We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it! ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“We loved it! ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying at this classic and historic venetian hotel.

The Gabrielli certainly didn’t disappoint! We were really impressed from start to finish and had a great time. The upgrade to room 137 a lagoon view room really helped make our short break into an amazing experience, it was my Girlfriend’s first time in Venice and to be waking up to a Doge’s view of the lagoon every morning, was amazing!

The location, less than 10 mins walk from the Doge’s Palace & St Mark’s Square meant that we were right in the middle of things and the hotel was a great base to explore the city.

The Gabrielli has its own dock so transfer by water taxi is really easy and just adds to the experience.

I can understand some of the negative points mentioned but we had a great time just wish we could have stayed longer.

Thank you Gabrielli!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_n_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    341
    125
    61
    49
See reviews for
127
458
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just finished a stay here. Worst hotel in Venice I have ever stayed at in 14 trips.
A Most unfriendly and un-helpful desk staff.
Hotel backs up to a commercial laundry and there is early morning and there is an all day noise of machines, carts, and people yelling.
Rooms are Spartan boxes. Public spaces are dark and uninviting
Resturant is way overpriced.
Location is great but very few rooms face the canals. Most face walls or other rooms.
I cant understand how this is a 4 star.

Room Tip: Demand a quite rooms away from the laundry. Upper floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richmoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

As this was a last minute booking and supply of hotel rooms was at its minimum, we thought this hotel would be great to stay in, given it has 4 stars.
This place is in dire need of a makeover, the rooms are old, tv set is from the 80's, bathroom wasn't crisp and the internet charges were outrageous.
The only good thing about this hotel is its location but not worth the money

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin9, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for spending your time to write a review about your last stay at our Hotel.
Any comment is helpful for improving the standard of our services. Hoping to welcome you again I beg to remain with
Kind regards.-
Johanna Perkhofer
Hotel Gabrielli-Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had to book here as all our other choices were sold out and we did live to regret our experience here. The only possible good thing about this hotel is its location, near several vaparetto stops and right on the shoreline. (But the very same can be said of many other hotels right beside it, choose THEM!) But other than this every other experience at this run down and awfully expensive hotel was bad. The front desk staff (no smiles) was condescending and quite brisk, I did not know if this was because we are Asians or if they are like this in general. There was no free wi fi and the hotel had no complimentary internet points either- it was 2 Euros for the first 15 mins at their computer. With no other options you are forced to pay up. The entire hotel had a shabby, dusty and run down look about it.
Now comes the room, cracks all over the walls and ceiling and barely space enough for 2 people to move, it was a disappointment for the outrageous rates they charged per night. The bed was so small that my husband (who is 6 feet) could not even stretch himself properly. It was 2 single beds joined together hence the middle parting made for an uneasy sleep; I fell out twice during the night when trying to turn over. The ancient AC did not work properly and we kept waking up to adjust the temperature as it was very hot in Venice in September. There was no tea/coffee ingredients in room which is not expected when you claim your hotel to be a 4 star. It most definitely was NOT. The breakfast was basic and breads were stale and old, as were the cheese. The toilet was adequate with a good shower but very dimly lit. The room came with a tiny balcony overlooking the canal which had a sideways view of the ocean- small but still it was nice to sit outside and people watch after sunset. To summarise, with this price there are several other hotels which can be a better deal and will have the same location- the hotel’s sole selling point.

Room Tip: you can ask for a sea facing room but they are most likely to refuse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WonderWomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Small room, uncomfortable bed, unhelpful staff, average breakfast. The only good thing is location. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank az72az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

easy access from airport via vaporetto right in front of hotel(45 euros!!) pleasant staff cheap wireless small but pleasant rooms great free breakfast best is location!! walking distance to lots including Doges

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin9, Manager at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Carol,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your comments.
In fact location and direct connection to public transport is a big plus of Hotel Gabrielli.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future and remain with best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Hotel Gabrielli - Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I travelled throughout Europe with a friend this past summer, and was surprised for my birthday with a night at Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth. I have stayed at this Family's hotel in Mölln (Hotel Waldhof auf Herrenland) a few times (Which is now owned by one of their daughters - Francesca). Francesca has done extensive renovations on the Hotel in Mölln, and I must say, it used to be this old Italian/German style of hotel, and now its a majestic mix of old meets new. The right amount of character and old world charm, with comfortable and modern features. This is what their Hotel in Venice needs. The hotel in Venice is beautiful! Marbel floors as you walk in, old venician feel, beautiful courtyard that serves daily breakfast (with GREAT latte's!). The rooms are very old looking. I would say it does looks like they are trying to keep this old world feel, however it really isnt very appealing. As we were there, I was told the washrooms had all been redone these past few years. They were VERY VERY nice. Again marble, very clean and sophisticated look. If only the rest of the furniture was like this.
The hotel restaraunt is also amazing! However from the outside you would never guess.. Their patio furniture is dingy and absolutely needs upgrading.
I say let Francesca have a go at this hotel. If she can do what she did in Mölln, they would have a 6star hotel on their hands.
It's in a great location, just a 5 minute walk to the main plaza, and shops, stores and restaraunts. The views from the hotel are amazing! Little secret is to head all the way to the top of the hotel and get a view of the fireworks from the roof top terrace. (Again could be made absolutely stunning with new furniture.) But is a great great view.
I would absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler90Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#79 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#91 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#120 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#21 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#58 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Property: Hotel Gabrielli
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Venice
#65 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#146 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing