did a good job throughout our stay.

The restaurant was very good having had a fantastic meal on our last night.

Would we go back to Venice - yes. Would we stay at this hotel again - sure would. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear client,

thank you so much for posting a review of your stay at hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
With pleasure I hear that you enjoyed your stay - as I get it mostly because of our friendly staff.
This is really the best compliment you can make us and I will certanly pass the message to my employees. We are awaiting you, your friends and family at the Hotel Gabrielli.

A warm welcome and arrividerci !

Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our 6th and last hotel of our 15 day trip to Italy. While very far from the train station and possibly inconvenient for a short stay in Venice, we would return for the fairly quiet location. During the morning it was crazy with tours letting folks off of water taxis and ferries. TONS of tourists. However by 7pm it was very quiet and romantic to stroll along the water with all the tourists gone. We had a water view room with a small terrace. The room furnishings were dated but clean. Due to the AC not being turned on yet, our room was quite uncomfortable and opening the terrace door was noisy, life on the water started around 5am and sleeping until day break was impossible. Breakfast offered many options including eggs, however do not go late as they do not replenish for those showing up just prior to closing. We found the staff the least friendly out of all our hotel stays, many times not acknowledging our coming or going. I can relate to the poster Judd1711 who complained. Upon our arrival after a long drive from Cinque Terre we were hoping for a cocktail in the bar, only to be told the bar was closed because the restaurant was busy. Really? The next night I went to the bar to find a group meeting and no bartender, I had to track down a staff member to get a glass of wine. Luckily there is a bar next door to the hotel. The roof garden is lovely and the hotel gets the best reward for bath towels over our other hotel stays. While I know Venice is expensive, we paid the most for our nights here than any other hotel. I would stay again if I found a better deal, otherwise I probably would look for a better value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are NOT quiet, the boats start early and you start hearing horns before daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear client,

thank you for posting a comment of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
We hope to have the possibility to welcoming you and your friends and family in the near furture.

Best regards,

Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotal Gabriello as part of a Grand Circle tour. We enjoyed our stay as the location was very good, the hotel was clean and the personnel truly tried hard to make things as pleasant as possible for all their visitors. The ferry stops were right near the front door and St Marks square was 10 to 15 minutes (four bridges) away.

Because we stayed in the beginning of the tourist season we believe the hotel was still ramping up with their facilities ready. So we had some fun experiences. We learned that the elevator had a mind of its own so you had to constantly push the button to get the elevator to stop at your floor. We never figured out how to turn the lights on to full intensity in our room. So we had a few early evenings. And then there was the evening when the fire alarm went off for no good reason and we learned not to look for coffee before the breakfast time formally opened. The included breakfast was very good with lots of variety.

Room Tip: You have to go to the roof top garden room and enjoy a glass of wine while overlooking Venice. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandSdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear client,

thank you takiing the time to post a review of your stay. You pointed out the location of the hotel and it is with pleasure that I read it. Please let me state just the following: The elevators do not memorize several stops. If somebody presses the 3rd floor and you press the 4 th thereafter,
the elevator goes to the 3rd, you than have to press the 4 th again.
The light in the room is with a dimmer : If you press shortly the light turns off or on. If you keep the finger on the interrupter and press slightly the light dimms.
As far as the fire alarm is concerned it was really a bad coincidence. It was a false alarm but
it took some time to switch it off - I can only appologize for the inconvenience.

I Hope nevertheless to have the honour of welcoming you again at Hotel Gabrielli in the near future.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel location was perfect for us but what we paid for per night was definitely not worth it. We found the room not what the description was, the service at the desk was ignorant even though they were over staffed. We asked for a wine glass because we bought our own wine to drink in the room and got snubbed. Very rude. Plus house keeper didn't clean our room properly. Lazy. And cleaned them when we wanted to be in our room first think in the mornings.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judd1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to post a comment of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli.
I regret the hotel did not meet your expectation. Hotel Gabrielli offers a restaurant, a bar and room service. It is unusual that clients consume in the hotel room drinks which are purchased elsewhere. In case the front office staff did not explain this to you in a correct way I want to appologize for them.

Best regards,
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were delighted with our stay at this lovely hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, the breakfast was delicious and as much as you could eat. Our room was very clean and had all that we needed, with the bonus of a view of the water, which we hadn't expected. The location was perfect; close enough to walk everywhere or to pick up a water bus, but just out of the mad bustle of St Mark's Square. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear client,

thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
- and thank you for your positive statement which we take as a compliment for our work and
product. Arrrividerci a Venezia ed all'Hotel Gabrielli.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here after finding a good deal on bookings.com. However, i became nervous after reading a few bad reviews. I must say though that i was pleasantly surprised. THe staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room itself was very old fashioned, and our view was terrible as it overlooked a roof and a blank wall! (319). The breakfast was easily one of the best breakfasts and range of available foods that i have seen anywhere in Europe. Overall, i would recommend it as its location is so central to everything, and i would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear client,

thank you for posting a reivew of your stay and your sincere and honest comments of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice. If you want to have a view you won't ever forget I recommend to reserve a room with a view on the lagoon. But the hotel offers spectaculous views from the roof top terasse and has a perfect location in the heart of the city - so thank you for telling us that you enjoyed being with us and arrividerci a Venezia and at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,

Johannna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 384 in Venice
1,846 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#98 of 384 in Venice
681 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#59 of 384 in Venice
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#22 of 384 in Venice
1,374 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#67 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#135 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#145 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $133 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing